We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, no problems, ignore any bad reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Caransa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #107 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great hotel, no problems, ignore any bad reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Me and my three friends stayed here in December, and we had no problems at all!! Check in was so simple, friendly staff. The wifi worked in our hotel room so we never had any problems with that! We stayed on the third floor, in two 'double rooms' which were just two twin beds pushed together. But as we weren't couples it was okay, so if you are staying as a couple I'd ask about an actual double bed I could imagine it to be a bit of a mood killer if one of you were to fall between the beds haha. The only down side to our room was the view of another building but when you're in Amsterdam I think the last place you want to spend your time in in the room. The bathroom was great, always very clean and beds made everyday unless you asked them not to be. Although if you aren't an early riser be careful the maids like to just come on in if you don't answer the door straight away. The hotel was close to everything, but then again everything in Amsterdam seems to be pretty close together! But yeah we all had a very plesant stay at the NH Caransa! If you want clean rooms, and a comfy bed look no further :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    405
    147
    51
    21
See reviews for
100
437
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I choose this hotel because of its location, it looked clean and smart and as I said close to Dam square, shops and nightlife.
I booked 4 rooms for a hen do and there were all really nice, clean and to 4 star standard. However the heating wasnt great, two rooms didnt work and my room and luke warm water. This might just be that everyone was using it at the same time.

We didnt have breakfast as hadnt heard great reviews and for the price offered I would go to one of the numerous cafes on the doorstep.

The room had a fridge (so we brought milk for tea) and a kettle, haridryer which was handy.

Really easy to get to Dam square (10 minute wak), red light district etc, and the tram is right outside.

Room Tip: It does get noisy at night as its right above clubs and bars. Ask for a high up room at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I can recomend at all for quality and price. And perfect and beautiful location. beakfrast include and correct.
Some of the room are a litle bit old but i very good conditions, and you can walk to the center

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Santiago V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

The hotel's location is perfect, it was near everything we wanted to go. The rooms where clean and spacious but the breakfast was really poor. if i chose it again, i would just fill my mini-fridge with sandwiches.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

As I say in the title, this hotel was not fancy, but we chose it because of the location on Rembrandtplein, within walking distance of much of Amsterdam, and next to the tram stop for sights outside of walking distance. However, the rooms were clean, and the bathroom quite satisfactory, and the desk staff were very attentive and helpful, including making dinner bookings and so on.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the pillow menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked the hotel mostly of its location which was amazing. Right in the middle of rembrantsplein opposite coffee shops, bars and restaurants. Our room and bathroom were very clean and beautiful. There was no balcony in our room but you could sit on the very large window (wall to wall) and just relax. The bed was very comfortable as well. Everything is in a close walking distance, but you could take the tram which is just outside the main entrance. We didnot book breakfast since there are many cafes nearby. I would completely recommend this hotel to anyone. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariannaDayio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Brilliant location, right in the middle of rembrantsplein opposite coffee shops, bars and restaurants.
A very central location to everything including Anne Frank museum and Dam Square.
Room was really comfortable and the late check out till 5pm on a sunday was a winner.

Staff were really friendly and let me use the locked back entrance for the stairs due to my fear of lifts! will def go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIcole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing