We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #220 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I visited the hotel in November 2013 and had an excellent experience. Delicious breakfast, clean rooms and well-equipped, friendly staff, convenient location - close to the Vondelpark. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Udi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

After reading reviews on this hotel and looking at its web page , I thought that I should end our European stay in style . What a disappointment ? We arrived at this hotel with the dirty red carpet at its front door .The receptionist who spoke perfect English was cold and not welcoming . We booked for breakfast as well and got no info on times etc. We had to ask about the Wifi . We were placed in 2 corner standard rooms which had extremely old and outdated furniture .Being street facing , we endured ambulance sirens every night . The breakfast was nothing special and no refills done . If you were a few minutes late - and teenagers often wake up late - it was obvious that you were not welcome . Location - nothing to shout about - close to the concert hall but you have to walk about 100 meters to catch nearest tram . Area looked safe . If I had not prepaid , I would
definitely have cancelled my booking and stayed longer at the Crowne Plaza . Note there was no toiletries at all and the towels were not even ironed and placed in a heap on our beds . The reception always had a strange smell and I am wondering if it was a rat as mentioned by other Travellers .
Amsterdam is one of the friendliest , warmest cities in the world and it was the Dutch people's warmth that made our stay in this city , a delight . Will definitely return to Amsterdam but not to this hotel .I found a delightful Nepalese restaurant in Leidesplein , very close to the Bulldog and a great South American grill house which served the greatest starter - prawns tucked into tortilla shells with a lovely sauce - and margaritas at 5 euros . Then there is the Turkish restaurant within close proximity to the Nepalese restaurant which served the best lamb chops a 12 euros .

Room Tip: Please ensure that you do no choose a street facing room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shama188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

While this hotel was a bit further out, it was still an easy walk through Vondel Park to hit the action. In reality, it was nice to stay just outside the crazy. Very clean, "american-sized" hotel rooms. Great staff. And, they allow small dogs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location of the hotel is quite central, and with both the number 16 and number 2 Tram stops being very close it is an ideal location to explore the delights that Amsterdam has to offer.

Room was neat and tidy and although our room was on the roadside - there was very little noise. Service was good and the prices in the bar on a par with the rest of Amsterdam.

One warning - Breakfast - we were unsure as to whether this was included in our stay - we decided to give it a go - very little choice and also very expensive for what you get.

Oh and no mice ;)

Room Tip: Flash your trip advisor tags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here after a thorough search of hotels in Amsterdam. We came across the 'Memphis' since they had a good deal on. Our stay was nothing but amazing! for the price, the room was top notch, nothing to envy 4 or 5 star hotels. Very clean, modern, and most importantly in a very nice location, central to everything. The staff were very helpful, bike hire a brezze....
Would def recommend for a nice stay with your partner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was our last night in Amsterdam before flying home. This hotel is supposed to be 4 star but I would say probably only 3 star. We found the hotel very clean and most of the staff efficient. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant/dining room and the young waitress did a great job to manage all the patrons on her own. She had a very pleasant attitude and a happy smile for everyone. The internet access was good and the midday check out also very good. The hotel is located in a convenient part of town, close to the art gallery and sourrounded by lovely shops, and houses. We were able to do a couple of lovely walks through the streets. Also close to the trams to access the inner city.

Room Tip: We had a front room over looking the street but there was no noise and a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I asked for a quiet room and got one next to the elevator with a loud 'clonk'. Everything said or done in the corridor was easy to hear. As well as the creepy sound behind the wall. A rat? No, a mouse, answered the receptionist in the morning. There was a warning to keep all food in the fridge...well, I did not have any. Good distance from the Museumplein, though.

Room Tip: Not next to the elevator!
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Leena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 374 in Amsterdam
884 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#173 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,032 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#78 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#137 of 374 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £52 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfred Hotel is a chic 3-Star hotel and has recently been renovated and transformed to provide trendy, modern and comfortable accommodation for all its guests. Our Hotel is suitable for anyone who is looking for culture, architecture, culinary adventures, and a chance to experience local life in Amsterdam. The Alfred Hotel is ideally located in the South district of Amsterdam. You can start your day with a walk through Vondelpark that will lead you to Museumplein where you can discover the world renowned Rijksmuseum. In the Museumplein you can also discover fine dining at the Rijks Restaurant, masterpieces at the Van Gogh Museum, modern art at the Stedelijk Museum, or one of the many concerts at Het Concertgebouw. A five minute walk from the Museumplein will take you to the picturesque World Heritage Unesco recognized Amsterdam Canals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing