We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service and value”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #224 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Location, service and value”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for a night on a really short break to Amsterdam in the middle of October 2013. Chose this hotel as it was on a great value Groupon deal - £80 for one night B&B for 2 people. Having read lots of appalling reviews before my trip, I was rather concerned. But I certainly didn't need to be. The hotel staff were on the whole friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very well located just by the 16 tram route and a short walk to the no 2 tram route. We thought it was very nice being slightly out of the city centre.
The hotel was clean, well kept and a great find. We ended up in the basement suite and this was a massive room with 4 beds, extra seating area, extra TV, a large bathroom, skylights and a walk in safe! The bathroom smelt of stale damp water when we first went in but the staff came quickly and we believe it was just that the room had not been used for a couple of days as once we started using the bathroom the smell went away.
Yes, the hotel has a problem with mice, encouraged by lazy guests who leave partly eaten food open in their rooms. The hotel had a letter in all the rooms acknowledging this issue and asking guests to leave food in their fridge to protect it and to stop encouraging the mice. We saw no trace of mice activity in our room, heard nothing and saw nothing.
Breakfast was good - quite a small restaurant so we had to wait for a table at 8am. The waitresses in the restaurant weren't interested. But when we sat down, the food was good, not a huge selection but it was good quality and we really enjoyed and had our fill.
I would certainly consider this hotel again on a trip to Amsterdam. The Cornelis Schuys Straat between the hotel and the no 2 tram route is well worth a walk along with its little shops and some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0lidays2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    259
    173
    70
    65
See reviews for
90
327
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I came here once before on business, and when I looked to return to Amsterdam with my husband for a mini-vacation, I found myself looking at the Memphis hotel again. It's a great hotel - service is excellent, the rooms are very nice for the price and it well connected to the center. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware - the rooms next to the road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in October 2013. We had a wonderful time there. The hotel is fresh and clean. The service is really good and the location is great. It's walking distance to Museumplein - 500m away (where the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and Stedelijk Museum - and the concert hall Concertgebouw are located). There is a tram station nearby (1 block away) and one can take tram number 16 to go to the Amsterdam Central Station.
We had breakfast there during our stay and it was good quality but with limited options. Nevertheless, we would recommend this hotel due to its great location and good service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6aidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Handy location on tram route, walking distance to museums. Neighbourhood has eating pkaces and shops. Quiet location. Staff were helpful and assisted with ticket purchases for activities throughout the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I truly believe our experience in Amsterdam would have been much better not staying at this hotel... Staff is unfriendly, not wanting to help tourist find places or advise on how to get places. Hotel smells like sewage, beds are hard and uncomfortable, room smelled of gas, walls paper thin and could hear everything...plan on walking at least 20 min to get anywhere you want to go, which isn't bad if the hotel was nice. Breakfast was disgusting as well. hotel try's to scam you on everything, they told us we could only buy tickets to canal tour at their desk which was a lie we knew and they tell you only way to airport is to take their taxi which cost 40 fixed rate and the taxi was late and then charged us 45 euros...he gave himself a nice tip...we took taxi to avoid hassle and ended up having to run to our flight to not be late...better off to take the bus 197 straight to airport or tram to central station and take train to airport....horrible horrible people that just scam you..BEWARE DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursejill8412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Memphis hotel 4 star gem on fringe of museum district
A small hotel (35 rooms) in a very posh district of Amsterdam. Excellent quiet location out of the typical tourist hustle and bustle yet within an easy walk of the Van Goth & other museums. Also very convenient to public transportation. Great neighborhood restaurants within a block or two plus it's own very serviceable restaurant, very good for dinner but overpriced for breakfast. Only negative was spotty housekeeping service. Rooms were clean & towels changed, but glasses not replaced and no tissues for two days. Despite this I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Amsterdam. Reasonably priced for location in Amsterdam (116€ double)

Room Tip: Request top floor there is an elevator) back. It was as quiet as our home in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimresrauranteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard room on the tram line side. Initially the noise was noticeable but you got accustomed to it. The hotel is old and tired, but it does have a lift. The room was large and basic with a large, comfortable and clean bed. It also had a safe. The shower was over the bath. No shampoo, conditioner or clothes line. Liquid soap in dispensers were over the bath and basin. A hair dryer was provided.

Like other reviewers we also had a visit from a mouse which ate some chocolate out of my opened carry on luggage!

Breakfast was adequate although the scrambled eggs were always nearly cold. However, there were boiled eggs too. The hotel restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday nights. We dined
the three nights in local restaurants only 5 minutes away. Good quality and nice food and not too expensive..

There is a little supermarket in the same area where you can buy organic food and drink. On the
last day we discovered a "normal" supermarket in the next block away. We bought drinks and put them in the refrigerator in the room.

At reception you can buy both a 24 hour travel card (7.50 Euros) or 48 hour travel card for about
13 Euros. We bought a 24 hour card and used it from midday to midday. Much better value than buying single tickets which I believe are 2.80 Euros.

The reception staff were pleasant enough and it was nice to be provided with umbrellas each
time we needed one.

The taxi to the airport was 38 Euros which seems to be the standard price.

Would we stay there again - probably, but I'd also see what else was around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#215 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#237 of 368 in Amsterdam
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#158 of 368 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#263 of 368 in Amsterdam
500 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Property: The Alfred Hotel
Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing