We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #121 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Depends....”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I booked this hotel using points through United Mileage Plus and, upon arrival, was given a room on the 5th floor with a view of the air con unit and fire escape/alley. The room was extremely dark and dated. It's disappointing when using points/miles to book and getting the least desirable room in the place. Worse, the bathroom was not clean, and the trashcans not emptied from the previous lodgers. When I complained, the nice woman at the reception upgraded me to a suite on the sixth floor with a huge balcony overlooking Amstel. While this was a wonderfully kind gesture, there were some similarities to the first room: the lighting was poor; the bed linens and towels were of poor quality; bathroom was dated (though shower nice); and the room, overall, had a cheap feel to it.

Overall, this is a three-star hotel with some wrinkles to iron out in terms of facility and amenities. Location is great - just outside the crazy Centrum near the Vondelpark, museums, and University, but close enough to the center for easy access to Centraal Station and the touristy core. Would likely not stay again until after a refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg4878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    427
    165
    56
    22
See reviews for
107
461
37
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is second time I stay in NH Caransa. Because we like Rembrand Square, several times we stayed in NH Schiller just opposite side of this hotel. In last stay because rooms were larger and more modern in Caransa, this time we again chose this hotel.

I Think in first stay we were in Superior room, it was really nice and large. This time in standard room, I can not say we were so happy. Room and bathroom are quite small. If you stay in this hotel better chose Superior or Deluxe rooms.

Staff and service were quite OK. Only free wifi is extremely slow. No chance to send and receive emails with attachment. I think next time I will look another hotel around.

Room Tip: Do not take standard room. Too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_go_my_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Me and my three friends stayed here in December, and we had no problems at all!! Check in was so simple, friendly staff. The wifi worked in our hotel room so we never had any problems with that! We stayed on the third floor, in two 'double rooms' which were just two twin beds pushed together. But as we weren't couples it was okay, so if you are staying as a couple I'd ask about an actual double bed I could imagine it to be a bit of a mood killer if one of you were to fall between the beds haha. The only down side to our room was the view of another building but when you're in Amsterdam I think the last place you want to spend your time in in the room. The bathroom was great, always very clean and beds made everyday unless you asked them not to be. Although if you aren't an early riser be careful the maids like to just come on in if you don't answer the door straight away. The hotel was close to everything, but then again everything in Amsterdam seems to be pretty close together! But yeah we all had a very plesant stay at the NH Caransa! If you want clean rooms, and a comfy bed look no further :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I choose this hotel because of its location, it looked clean and smart and as I said close to Dam square, shops and nightlife.
I booked 4 rooms for a hen do and there were all really nice, clean and to 4 star standard. However the heating wasnt great, two rooms didnt work and my room and luke warm water. This might just be that everyone was using it at the same time.

We didnt have breakfast as hadnt heard great reviews and for the price offered I would go to one of the numerous cafes on the doorstep.

The room had a fridge (so we brought milk for tea) and a kettle, haridryer which was handy.

Really easy to get to Dam square (10 minute wak), red light district etc, and the tram is right outside.

Room Tip: It does get noisy at night as its right above clubs and bars. Ask for a high up room at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I can recomend at all for quality and price. And perfect and beautiful location. beakfrast include and correct.
Some of the room are a litle bit old but i very good conditions, and you can walk to the center

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Santiago V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The hotel's location is perfect, it was near everything we wanted to go. The rooms where clean and spacious but the breakfast was really poor. if i chose it again, i would just fill my mini-fridge with sandwiches.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

As I say in the title, this hotel was not fancy, but we chose it because of the location on Rembrandtplein, within walking distance of much of Amsterdam, and next to the tram stop for sights outside of walking distance. However, the rooms were clean, and the bathroom quite satisfactory, and the desk staff were very attentive and helpful, including making dinner bookings and so on.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the pillow menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,526 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#208 of 367 in Amsterdam
35 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#240 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#95 of 367 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, NHHotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing