We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one of the best NH can offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #150 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not one of the best NH can offer”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stay in NH hotels a lot and this (I am sad to say) is not one of the better ones. The hotel is in an excellent position (provided you can take the noise which on Rembrantplein can go on until 5.00 in the morning - the hotel provide earplugs!). The junior suite we had (their top rooom opition) was good and large (for Amsterdam) but was hardly a suite, but really just a big room. The daily cleaning service was eratic at best and twice we had to call down to get things done that had not been - we were told it had been recently contracted out and this seems like it might be teething problems but at this price I did not want to be experimetned on for the maid servcie economics. That said, the building itself is interesting, it is well placed for the cultural end of town, and we still had a great stay. The staff were fine and friendly, and as always NH put on a good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Broadly speeking if you are a light sleeper, avoid this hotel; but if you can take the noise it is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzzy-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    594
    317
    125
    65
See reviews for
149
682
88
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid December. The location is excellent, several handy trams stop at Rembrandtplein, and is only about 5-6 stops from the station.
The room was very clean and spacious, nicely furnished, nice bathroom with good toiletries, free wifi. The room was modern, even if the hotel itself is an older, charming building.
I had been warned about the noise in the square, and requested a room at the back at check-in; but, as it turned out, there was no nightlife when I was there at all, so even a front room would have been quiet.
The reception staff was very efficient and courteous, always accommodating my requests.

I can't comment on food, I didn't eat in the hotel at all, but the restaurant looked tempting.

Only niggle that I must mention to other travellers, probably because of the 'lazy Sunday' product they offer at check out, if you do check in on a Sunday, like I did, your room won't be ready until 3pm.
Other than that, nothing wrong, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or at least the side, if you're there in a season when Rembrandtplein is in fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilla099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just arrived back from a 2 night stay in this hotel the weekend between Christmas and New Year. It was a perfect time to visit when Rembrandt Square was decorated for Christmas. This is an older hotel, very charming seeped in history but due to recent refurbishment of the restaurant it now has a few very modern touches. Our room was very spacious, very well heated and we loved the lovely deep bath, constant hot water and very powerful shower. The breakfast was very tasty, you can help yourself to as much as you want, I recommend the scrambled egg which was to die for and the best I have ever tasted.

Even thought this was a busy holiday weekend we were not bothered by any noise. There is no music to be heard, we were aware of people talking but we were on the fourth floor and it didnt really bother us.

We absolutely loved the free soaps and shampoos, replenished every day and smelling of oranges and fresh fruits - other 4 star hotels will have a job to complete with these I would think!

Also we love the "lazy Sunday" product which allows subject to availability a free late check out and you can even enjoy breakfast up to 1200 - a bonus if you enjoy Sunday at your leisure! I dont know of any other hotel group who offer this and it is ideal if you are on a weekend trip as we were.

I strongly recommend this hotel, the location is great, the staff are very helpful and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room on a higher floor also the view to the front over the squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 974val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had heard some nightmarish stories of accommodation in Amsterdam, so worked on the budget to pay a bit more then normal and stay at NH Schiller. Very friendly and helpful staff - sympathised with us after a trek from the airport since the trains were off due to fire... Our double room was very spacious and clean, well appointed ensuite and room facilities. Free wifi reliable. Super location right in Rembrandt square, with many restaurants and bars. But, if you're not joining in the local nightlife then be prepared to be disturbed til around 4am, and the possibility of waking up to some marching band (!) outside at 9am. Ear plugs were provided in our room (which was facing the square) and I'd recommend you use them! Light sleepers should avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The main attraction of the Hotel Schiller is its central location in Rembrandtsplein, 50m from a tram stop and within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. The hotel is rather old fashioned and in need of some refurbishment. Many paintings and prints by the founder, Fritz Schiller, adorn both the public areas and bedrooms.
The front of the hotel, on the square, can be noisy, so a room at the back is preferable. The bedrooms are of a good size and the bathroom adequate although our basin was cracked and there was no extractor fan. The hotel staff are friendly, albeit somewhat disorganised.
Breakfast can be taken in the brasserie - an attractive pair of rooms. There is a good range of cold food plus bacon and eggs. Cost of breakfast is €20 unless pre-booked through the hotel when it reduces to €15. Communication between hotel reception and restaurant was poor - on one morning we were given the wrong breakfast times and on another morning our reservation had not been passed to the restaurant and we were rather rudely challenged by the waitress.
Overall an adequate hotel but with the benefit of an excellent location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were given a "junior suite" but coould not work out why it was a suite apart from the balcony looking out over Rembrantsplein. This made the room, the view out of the window was the statue of Remvrant - in profile and all of the lights in the trees.

The cost for this is a great deal of noise up until 0400. The hotel do not supply a chocolate on your pillow, they supply wear plugs.

The room was great with a huge bed but the hotel is in need of a bit of redecoration, and 20 Euros for breakfast ensured that we rushed out and went somewhere else. You cannot beat the location

Room Tip: Room 102 gives a great view - if you can sleep through the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlinthemage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The best thing to say about this hotel is its location, directly adjacent to the Rembrandt square, and thus conveniently placed for participation for the annual IDFA festival, and close to the nice shopping areas close by, such as the Kalverstraat street and the 9th street district. However, the noise outside into the wee hours due to the heavy partying going on on the bars etc. lining the square, can make for a very poor sleep. The NH Schiller has a rustic charm to it, but is otherwise not a good value and is in serious need of renovation. The bathroom is dated, and so are the rooms I have slept in (this time and previous), with worn out furniture, and with a very dated feel. The breakfast is decent though, and the restaurant is a nice and reasonable hangout to chill out between your Amsterdam venues.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about location of your room - the noise from the Rembrandt square can be very annoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#239 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,401 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#205 of 367 in Amsterdam
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#97 of 367 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiller
Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing