We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent quiet position for Museums and Concert Hall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #208 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent quiet position for Museums and Concert Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay in this comfortable Hotel. Very helpful staff including re booking visits etc, really good breakfast, well appointed room in a good position on a tram route and just a few minutes walk to the Museums. There are some really good restaurants nearby and we had one good meal in the restaurant at the Hotel (under separate management)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We are always happy the hear from guests who enjoyed the stay in our hotel!
I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    248
    158
    63
    56
See reviews for
81
300
42
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our 2 night stay here was part of a Groupon. The location was good - quite neighborhood which felt safe. 10 minute walk to Van Gogh museum and Rijks museum. About 45 minutes walking to the central station.
The hotel says 4 star - maybe 4 out of 8 possible? Tiny room, tiny bed, no AC, loud as hell, and a very cheery woman yelling, "housekeeping" at 9 am and knocking on our door. Plus we heard her yelling and knocking on the other 10 doors on our floor.
The front desk people were very helpful. Breakfast was good except for some super annoying other guests who let their baby scream while they texted and showed each other photos.
Overall, we spent little on the vacation, so it was ok, but I will not be returning there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is good, in a quiet attractive area, with easy access by public transport to the city centre. It does not however, provide a 4 star experience. The bedroom needed refurbishment. The mattresses were well past their sell by date. The staff were unable to provide me with a proper non-allergenic pillow, important as I am asthmatic. The room was too hot and at one point there was a smell of bad drains. The choice at breakfast is easily surpassed by that on offer in many Scottish 3 star establishments. While the room itself was spacious, the bathroom was very cramped and the grout on the tiling was overdue for a good clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
162 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Typical of many European hotels, rooms are a bit small by US standards, but good for the area. You are just steps from the trolley so getting into the center (1/2 mile) is easy. If you want to be right in the middle of the action, this location may not be your choosing, but it is quiet and close to public transportation. There are plenty of smaller shops and restaurants within walking distance. The room was well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the this hotel for a week and can not fault it, our room on the 3rd floor was really spacious comfortable and warm.The staff were very friendly & helpful.
The buffet breakfast was more than adequate.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a room in the front of the building you do get traffic noise if you have the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel in early April 2014. When we arrived we thought the hotel looked nice, and the room seemed lovely too. The truth is this hotel could therefore be a good 4-star stay, but for the multitude of customer service and quality issues we experienced during our 3 nights.

On our first evening it became apparent the TV was not working. A member of staff quickly came to the room but was unable to fix the problem and suggested we change rooms in the morning. In the morning, another staff member managed to get the TV working but by the time we arrived back later that day, the problem had resurfaced. After more staff visits it became clear it could not be fixed however when we then asked if we could change rooms the chap simply shrugged and said "sorry" and walked off. My fella was not impressed as it was quite a big sporting weekend and he was hoping to catch the highlights.

We also booked a double bed; we got two single beds which kept splitting apart in the night. Not good if you are planning a romantic weekend!!

The room was also very, very warm as other comments have suggested. We left the window wide open and the air con on full blast all weekend (air con suggested 16C - clearly broken) but this did no good. This led to another problem in terms of noise levels from the busy road outside but there was simply no way we could sleep without some outside breeze so just had to put up with it.

The main light in the room was also broken making for an entertaining return from the local coffee shop on the first night (not a problem we had noticed before as it had been light)!

The bathroom pipes smelt horrible and you can imagine the combined effect of smelly drains + warm room. The bath also needed a good clean and the shower was very complicated to use, again as other comments have suggested.

As others have also suggested, if you like your morning tea/coffee you will find the amenities very poor indeed with no milk - instead you get a horrible tasting powdered cream substitute.

Breakfast was poor quality/selection which is fair enough if free but not acceptable when you are paying EUR14.50. When we asked if they provided any cooked breakfasts, a bald headed staff member was so rude in his aggressive, ugly response that it put me off eating full stop. So our 14.50 had bought us a bowl of cereal and verbal abuse... hardly 4* service.

I also don't agree with the positives about location. The area is very nice but tram travel to the main city cost us around an extra EUR50 - this money would have been FAR better spent at a more centrally located hotel who care about their customers and don't (a) fail to fix problems, (b) speak to guests like they are doing you the favor just by being there and (c) charge you a fortune for the privilege.

I have had better experiences at much cheaper 3* hotels in the area. I'd hoped this was going to be a really special weekend at a nice hotel but in truth the hotel was easily the worst part of our trip. I will not be staying here again and I strongly suggest you avoid the Memphis EMB Hotel as a destination for your hard-earned pennies!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie_MUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this Hotel for the weekend, the room I had was a single, it was quite cosy ( small ) it was very clean and tidy, there was also wifi in the room that worked very well. The usual kettle and coffee and tea was available, but no milk or biscuits in sight. One major point if you use this hotel and have young children, there are not safe latches on the windows and they are very dangerous. The reception and the general feeling in the Hotel is very dull, the staff are fine when you speak to them, but they look extremely bored and uninterested, at all other times. This is not a Hotel that you will have a great evening at, there is no atmosphere at all; even the chairs outside where you could chill and enjoy the world go by with a drink, are put away very early ( Boring ) There is also issues with noise levels from other rooms, I could clearly hear the cleaner hoovering a room, two rooms away for mine. It's not walking distance to Dam Square, you will need to take a 15 to 20 min Tram ride costing ?2.83 each way..

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#154 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#206 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Property: The Alfred Hotel
Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfred Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing