We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #122 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2008

After reading many great reviews from Trip Advisor, I decided to book the NH Caransa in Amsterdam. The hotel is clean, modern smallish hotel with about 66 rooms.

The hotel staff were very friendly and very accomodating. After our long trip, we arrived a bit early and without any hesitation they allowed us to check into our room early to freshen up and relax. We asked the staff a few times to help us with various things and they were always very friendly and accomodating. Excellent service from this hotel.

The room was very nice and modern. They looked just like the pictures.

The hotel is situated right in the middle of Rembrantplein, the club area of Amsterdam. For the most part this did not bother us, as we live near the entertainment district back home. But one night the crowd was noisy until about 6am! We did not complain, but good to know for next time. Very central and easy walking distance to Leidsplein, Waterlooplein, Central Station and of course the red light district.

For the price we paid the hotel was very nice. The hotel shuttle from the airport will drop you in front of the hote for about 13 Euros one way. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from Central station, so I would not advise taking the train from the airport to the hotel if you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sailorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2008

This hotel is very modern and very clean - a must for any hotels i stay at. It is also in a great location with tram stop right outside the hotel. It is surrounded by restaurants which makes it really convenient if you are looking for places to eat. From the Central train station, just take tram 9 or 14 and get off at the Rembrandtplein stop. The hotel is just across the road from the tram stop. For those who prefer to walk, Dam Square is about a 15 min walk from the hotel - still quite accessible. The reception was very helpful, looking up information for us when requested. The only down side is that there seems to be a pub or night club next door, so at night time, you will have to put up with muffled music pounding through the walls. However, overall, the hotel is great and situated in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

We, a group of eight, 4 couples are just back from two nights in this hotel. It was everything that it promised to be. It has a central location with a tram stop just out side the door; the staff was friendly and helpful. We didn’t opt for the breakfast as we felt it was expensive at 18 Euro a head, so we opted to make use of the tea and coffee facilities and get some fruit and fresh pastries at the local shop. The rooms were modern roomy and very clean and the bathroom was mod with extra nice toiletries. We chose this hotel as a work mate had stayed here and told me it was clean and an excellent location. So the price was ok once we knew it was good, at the end of the day you get what you pay for. We bought a 48 hour unlimited tram ticket which we used constantly. Most places are within walking distance. We got the hotel shuttle in from the airport and had pre arranged a price as there was 8 of us. Then the hotel arranged for the shuttle to pick us up on our return to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank louCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Good points: Very central - about 15 mins walk to Anne Frank's house, 10 mins to Van Gogh museum, flower market practically next door, tram stop outside the hotel. Very clean and comfortable (apparently the hotel had been recently renovated), choice of pillows, loads of great free toiletries, good breakfast. Staff very efficient, obliging and friendly.

Bad points: Fairly noisy - right next door to a nightclub (bring earplugs if you cannot sleep unless it is deathly quiet). The small bottle of water in the room costs €3.50. The windows cannot be opened and mine looked out onto a concrete wall with big metal pipes (but I suppose my room was quieter than those at the front of the hotel). The shower panel in the bathroom didn't stop the water going all over the floor.

Tips: There is a shuttle bus which can pick you up from and drop you off at the airport (www.airporthotelshuttle.nl) - it's cheaper than a taxi. Szmulewicz restaurant around the corner at Bakkerstraat 12 is good (small and cosy). If you want to go to Anne Frank's house or the museums - get there early (before 10 am) otherwise the queue is very long.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepballchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

My Fiance and I just got back from 3 nights in the Caransa. Everything was great, nothing was 'wow' like a Jacuzzi bath or balcony over the canal, but the rooms were very nice and spacious, lovely bathrooms, spotlessly clean, great location- and when you paid the price we did I would have been very happy with a lot less!
I booked the hotel with help from an online comparison site, we paid £185 for 3 nights including breakfast (and including Valentine's night) while without breakfast was £300! the company assured me this was right, and that this was a special rate the NH hotels sometimes put out (The Schiller and Doelen both had this same price).
Breakfast was great, so much choice- fruits, breads cheeses, meats, salad, the usual eggs and bacon, loads of cakes, yogurts, carton drinks and convenient things you can sneak into your bag for later in the day!
The toiletries and freebies were very generous, there was a pillow menu and a nice minibar. Ever staff member we met was very polite and friendly, and on arrival we were given a room with two beds pushed together as a double- we asked to see a double room and it was a lot smaller (just like the receptionist had advised us!) so we stuck with the twin.
We really couldn't have wanted anything else from a hotel which is so central in Amsterdam- the trams stop literally on the doorstep and although you can hear them at night it's not bad, and it means it's never a hassle to pop back and forth during the day. I couldn't believe how much some pubs and restaurants charge for food (€26 for a normal steak!) and booze (€5-6 a pint!) but there was a lovely restaurant round the back of the hotel called Szmulewicz which seemed popular with the locals. The guide book said how tacky the rembrandtplein was, ignore it- it just meant there was lots of choice for bars, shops, trams- ok it might be touristy but when you’re a tourist that can be convenient!
I’d definitely go back again, and recommend it to anyone- save your money on the hotel, you’ll need it for the restaurants!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

A great hotel in a fantastic location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room (a single) was a good size - recently renovated. Very clean. I'd definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorldTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

I stayed for the weekend and found that the staff were polite and helpful, the rooms were clean and modern and well stocked with toiletries and anything you might have forgotten. I had a room at the back which was really quiet, despite the hotel's location on busy Rembrantsplein. The central location was useful during my short stay. I go to Amsterdam every couple of years and would definately stay at NH Caransa again.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Thelmamojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,605 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#246 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,520 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#139 of 372 in Amsterdam
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £107 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing