We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Ranked #55 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect for being right in the heart of the shopping district and right on the canals! Lovely average sized rooms slightly older but clean and comfortable. We had a back room with no view as we were with a baby else the trams would be too noisy out the front. Small lift for all our luggage.
Good wifi in rooms.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank LG2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Dikker & Thijs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This is my second time at this hotel and once again a great stay. Check in a breeze, staff very pleasant and helpful. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded again to a corner room which is very spacious and clean. It's also very quiet considering it's on quite a busy junction (well, busy for Amsterdam )
Would definitely recommend

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lindsk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Wonderful location, stayed before, large rooms, canal views. Fab deli/ shop on the corner - a little eclectic and a boutique feel. Very welcoming staff and room service very good, if menu slightly limited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnetha t, Sales & Marketing Department at Dikker & Thijs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Graham,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We have forwarded your message about the limited room service menu to our restaurant. We will review our menu again when a change of menu will take place.

We hope we may welcome you soon at our hotel again.

Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The positives: This hotel is right in the middle of it all, close to everything. It might be one of the best locations you could ask for in Amsterdam. Some of the rooms here are incredibly huge with canal views. Theres a metro stop right in front.

The negatives: The hotel is badly in need of a makeover or renovation. It's oldschool. Some of the rooms are not even accessable by elevator and you need to carry a bag up steps. In many of the rooms you can hear the metro bell pretty loud starting at 6am to 12am.

If you are looking for a good deal in a good location, this place is fine. But not if you want a 4 or 5 star that feels modern and polished.

Room Tip: The suites are huge, but get a high floor or you will hear the metro bell all day.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scorpio7765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnetha t, Sales & Marketing Department at Dikker & Thijs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Scorpio,

Thank you for your valuable review. It is good to hear that you mention our location as one of the best of Amsterdam.

We do our best to constantly upgrade our product. We have forwarded your message to the management regarding a hotel renovation. At this moment we are taking action to refurbish our rooms.

The stairs in our building De Prins, are unfortunately not avoidable. We are sorry to hear that help with your luggage was not offered upon your check in. We will instruct our personnel better to avoid any inconvenience in the future.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we may welcome you again in the nearby future.

Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel , perfect location, very nice size bedroom(504) , beautiful bathroom( hotel manager/owner , please take the shower curtains off and fit a nice shower box ) reasonable priced, definitely will be my place to stay next time in Amsterdam

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful stay in this warm, welcoming hotel. we were in Amsterdam for only a few days, not long enough to thoroughly enjoy our eerie on the top floor. Our room was delightfully appointed, with two windows, giving us great views of the city from two aspects. A tiny balcony enabled us to get good photos of the rooftops. Breakfast was served in the basement restaurant and again was served with care and warmth. The staff were always courteous and helpful, assisting us in finding restaurants within easy walking distance and helping us to book cruises etc. We could easily walk to the museums and art galleries using one of their umbrellas to ward off the rain!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and on my next visit to Amsterdam I have every intention of staying there again! hoping to get the same room and meet the same, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go high! Views are amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very pleasant welcome, room presentable and clean with two easy chairs, table, desk and bedside cabinets, tea/coffee facilities, shower over bath, television, hairdryer and all toiletries provided.

Good guidance from staff what to see and do, whatever we asked for we were advised about.

A very pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Use the bus 197 from Amsterdam Airport, stops 400 metres from the hotel, a short walk to the Hotel and only cost 4 Euros each as opposed to getting a taxi which would cost 45 Euros.

The Hotel is within easy reach/walking distance of all sight seeing venues in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view over the canal, very picturesque.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#78 of 371 in Amsterdam
442 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,077 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 371 in Amsterdam
270 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing