We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #156 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are medium sized but the bathroom is small. The walls are also very thin and you can hear noise from next door and beyond. The rooms are clean and you get fresh linen everyday. Would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Declan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Dedan D,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very good location, and very reasonable prices. Good internet connection. The only con were the very (very) small room and bathroom. However, if you're a solo traveller and don't need a desk, it's ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Io I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Lo l,

thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Very basic "Amsterdam XXX themed" hotel offering small, conveniently located rooms with a 5 minute walk from the city centre. You can upgrade to a more "spacious" room for 25€ but to be honest if your looking for a place to get your head down it does the job. Breakfast was pretty bland but let's face it, the Dutch prefer a continental breaky. The room was equipped with a safe which is handy plus a hair dryer.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StephenCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sjoell-Ireland,

thank you for taken the time to write your review over here.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We found this hotel a decent and quiet one, not new or luxurious, but adequate for a short stay. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel to save time due to our short 3 day stay, it cost us about EUR 50.

The 4-bedded room (2 x 2 single beds placed together) was reasonably big with just enough room for walking (but we have seen more cramped ones, so this was ok to our standard). We found the room not very user friendly. The bath gel dispenser was located at a weird position so you would end up hitting it or knocking the cover off during your shower. Doors creak loudly whenever you open or close them. We could hear sounds of the tap running or doors creaking from the room next door very loudly. The bathroom and toilet is located in 2 separate cubicles, side by side, with the basin located outside at a corner behind the door to the room.

Wifi was fast with good connection. The hotel staff at the reception was polite, though she offered information only upon request and further probing. You can buy the tram ticket from the reception or on the tram itself from the conductor. Remember to tap in and out on the card reader.

The hotel is easily accessible by tram (number 9). Quite near to city centre, but i believe it should still take at least 15 min to walk there (we didn't try it). However, we walked to Nemo. Took us 15 minutes. A few eateries/restaurants near the hotel.

Breakfast cost about EUR16 per pax, so we decided not to go for it. We tried a small cafe just steps away from the hotel entrance. It cost us much less and we liked the food served (croissant, toasted bread, eggs, bacon, ham, jam, butter, coffee, tea).

This hotel is not bad for a short stay. Overall we had a good stay, but I would want to try another hotel when i visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueraisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear blueraisin,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank serious2015
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2013, it was fine for a short city break, not luxurious just adequate:

Pros
- good location
- easily accessible by tram
- friendly and helpful staff
- comfortable beds
- quiet location
- yummy bakery round the corner!

Cons
- bathroom small (but you don't really need a large bathroom for a city break)
- we had a 'sewer' type smell in the bathroom, we told the receptionist and they seemed to sort it whilst we were out
- the beds were two single beds rather than a double...they weren't zipped together so as a couple we found ourselves falling down the gap in the middle!

Overall a great little hotel, just what you need for a city break!

If you are looking for things to do in Amsterdam then I would suggest:
- the Heineken experience
- the handbag museum
- the house of bols

I would avoid:
- the ice bar!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cutie_shopper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear cutie_shopper_11,

thank you for writing your comments about our hotel overhere.
it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Was far from impressed with this hotel. I have stayed in a number of hotels over the last number of years and it was by far the grubbiest hotel I've stayed in. Toilet looked like it had never been cleaned, a crack on bathroom sink, rust on ceiling of shower. Whole bathroom needed to be redecorated. Bedroom, two single beds pushed together. Not even a double bed. And no way of keeping the beds together for a comfortable sleep. Furthermore dirty underwear from previous guest left in room. Took those offending items to front desk but never received an apology from any of the staff at anytime during our stay. If you want a hotel that looks like it was decorated in the 1960s and not since then this is the place for you. If you expect to have at least a clean place to stay then look elsewhere

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear William M,

thank you you writing your review overhere and my sincere apologies for the item you found in your room. This is certainly not our standard and I will takes this up with our cleaning company and our reception.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#138 of 371 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#113 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £93 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing