We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in need of a freshen up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #155 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“in need of a freshen up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March 2014. When we arrived the first room we were given was very small, the size of a cupboard. When I opened the door I could do one step and be in bed! I was shocked of the size of the room and I went to the reception to ask for it to be changed. Reception staff was very helpful during our stay and they offered to change our room the next day (no free rooms were available that day). The second room we were given was a bit bigger but still very cramped. Bathrooms were also very small. We stayed in the second room we were given as we thought it would do for a weekend break.
What I found good about the hotel:
- good location, close to areas of interest, tram 9 takes you straight to Dam Square and Centraal Station - 7 stops in total
- staff was polite and they did help when we needed assistance

What I did not like about the hotel:
- the rooms were not clean, curtains were covered in thick layer of dust which filled the room as soon as the curtains were pulled. Kettles in both rooms looked grubby and sticky therefore we did not use them
- bad smell in both rooms - smells like they need a good scrub off
- the images available on the hotel website do not reflect the true size of the rooms - images make rooms look much bigger than they are (not very fair marketing).
- do not ask the hotel to call you a cab to take you back to the airport - we made this mistake and for a 20 minutes ride the cabbie charged us €65! We realised something was doggy when we were half way through the journey and the clock was spinning like mad charging each time 10 cents. I am appalled that the hotel uses such companies!

Overall the hotel was ok-ish , beds were comfortable, but if we were to chose again we would not stay at Hampshire again due to the above reasons and overall impression.

Room Tip: check with the hotel the size of the room you will be allocated under your reservation ... to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mummyshorts,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
I am very surprised to hear about the taxi fair. The maximum a taxi should cost is € 45,- per ride and that is why we only work with the Amsterdam Taxi Centrale. If you still have the receipt or have the number of the taxi, I would be happy to contact the taxidriver for you.
Please let me know.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    435
    308
    101
    53
See reviews for
127
492
43
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Out in the sticks (Wiltshire)
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Hampshire for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location. The best tram to get from Centraal is the number 9 which stops at the "Artis" stop. Our room was on the street side of the building. It was very quiet and I got a good nights sleep both nights I was there. The room was a little small but I expected this looking at the reviews, and the building is an old building so nothing against them. The room was well presented but not very well cleaned for our second night. An exceptional shout out to the staff. Very good english and were extremely helpful when we wanted our room changed, and were very attentive when my friend injured her ankle and needed something to put her ankle in (Water). So very good stay, shame about the cleaning.
I will definitely choose this hotel again if I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamied1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Jamiedave,

thank you very much for your kind words overhere.
I am sorry to read about the cleaning. I will certainly pass this on to our cleaningcompany; thank you for mentioning this to us.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Hampshire Hotel on 18th /19th March. Didn,t expect a lot due to price and reviews, so was pleased with what was on offer. I,m not really a picky traveller and just expect what I pay for. Room wasn,t the biggest but suited me and my wife, beds single and pushed together but not a problem as very comfortable. shower room small but only showering not dancing everything was clean and tidy. Had to be careful when sitting on toilet as not a lot of room but that's not a holiday highlight. Any reception staff I dealt with were polite and helpful. complimentary coffee in lobby. Arrived at 10 30am and was allowed to check in even carried our bags in. On checkout was able to leave bags in luggage room while continued to explore city.. Hotel was in walking distance of centre but also on tram route . Overall a pleasant hotel with decent rooms and comfortable. is a 3 star after all and was only a base to sleep.

Room Tip: Our room as 219 at the back of hotel so was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeL5855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear MikeL5855,

thank your for writing your review overhere.
It is true that our rooms are not hte biggest ones but it's is good you appreciated our rooms and service.
We do hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

A member of staff opened and removed half a box of chocolate oreo's which we had bought for a gift, although it was only biscuits taken you start to think what else is missing| Daytime staff not interested, just shrugged their shoulders, very disappointing. Room average, bad smell in room when we returned after first day, cups left unwashed after maid had been in, good location but no way would return after our incident, I agree with other reviewers that poor customer service at reception, both days we left and returned to the hotel we never got a single acknowledgment,

Room Tip: sounds like all rooms are small with two beds pushed together,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridapossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Sear Sir,

thank you for writing this review.
we have investigated this and asked our cleaningstaff but they did not even like sweets.
You mentioned to the reception that your wallet and passport were next to it but nothing else besides the cookies was missing.
We offered you a free breakfast and both evening and morning recpetionists were in the understanding that we had done everything for the inconvenience caused.
I am sorry to read that you did not like the room, we could have easily changed rooms for you if only we had known.
Again my apologies for the inconvenience and I do hope to welcome you in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

fife scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a long day and the room had a bad smell. It was also at the front of the building so was very noisy. Give the staff their due we were given another room right away and it was spotless. Wouldn't recommend this hotel. It badly needs freshened up.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Betty M,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
I am sorry to hear that the room did not smell nice but it is good to read that the receptionist changed the room for you when you asked for it.
The hotel is located in the city centre so noise cannot always be avoided.

Thank you again for taken the time and effort to write this review and we do hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I found the customer service staff very helpful and friendly. I was there for Christmas in 2010 and it was very warm, friendly, including clean room with comfortable beds. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to travel to Amsterdam the Netherlands.
Paul.

Room Tip: Excellent location, including friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Paul P,

thank you for your review.
What a nice present to start the weekend with.
Thank you for your kind words and we do hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and clean .there was 6 of us that all went for 4 Day one room was very large and the other two rooms was very small and cramped. Most of the staff was nice and helpful, we was a little way out from all the main attractions but it was a nice walk to take in all of the lovely buildings and there surroundings. There is a tram stop outside of the hotel if you wish to use it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Amanda,

thank you for your kind words overhere.
Our rooms have different sizes, it is a true and this is due to the fact that we are located in a ancient residence in the centre of the city.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#136 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#127 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing