We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice looking hotel in a great party location ( if that's what you're after) but no air-conditioning in the summer makes for sad,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #111 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice looking hotel in a great party location ( if that's what you're after) but no air-conditioning in the summer makes for sad,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Nice, modern hotel with a great location. Quite a few drawbacks for me though: first of all, there is no air conditioning in the rooms--just some useless "cooling system" (a fan) that arbitrarily shuts off. So, the room was really warm and sticky for each of our nights there IN AUGUST. There is a window you could open but since the hotel is located in a prime nightlife area, you wouldn't want to because it's really loud out there. My husband liked the really firm bed, but I didn't. With the one hard pillow per person I felt like I was back in my basic training days in the military.
There were some positives, however. The tram stops RIGHT outside the hotel and it's real easy to get around. Also, if you're young (and not old like me--I'm 31) this is a great party location. There was also a decent free Wi-fi which I would take over a fluffy pillow (but not A/C) any day.

All in all, I would probably stay here again if it were not the height of summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothygalelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    409
    152
    51
    21
See reviews for
102
443
35
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was great including the smile and good service we allways got from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DAVID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon Michigan
Level Contributor
392 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night and git a superior room top floor facing Rembrantplain. Got the corner room. What a beautiful room. The rooms are very large and the hotel is exceptionally well located. The # 9 tram stops right in front of the hotel and you can take it 2 stops to the train station. Your only 2 blocks from the flower market.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geogh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Good value of money and perfect location. A room we had first was noisy, but then we changed the room. The second one was smaller but really quiet with nice view to Amsterdam Central direction.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alfiya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

A clean, comfortable hotel in the heart of a lively city.
Nice terrace for the breakfast.
Directly on Rembrandtplein, full of street dancers and singers.
Plenty of restaurants on the square itself.
Supermarkets at 1 minute walk, on the right.
The Flower Market and the New Market are within walking distance.
Easy to reach fom Centraal Station (tram n.9).
WE'LL BE BACK FOR SURE!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropaKarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

3 night stay went well. Room was good, in a great location within the city with trams right outside and a McDonald's 300 yards up the road. Staff spoke many languages and we were left alone. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I have just got home from a 3 night stay at the NH Caransa. Fantastic location within walking distance from most of the main tourist locations in Amsterdam. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. The hotel is on Rembrandtplein one of the main areas of nightlife in Amsterdam so some noise at night can be expected, but we were there when Spain won Euro 2012 and there were many 'happy' Spaniards, but no real noise problems. I would recomend this hotel if you want to be in the heart of Amsterdam in a good hotel for a reasonable price. I had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one on the side or at the back, this will reduce you view but impro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., NHHotels, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing