We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #204 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bracknell
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel is in the quiet and suburban Museum District of Amsterdam, but is in walking distance of the city centre. In particular, it is very convenient for the Concertgebouw concert hall, the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum.
If you do not want to walk there are trams for which you can buy pre-paid tickets (in this case nos 16 and no 2) which run regularly from nearby.
The hotel room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was fine with a shower and a full size bath.
The breakfast is a buffet with cooked English (e.g. bacon, eggs, bacon sausage) and Continental (yoghurt, fruits, etc.) and various types of breads and fruit juices. I did not use the restaurant as I preferred to dine out.
The hotel has a reliable wi-fi system.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    246
    156
    63
    55
See reviews for
80
297
42
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The front desk was most helpful. This hotel is in the museum district. Quiet. Tram one block in either direction. We enjoyed the less hectic area to this. It was easy to get around and see all the sights. Close to a nice quiet neighborhood with shops and eating. With a park about 2 blocks away. Beautiful

Room Tip: We stayed on the front with a view. We could hear some traffic noise but it was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Memphis for six nights prior to a river cruise through the Netherlands. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Amsterdam, not in the center, but not far from the action. The bus stop was a block in either direction, depending which part of the city one wanted to travel to. The hotel staff was very nice; always polite and informative when asked for directions or restaurants. There are several good restaurants in walking distance, as well as a grocery store.

The room was comfortable and clean. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We bought a bus pass and used it twice daily for round trips into the center of town and then later in the evening to go to a major square for dinner. We stayed at The Memphis in August, 2012.

Room Tip: A room several floors above the ground would help to minimize the small amount of noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckydogillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

y husband and I traveled with another couple this last July, We stayed in Amsterdam for two nights before we were to board our ship for our cruise on the Rhine. This is a lovely hotel. Our room was a good size and clean. There is a good restaurant on the premises. The food and service was excellent. The hotel had a good sized elevator and a little bar in the lobby with comfortable seating. The staff could not do enough for us with advise and direction. We were able to buy our tickets at the desk for travel into town. We bought a ticket that was good for the entire day. It was the best thing we could have done because this allowed us to travel all over Amsterdam, sort of like the Hop on Hop Off buses in England. Back to the hotel: I recommend it. Buy a day ticket for travel around town. Sit in the bar at the window and people watch. Take a walk going left out of the hotel into the little village. We walked to the bakery and had coffee and rolls for breakfast, again clean and excellent service. Then take a walk going right out of the hotel into a lovely neighborhood bordering on a canal.We may be back again in 2013 and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OPtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed here for several nights in September 2012.

The room was very clean. Nothing fancy, but what was there was neat and clean. Nice linens on the bed. Bathroom was done in marble, clean as a pin.

The hotel has a restaurant in the lobby area. They do a breakfast, then have a dinner in the evening. I never dined there, so I can't comment on the place.

The location was fantastic. You're only two stops past the museums and concert hall. You're not that far out there, but you are in the neighborhood. It's very quiet there after 2100. The tram 16 stops a block away, making getting around a snap.

The staff was friendly but not warm. What I would consider you're standard Dutch professional minimum fuss attitude. I like it. No need to waste words. Hotel is strict no smoking, but there are tables right out front for the tobacco inclined.

I would consider this a nice 3.5 star hotel. It'll serve your needs for staying in Amsterdam without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Get the three day tram pass for 16 euros. You can get on and off the trams and buses all you want. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchunleashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Memphis for 5 nights during the annual IBC Broadcasting exhibition. This was my 14 th visit to Amsterdam and this hotel was by far the best I have stayed at. Located close enough to walk to the RAI centre, and a 15 min tram ride into downtown, but in a very up market and peaceful neighbourhood. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, rooms were quiet ( really quiet), spacious and spotless with air conditioning. I'm booking my whole team in for next year.
Andy C

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aac2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#152 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#207 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#246 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#120 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Property: The Alfred Hotel
Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfred Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing