We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Ranked #58 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Great location on prinsengracht near trolley but not noisy. We had room overlooking canal the attractive awning across from us was an excellent peruvian restaurant. Friendly snd helpful staff. Airy and clean rooms. Great value. Our stay was in June 2012 2 nights. Windows open but the kids the age of our kids debarking from booze cruises and trolley were just lively and not too loud or numerous.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikeT-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    369
    111
    26
    11
See reviews for
114
420
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doetinchem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect, trams in front of the door, and in walking distance of shops and musea.
Service in hotel and staff was very friendly and helping us with every question.
our romm was facing the leidsestraat and on the 4th floor we could hear the trams but after midnight it was quit enough

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald | Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently located on Leidestraat, on the major tram line, between Amsterdam Centraal station and the museum area. My room on the third floor had a comfortable bed and plenty of electric outlets (you can borrow a converter from the desk clerk) The room had a desk, a table and two chairs. It was nicely furnished and decorated. We only stayed one night, but I could have stayed longer. The room had a hair dryer. (Be sure to bring a wash cloth if you need one.)
I was not troubled by the tram bell, as others had warned. In fact, it was very convenient to be able to walk out of the hotel, and hop on a tram.
The breakfast buffet had a good variety of hot and cold food.
They will gladly store your luggage prior to check in and after check out. The staff speak excellent English and are very friendly.
They only thing I would caution anyone with a mobility impairment. It is not very wheelchair friendly. The tub does not have a good grab bar and you have to step up and down out of it.
If I'm ever in Amsterdam again, I would stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münchenstein
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room: Perfect, nice interior, cosy!
Fridge: all you need!
Breakfast: My alltime favourite place (furniture, walls, sound!) with excellent food!
Service: very friendly, especially when I was stuck in the bathroom!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas | Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I loved the hotel's canal view and the position that allowed us to visit Amterdam centre by foot or by tram, that can be taken directly out of the hotel.
Room was very clean and silent, for a peaceful rest after kilometers of walk across the beautiful canals.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elycip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

we loved the hotel and especially about its position
we also loved the room, its dimension and cleaness
personnel all was very kind
hotel position permetted us to go everywhere (except to airport) on foot


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emmanuela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloten, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Good Hotel and very central. The most Museums are very close. Also Paradiso is close by. Had a nice room with view to Prinsengracht. Friendly staff. The only negative point was, there was no late check-out possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank weydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing