We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alfred Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
161
307
209
87
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
307
209
87
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram routevan gogh museumcity centremuseum quarterwalking distancecafes and restaurantsresidential areafive minute walkhotel is situatedclean hotelmain attractionspublic transportationdam squaredouble bedbreakfast roombreakfast was includedvondelpark
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a trade show. Close to the museum area and Vondelpark. Several high quality restaurants in the area and close to a tram that goes into the city center. If you prefer to be closer to the action and nightlife, this is not the place. However, the surrounding area is great to wander around and the rooms are clean and nice. The front desk staff were always helpful. Overall it was an enjoyable stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank shooker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay in the Memphis Hotel!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I'm lucky to have stayed in lots of different hotels in Amsterdam , and none of them being free last week, my client booked me into the Memphis.

Arriving very late, after midnight, due to flight delays at Gatwick, I still get a very nice room. Very spacious, good bed, good strong Wi-Fi signal. The hotel looks clean, and a few paint chips in the corridor don't detract from the feel that it's nice and luxurious. Nice check in.

Good night's sleep. Breakfast is chaos. The breakfast area doesn't look big enough to cater for a full hotel, and it's a scramble for tables. Holland is not a country to visit if you like breakfast as a meal.

I'd certainly say at The Memphis again, but think I'd pop across the road to Let Spain Quotidian cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room, bed and WiFi! I will make the changes to breakfast room so we can cater for more guests in the morning. We will also address the paint in our corridors.
Thanks again for your comment end I look forward to welcoming you in the Memphis again.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay in this comfortable Hotel. Very helpful staff including re booking visits etc, really good breakfast, well appointed room in a good position on a tram route and just a few minutes walk to the Museums. There are some really good restaurants nearby and we had one good meal in the restaurant at the Hotel (under separate management)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We are always happy the hear from guests who enjoyed the stay in our hotel!
I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our 2 night stay here was part of a Groupon. The location was good - quite neighborhood which felt safe. 10 minute walk to Van Gogh museum and Rijks museum. About 45 minutes walking to the central station.
The hotel says 4 star - maybe 4 out of 8 possible? Tiny room, tiny bed, no AC, loud as hell, and a very cheery woman yelling, "housekeeping" at 9 am and knocking on our door. Plus we heard her yelling and knocking on the other 10 doors on our floor.
The front desk people were very helpful. Breakfast was good except for some super annoying other guests who let their baby scream while they texted and showed each other photos.
Overall, we spent little on the vacation, so it was ok, but I will not be returning there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is good, in a quiet attractive area, with easy access by public transport to the city centre. It does not however, provide a 4 star experience. The bedroom needed refurbishment. The mattresses were well past their sell by date. The staff were unable to provide me with a proper non-allergenic pillow, important as I am asthmatic. The room was too hot and at one point there was a smell of bad drains. The choice at breakfast is easily surpassed by that on offer in many Scottish 3 star establishments. While the room itself was spacious, the bathroom was very cramped and the grout on the tiling was overdue for a good clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews