We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #154 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean .there was 6 of us that all went for 4 Day one room was very large and the other two rooms was very small and cramped. Most of the staff was nice and helpful, we was a little way out from all the main attractions but it was a nice walk to take in all of the lovely buildings and there surroundings. There is a tram stop outside of the hotel if you wish to use it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Amanda,

thank you for your kind words overhere.
Our rooms have different sizes, it is a true and this is due to the fact that we are located in a ancient residence in the centre of the city.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The best way to describe this hotel is beige. Nondescript, functional, affordable and good enough if you can't get better. The rooms are small but well equipped, adequate if all you need from a hotel is somewhere to sleep. The ensuite is best described as cosy. God knows how someone taller than 6' could use the toilet...Our radiator appeared to operate on chaos theory, at times the room was frosty, at others roasting.

The location is good though, opposite Artis with quick access to the centre and attractions.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Tim G,

thank you for your comment overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights this week, i booked this through superbreak on a 4 night mini cruise to amsterdam and the hotel wasnt the best hotel in amsterdam, but then again when you are going there to explore the city how much time do you really spend in the room?! The room was small but clean and we was given clean towels for the second day, the beds were sooo comfy, we had the best nights sleep, the position of the hotel was perfect, you can get the number 9 tram from central station to Artis and you are a couple of seconds away from the hotel. The staff are friendly and you can store your luggage before check in and after check out. Thanks for a great sleep hampshire lancaster!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Camacca,

thank you very much for your kind words you have wriiten overhere.
Good to read that you enjoyed our hotel and our service.
We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nice good hotel
Free Wifi, in the room (although the webpage said that it was only available in the cafe, but it worked in the rooms too:)). Everything was nice and the room was clean. Would be nice to have smoking rooms!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Edit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Edit S,

thank you for your review and your kind words.
It is good to read that you have had a nice stay.
Due to Dutch law, smoking is not allowed in hotels and restaurants.
We learn from reviews and it is good to read that you enjoyed the free wifi. We will inform the owner of the webpage to adjust the information about the wifi. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed only 1 night, in a standard room at the ground floor. The hotel is quite old, even if it tries to look modern. The room was not perfectly clean (some hair in the handbasin and on the floor) and the moquette on the ground didn't inspire cleanliness. I tried to rent a bike, it was 1 p.m. and I could only use a 24-h rate of 18.50 euro (why don't you rent it for half a day or for hours??It is ridiculous). The only positive thing was the position: 10-15' from Dam square and from Central Station.
P.S. you can spend British Airways miles if you got it (that was the only reason that pushed me to stay there).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totuccio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Totuccio8,

thank you for writing your comments over here.
We learn from the comments we receive from our guests and try to improve our service towards our guests. I will certainly pass you comments on to our cleaning company and I would like to thank you for this.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My room was a good size for 1 person but my parents room was ridiculously small for 2 people. Also didnt understand when asked for a double room the beds were 2 singles same in the other room we had. Pillows were also lumpy and bumpy not the best as the were not comfortable but the beds were fine. Also being a bit of a clean freak i would have prefered if the bathroom was cleaner, the room was fine though. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful also in a great location as it was quiet and easy enough to get to the centre of the city for attractions.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Kimmy L,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's 'cheap' for Amsterdam and well situated as a base to explore the city. Your room will be clean if not perhaps luxurious. Unfortunately in the 3 nights I spent there I didn't sleep a lot. Amsterdam is awash with rowdy young guys looking for beer, hash and possibly sex and quite a few of them were crashing in ALL through the night and making no attempt at all - quite the reverse - to respect the sleep of others. Bang, bang, crash.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photowallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Photowall,

thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you had troubles with the other guests.
Although we have our night shift walking rounds at night, there is always the possibility of guest being loud. Please feel free to call the reception next time so we can take steps to avoid this.

We hope to see you next time in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#311 of 376 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#186 of 376 in Amsterdam
330 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#111 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#98 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
The Manor Amsterdam
#59 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,933 reviews
Plantage & the East
De Jonker Urban Studio's & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £79 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing