We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with some tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #154 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with some tiny rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in May 2014 as my usual hotels were not available. The rate including tax was around €130/ night. Upon check-in I was directed to a room that was tiny (7.5 square metres), it had a very small single bed and nothing else... The toilet was about the size of an airline loo. I suspect the room started out as a cupboard and is only ever used when the hotel is full, which also accounts for the relatively high rates. I moved room, mainly because the door didn't lock! Would I go back? No, there are many better deals in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pete900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Pete900,

Thank you for writing your experiences overhere.
The rooms in our hotel come in many sizes, from small to big. This is something you would see in other centre located hotels too. If guests do not like their room, we are always willing to move them to another room if possible offcourse.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    435
    309
    101
    53
See reviews for
127
493
43
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A fairly basic hotel well situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre and on a tram route to the central station. Close to the Zoo, Maritime Museum and a Diamond Factory with reasonable restaurants in the area. The hotel room was quiet, clean and comfortable, but the en-suite bathroom was in need of a face lift. Breakfast provided hot and cold alternatives to a good standard and there was plenty of choice. Reception staff were helpful with directions to local places of interest and free city maps were available.

Room Tip: The hotel fronts a main road with trams passing; our room was at the back - not much of a view -but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 613DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear 613DP,

thank you for your time to write about your experience in our hotel.
It is goof to read that you appreciated the service and our staff.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here last week whilst on a short city trip in Amsterdam. Only 2 nights in the hotel, and to be honest the room was cheap as I got it part of a Lastminute.com holiday package.

It is what you pay for, the hotel is standard, rooms are average. It was clean, however the bathrooms need upgrading and smelt a lot. It was a walk in shower that I really don't like, but other than that all was ok.

Annoying that they give you two single beds pushed together, if you are going away for a couples thing I would advise against this as it's very uncomfortable!

Also just a little tip, don't sleep with the window open as the hotel is right opposite a zoo and the animal noises will drive you crazy! Instead they give you a fan that you can plug in.

The location is very good, a short tram ride (number 9) into the city centre which takes about 10 minutes. Theres a delicious cafe two doors down called Coffee and Art, the full english is unusual but great. Also the Artis zoo opposite is a fantastic day out, I highly recommend!!

I would give the hotel a higher rating if the bathroom was a bit nicer and if the bed was a double bed. All in all, it does the job if you are only staying a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear SG222,

thank you for writing your comments about your stay in Amsterdam overhere.
The hotel has more twin room (two beds pushed toegther) simply because the majority of our guests ask for it. We are always willing to offer room changes or honour a request for a double bed if we know; we do have double beds.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

enjoyed our stay at this hotel. only ten minutes from the centre. Room was clean and good size seeing as we only paid for a small room. Batteries were not in the remote when we arrived but this was soon sorted out when I asked for more at the reception desk. Had to pay 10 euro service charge when leaving the hotel (even though our last minute package said it was included in our holiday) so be prepared for this when checking out!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Abby68,

thank you for your comments in your review overhere.
In Amsterdam, hotels are asked by the City of Amsterdam to charge the guests tourist tax which is never included in any rates. The VAT tax is included but the tourist tax isn ot.
The service charge you mentioned is the tourist tax which we, as hotel, have to hand over to the city of Amsterdam.

I hope this explains the "service charge" you mentioned in your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights before taking a river cruise. Hotel is good value, and has helpful, pleasant staff. Building is older with a lot of character. Breakfast included is decent and sets you up for a day exploring Amsterdam. Watch out for the crazy bicyclists!
Only criticism is it's a good 20 minutes walk from Dam Square. But it is right on the tram line.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear John W,

thank you for taking the time to write your review overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyued your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Found this hotel through Booking.com and it offers value for money to a family on a budget who were looking to maximise our time in Amsterdam.
Rooms were small but cosy rather than poky !
Breakfast was easy enough basically as much buffet as you could handle usual stuff toast, croissants, pan au chocolait, cereals, cold ham,salami, cheese etc. Coffee,juice and tea.
Excellently placed about 10 mins from Dam Square , 12 minutes from Centraal Station (and trains to Schipol) plenty of eating places near to hotel and lots in on the tram. 9 & 14 tarms stop outside hotel. 9 takes you to Centraal Station and 14 to Dam Square and Jordaan area.
Loved Amsterdam first time for our family.
You must see Anne Frank House, Resistance Museum both excellent about Nazis and Jews.
Van Gogh unmisssable; Stedilijk a bit oatchy some good Malevich and Mondriaan but some poorer later 20th century stuff.
Do buy the Iamsterdam card as it saves money and DO go on the free boat trip around the canals as it shows you what areas might be interesting for you.
Heineken Experience good too and 2 'free' beers included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkla07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear mkla07,

Thank you very much for your review and your recommondations on things to do in Amsterdam. This really helps our guests.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Comfortable rooms and lovely staff. One of them even spoke Spanish, that was a plus since we were staying with Spanish-only speaking friends. The breakfast was a nice buffet that even had some traditional food, though mostly it was international food. There is an elevator, in case one isn't very fond of stairs.
We walked from there to the city center and it wasn't that far away, but since we love walking we didn't feel it. It was safe and the city has a lovely, relaxed vibe. I fell in love with Amsterdam right there.
If you aren't fond of walking or cycling, no fear, close from the hotel there is a tram stop. One of the stops for the canal boat tour is also nearby, so it is convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReleenaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear ReleenaL,

It is very nice to read that you fell in love with Amsterdam; you really enjoyed your stay and we are happy about that.
We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#127 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing