We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #158 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good, could be better.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here with my husband and small child for two nights. The hotel is inviting and staff is very friendly, especially the lady at breakfast. The room we initially got was a family room, which had two double beds but as a result no space for the baby bed we requested. We got another room (with baby bed) without any trouble though, which was spacious and very nice with big windows looking out over the small park next to the hotel. A definite downside was that the room had a faint lingering smell of vomit. I guess the previous occupant(s) partied a little too hard. The shower curtain even had a vomit stain on it, which I only discovered while already showering. Staff was very apologetic about this though and promptly replaced the curtain. Breakfast was good and plentiful, a high chair was available for the baby. The bed was very comfortable but pillows were a bit lumpy. All in all we had a comfortable stay with one or two minor hiccups.

Room Tip: Rooms on the park side have big windows and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mizri,

thank you for writing your review.
I am sorry to read that you were not complete satisfied with the solution on the shower curtain. We work with shower curtains and they smell when they are not completly dry. This is why we wash them once every two weeks. The spot on the shower curtain was toothpaste.
I am sorry for this inconvenience but I am glad that our housekeeper replaced them promplty for you.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    456
    319
    105
    55
See reviews for
135
514
44
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for a short brake in Amsterdam for 3 nights/ 4 days in May 2014. After reading a few reviews on here, I was a bit devious of what to expect. Let me tell you, it's nothing like some people make out! The rooms were small, but clean and had everything you needed, including a safe! The bathroom was very clean, and not like the pictures shown on here, that must of been a bad room. (Or we had a good room) but why would you want a big room, when it's only there to sleep in! The hotel offered free wi-fi which was an added bonus, and the TV did show some English channels. The hotel is out of the centre of Amsterdam, but the tram stop is right outside the hotel and was very useful. 5/10 minute ride. Number 9 and 14 both go into Dam Square, and 9 goes to central station. The trams are so easy to use, and reasonable in price! €16.50 each for a 3 day ticket. The hotel is very close to the zoo, but not once did we hear a zoo animal and we was in room 403 which is on the front on the hotel and on the main road, and we slept very well every night even with the window open. Over all the hotel was great! I would recommend staying here, and when we book Amsterdam in again in the future, we will be booking this hotel! After all we was glad of the peace and quiet after the busy and noisy centre all day long!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyCD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear LucyD33,

thank you very much for your review.
It is very nice to see that have looked through the reviews and decided to experience our hotel yourself and made your own.
I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was reasonably priced with lovely staff in a great location for the Zoo and not that far a walk into the centre of the city! Could not recommend this more! We would 100% go back. There is a lovely Italian restaurant just off Plantaage Midlaan (further towards the centre and turn left down one of the streets) that I would also recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelM1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear RachelM13,

thank you very much for writing your review overhere.
From your comments I can see that you have had a great stay in Amsterdam.
Thank you for your recommandation.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend 23-26 May 2014. There were 11 men and 9 ladies on football tour The hotel is 20 minute walk from Amsterdam square or 10 minute in tram. Very polite staff and very clean. Breakfast is very basic but overall did the job

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Darren C,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in May 2014 as my usual hotels were not available. The rate including tax was around €130/ night. Upon check-in I was directed to a room that was tiny (7.5 square metres), it had a very small single bed and nothing else... The toilet was about the size of an airline loo. I suspect the room started out as a cupboard and is only ever used when the hotel is full, which also accounts for the relatively high rates. I moved room, mainly because the door didn't lock! Would I go back? No, there are many better deals in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pete900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Pete900,

Thank you for writing your experiences overhere.
The rooms in our hotel come in many sizes, from small to big. This is something you would see in other centre located hotels too. If guests do not like their room, we are always willing to move them to another room if possible offcourse.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A fairly basic hotel well situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre and on a tram route to the central station. Close to the Zoo, Maritime Museum and a Diamond Factory with reasonable restaurants in the area. The hotel room was quiet, clean and comfortable, but the en-suite bathroom was in need of a face lift. Breakfast provided hot and cold alternatives to a good standard and there was plenty of choice. Reception staff were helpful with directions to local places of interest and free city maps were available.

Room Tip: The hotel fronts a main road with trams passing; our room was at the back - not much of a view -but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 613DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear 613DP,

thank you for your time to write about your experience in our hotel.
It is goof to read that you appreciated the service and our staff.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#138 of 369 in Amsterdam
830 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#112 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing