We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice in a perfect location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #151 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
1,068 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Perfect choice in a perfect location...”
Reviewed 4 May 2008

this Hotel was not our first choice...
We booked on the website at NH Caransa which is just at the opposite side of the square but they switched us to the Schiller.
We have been very lucky.. We have been upgraded and we stayed in a renewed room at the third floor quiet large and with all the confort you need.
The location of the hotel is almost perfect (city center), but if you are looking for a quiet place it's better to choose a different place (Rembrandtplain is full of restaurants, bars and there is an intense night life).
The staff has been very kind and our 3 nights has been fantastic.
Enjoy Amsterdam

  • Liked — The location is perfect
  • Disliked — the breakfast.. too expensive
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cisalpino777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    589
    311
    121
    64
See reviews for
147
671
86
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

The location of this hotel is arguably one of the best in Amsterdam in light of the short walks to all of the bars restraunts and many atractions the city has to offer however the Hotel its self has possibly seen better days. Our room was fortunately at the back of the hotel so the noise from the bars in the square did not stop us from getting a good nights sleep but the room was small and out dated. The windows did not open as they were screwed shut possibly due the the dry rot in the frames which if were opened might have lost the glass. Damp patches where vissible on the ceiling and ash trays where left on the landing outside the lift areas encouraging smokers not to smoke in the rooms but to smoke in the corridors, obviously the smoke then carried under the doors into the bedrooms if you did have an inconsiderate smoker!!. If you do insist on staying here make sure you are located at the centre of the hotel away from the lifts.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Arrived at Central Station and got on the No16 Tram outside. It brought us to Multiplein where we hoped off, crossed the road and arrived at Rembrant Square where our hotel was located. Greated by real friendly staff. Hotel room was a standard, and was perfect for us. it was located to the front of the hotel so we could open window and look out at the restaurants and people. , It was a bit noisy at night but I think whatever hotel you book in amsterdam, noise will always be a problem. Hotel is in a great location, 10 min walk to red light, 10 min to Shopping district, 10 min to Dam Square, its a great location. If i ever come back I will book this hotel. we booked out early and was able to leave bags at reception. When we left, we hoped onthe no 4 tram outside the hotel streight to Central Station.
Great 4 days break.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — expensive mini bar!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

My husband and I were booked in here for 5 nights recently by his company for his business trip - me just along to visit Amsterdam for the first time. It was a convenient choice for us both.
The easiest way to arrive from the airport is to take the train (tickets on sale in the airport luggage hall) and walk onto the platform five minutes away. We were in Central Station in 15 mins. Walk just outside and get on a no 4 or 9 tram (it's the terminus, so no worries about which direction to go!). Ask for the Rembrandtplein (square), about 5 mins away, and the hotel is immediately opposite. So, much cheaper - and quicker - than a taxi or the hotel shuttle bus, for which there were huge queues.
The hotel is supposed to be an Amsterdam 'landmark' - over 100 years old. I was initially disappointed; the entrance and lobby are small and dark and looked a little worn. The lift is antiquated.
But the staff couldnt have been more helpful. Having read Tripadvisor reviews I had asked for a quiet room at the rear,and this was the best piece of advice I got!! The noise at the front of the hotel must be awful at night and especially at weekends with all the bars and cafes in the square and the clanking trams!
Butwe were upgraded to a more spacious business room at the rear which was comfortable and very quiet. The beds were extremely comfortable, bathroom small but perfectly adequate with masses of hot water; nice flatscreen TV
Breakfasts in the Cafe Schiller were good - a range of hot and cold dishes, plenty of fruit, choice of lovely breads etc. You could even have sparking champagne if you wanted! And the cafe area was what actually 'grew on me'; it was quite nice to be in an older
building with some character and charm instead of the usual modern hotel areas you find everywhere.
The best thing was the convenience of being able to walk to every major sight in minutes. Turn left out of the hotel and left again and within two minutes you were on the quietest canals with their wonderful architecture. Two minutes in the other direction and you were in the heart of the city.
We ate in some good restaurants - but the best by far was again two minutes away - down the road to the left of the hotel which leads to the canal. On the corner over the first bridge is a tiny Italian place - only about 8 tables - called Ponte Arcelo (or something like that!) run by two Italians. Fantastic food - whatever was fresh that day - you had to pay cash, but it was so cheap and absolutely delicious - a real find.
So, overall a good stay - but remember to get that room at the back of the hotel if you plan any sleep at all!

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — noisy rooms at the front
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SusieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

I had been warned to go for as high standard of hotel as possible in Amsterdam, I got a good deal on the Schiller which included breakfast, but I could honestly say I wouldnt class this as a 4 star hotel. It was a very nice hotel, the beds were extremely comfortable, we had a lovely (small) room overlooking Rembrandt square, the room had a balcony which was really nice (although you wouldn't spend too much time out on it in feb..brrrr), I would like to see that during the Summer! The noise wasn't as bad as I expected from the square, but definitely if you were a light sleeper I'd say it would be a different story! The toiletries in the bathroom definitely deserve a mention, they were lovely, I smelled like a fruit salad for the weekend!!!
I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, both on reception and in the bar -drink prices are quite saucy in the bar though..you have been warned!! - the lady who served us breakfast was particularly nice. The breakfast was delicious, with a great selection of pretty much everything, and kept well topped up.
There was some kind of party on downstairs on the Saturday night, and the music was VERY loud, it didnt bother us too much as we were heading out ourselves, but if you were planning an early night it would have been fairly upsetting! (although who would have an early night on Saturday in Amsterdam??)
All in all I would return to the NH Schiller because I have no real negatives about my stay, but I would be looking for a special offer again, as I wouldnt pay 4 star prices for it.

  • Liked — Location and comfy beds
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sandypWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Great hotel in a central location of Amsterdam. The tram drops you off just across the street, it could not have been any more convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed and we got a great rate when we booked in advance. You are in walking distance of many of the city's attractions. We'd definitely stay again next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Location and staff were wonderful.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvindublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

The hotel location and confort are good.
The restaurant was very good and its staff absolutely amazing.

Unfortunately, the hotel staff were not very pleasant, or helpful.
There was a private party going on on the Saturday night till past midnight, with live music etc...We would have appreciated if someone had told us at the time of check in. The music was very loud and even on the 6th floor we couldn't hear ourselves thinking.

The room only contained 1 glass and 1 mug, I asked twice to get second ones, I am still waiting.

All in all a good experience but could have been wonderful if the staff in the hotel was as good as in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 367 in Amsterdam
941 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#243 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,368 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#116 of 367 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 367 in Amsterdam
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiller
Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing