We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #119 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A pleasant surprise in every aspect....nice and central location.
Very good and friendly reception and helpful instructions concerning different sites to visit as well as excellent restaurants around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Pablo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for NH Amsterdam Caransa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Nice room...we stayed for 2nights I thought since our room looked onto the square it would be super noisy but it l was suprisingly ok!! Great choice for breakfast!! And loads of it!! Some english channels and right outside is the tram!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergggg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure of spending a night in the NH Caransa hotel on the Rembrandt Square in Amsterdam. It is hard to find a hotel with a better location in Amsterdam, especially if you like night life and you want to have a wide choice of restaurants and entertainment close by.

I got a nice room facing the square, with a lovely view. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom nice and clean.

The breakfast buffet was simple but OK and the staff was friendly.

What more would you expect from a city hotel_

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed there during a city trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is nice and clean. It has free WiFi which was reasonably fast (they also had a faster paid version). It is located on Rembrandtplein, which has quite a lot of trams. If possible, ask to be away from the tram lines to limit the noise.
We had ask in advance for a baby bed but it was not in the room when we arrived so we had to call the reception and they brought it right away.
The AC in the room was a bit tricky and we could never figure out if it was on of off and were too hot the second night.
The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is another NH hotel across from the main square and this one does but we did not try it.
The breakfast could be pre-booked at a discount price of 15 EUR instead of 20. Instead, we just went to a local bar around the corner and had a nice continental breakfast for around 11 EUR.

Room Tip: Away from the tram lines on Rembrandtplein is better
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tristof_Liege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the NH Caransa on Sunday 27th October and had a wonderful night. We upgraded on arrival and were given a room which had a terrace with outside patio furniture. Granted the weather wasn't quite right to take advantage if it fully but this didn't stop us standing outside taking in the stunning city centre skyline.

The greeting at reception was very warm and friendly.

The room was a decent size and was nice and clean.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious with plenty of choice between continental items and cooked items.

The location of the hotel was brilliant. It is situated just a 10 minute stroll along the canal from Dam Square which is the main tourist area. The square in which the hotel sits had a very lively and friendly atmosphere. There was a good selection of eateries and bars around the square to suit all budgets and tastes. It felt a very safe area.

We ate at the restaurant directly to the left of the hotel main reception as you face it from the street. Kitchen and Bar Van Rijn was its name. It has floor to ceiling windows and looks very modern and plush. The food was amazing. I had the ox stew and expected cubed steak in a gravy type dish. I was pleasantly surprised by a lump of steak like prime fillet which absolutely melted in the mouth. Well worth a visit.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff were wonderful and very helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Blackpoolguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

great location, good hotel, excellent service. could be a bit cleaner but in general recommended. stuff is very helpful and the hotel is a few minutes walking distance from the main attractions. the next door sports bar is great too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ran13293984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Chose hotel mainly because all major attractions were within 10-15 minutes walk. Room was large enough to include cot but had no wardrobe wherein to put clothes.
Breakfast was adequate as we had cereal, scrambled eggs and bacon, cheese and hams, bread fruit and pastries, juices etc.
Have two complaints though: (1) used hotel mainly to shower and rest... Resting during the night was almost impossible...out of 7 nights we managed to sleep decently only on 3 nights ... Rembrandtlplein is like being in the middle of paceville in Malta :(
(2) during holiday had an accident due to the inefficient service of Lovers cruise line.... During the night of the accident I tainted the blankets with blood ... Blankets were not changed during 3 consecutive dates ....
Overall, our amsterdam experience was really nice especially when considering that we were travelling with our 1.5 year old baby : )))

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fawwarakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#148 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,578 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#241 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,485 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#133 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#154 of 371 in Amsterdam
82 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £108 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing