We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #219 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 March 2014

At first I was hesitant taking my family to this hotel after reading some bad reviews. We did not regret our stay here. The place is as the advert said. Good and friendly management. Although, far from the city center the trams are very efficient. The only fault I found is that the lift doesn't reach the basement rooms. This is important to the handicapped or elderly. Otherwise, I highly recommend this nice hotel. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alamo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Amazing location in Amsterdam Zuid (South), it does not get much better in Amsterdam! We stayed here only for one night. Tram 16 stops right outside the door. Bought our stay on vakantieveilingen.nl, which made it really cheap! Normal prices are way over the top; we saw the price list in our room and were kind of shocked. Bathroom is a bit old-fashioned, room is small but nice, good bed! I don’t know why, but it was really hot inside the room, even though it was (almost) freezing outside. We had to open the window/door to get some air (which makes it a bit noisy). Also we had a (water?) pipe coming from the roof leaving through the floor next to our bed and I almost could not sleep due the inconstant noise coming from the pipe. As we bought it for less than EUR 50 we will probably stay here again, whenever we need to be in the city for a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without (water)pipes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My boyfriend and I had a very enjoyable 3 night stay here at the end of February. The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and all staff were friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff. The hotel was about 15 mins walk from the museum district with a tram stop directly outside meaning easy access to the centre of town. Although the hotel was quite a distance from the centre of town, about 45 mins, the walk in was great, taking in all the sights and spotting bars and restaurants we may have missed otherwise. We got a great deal on this trip from a third party booking site and if the offer came up again we would definitely be returning! A lovely few days away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyy182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for three nights. Lovely spacious rooms. Minimal noise from outside. Breakfast was very disappointing not a great deal of options for vegetarians/vegans . Great location for a direct route to central via tram 16.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Adobea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed for three nights here in February on an art history trip, visiting the newly refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Modern Art museum. The hotel was very conveniently placed on number 16 tram route, which takes you direct to the musuems or right to the centre of Amsterdam and the Central Station. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious, with minimal traffic noise if the windows were shut. Breakfast was pleasant and adequate. There were good restaurants for dinner in neighbouring streets, in a quiet area near the Vondel Park. A good place to stay for easy sightseeing, but a warning- don't leave chocolate in your room, it might get nibbled!

Room Tip: Fourth Floor quiet and mice - free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my friend in this hotel for two nights. It was located near the museum square. Tram was at a walking distance, by which one can reach city centre easily. Hotel staff was cooperative but hidden a fact from us which spoiled the stay.
At the time of checkout when we were packing our luggage, spotted that our chocolates were bitten by mouse. It was very disgusting, hotel admitted this thing and also payed for the spoiled chocolate, but mood was already spoiled. If it would have been documents in place of chocolate it would have been disaster.
Pros:
Nice and clean hotel with good sized rooms.
Tram is next to hotel by which city can be explored.
Hotel staff was cooperative.

Cons:
Breakfast was not included and it was expensive, in city it is available at much lower prices in market.
Mouse can eat the food stuff if luggage is left open in room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank shobs_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed for one night in a double room in the Memphis hotel. The rooms we re spacious, beds we re very good.
The breakfast the next morning was very poor, pancakes we re in the same au- bain- marie as the bacon and scrambled egs. Choice was not very much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 375 in Amsterdam
889 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#266 of 375 in Amsterdam
516 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#176 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#162 of 375 in Amsterdam
543 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £41 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfred Hotel is a chic 3-Star hotel and has recently been renovated and transformed to provide trendy, modern and comfortable accommodation for all its guests. Our Hotel is suitable for anyone who is looking for culture, architecture, culinary adventures, and a chance to experience local life in Amsterdam. The Alfred Hotel is ideally located in the South district of Amsterdam. You can start your day with a walk through Vondelpark that will lead you to Museumplein where you can discover the world renowned Rijksmuseum. In the Museumplein you can also discover fine dining at the Rijks Restaurant, masterpieces at the Van Gogh Museum, modern art at the Stedelijk Museum, or one of the many concerts at Het Concertgebouw. A five minute walk from the Museumplein will take you to the picturesque World Heritage Unesco recognized Amsterdam Canals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing