We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
321
453
188
62
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
453
188
62
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrembrandt squaregreat locationtram stopsister hotelwithin walking distancecentral locationrestaurants and barsmini barsuperior roomnoisy at nightthe air conditioningflower marketquiet roomfree upgradelarge windowsmain attractionsbrilliant hotel
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a week and left having a positive opinion for the hotel and its stuff. It's true everybody was friendly, eager to help with every small or big problem that appeared always smiling. But when my 13 months daughter started bearing marks on her body, I couldn't believe that the diagnose would be: flea's bites, from the mattres or the carpet.
If you can't be sure for your children's health in a 3 star hotel in one of the most popular cities in Europe today, where can you be? There is no excuse for that, as items that are destined to be used by babes should be sterlized.
Shame on everybody responsible for that.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tsatsuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

It was a very well located hotel and the room was nice as well..

We were debating between Park and NH. I am glad we chose NH. Though Park is located just opposite the train station, but the area was extremely noisy and unpleasant.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank shiulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

NH CARANSA, AMSTERDAM

Pros:

The location is great, in Rembrandtplein (very nice indeed), with a tram stop at the door, restaurants all around the square, supermarkets and shops nearby. Even the Flower Market and many interesting places are reacheable by foot.

The room is spacious, spotless, with very comfortable beds, easy operating air conditioning, facilities to prepare hot beverages and a good safe.

It has pillow menu, good blackout and nice chair and armchair and it is very well insonorized.

There was a very good book of short stories as a souvenir.

The modern bathroom is spotless, with excellent toiletries, Kleenex dispenser, good make-up mirror with a nice phrase and a great water flow in the shower.

The staff is very courteous.

The buffet breakfast is very good, though expensive, and it is served in a beautiful restaurant by very kind staff.

Cons:

There is little space to store clothes.

Though the NH is a Spanish chain, there is no Spanish channel and the staff doesn´t speak the language.

The worst of all, they don´t honor the points earned by the NH Card to members. Some weeks after being in this hotel we stayed in another NH in Brussels and they didn´t find my points, so I couldn´t take any advantage of this program. I had the same problem in 2005.

If you like peace, avoid going on April 30th, the Queen´s Day. We had to remain almost all day long in the room. We could go out early in the morning but after that the streets were full of drunken people; there was no place to walk easily. There is no public transport and everything is closed except bars. In Rembrandtplein there were two stages with strident music. Some people danced climbed to the telephone cabins, others vomited in the street and the floor was full of broken bottles and cans.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lidia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

After reading many great reviews from Trip Advisor, I decided to book the NH Caransa in Amsterdam. The hotel is clean, modern smallish hotel with about 66 rooms.

The hotel staff were very friendly and very accomodating. After our long trip, we arrived a bit early and without any hesitation they allowed us to check into our room early to freshen up and relax. We asked the staff a few times to help us with various things and they were always very friendly and accomodating. Excellent service from this hotel.

The room was very nice and modern. They looked just like the pictures.

The hotel is situated right in the middle of Rembrantplein, the club area of Amsterdam. For the most part this did not bother us, as we live near the entertainment district back home. But one night the crowd was noisy until about 6am! We did not complain, but good to know for next time. Very central and easy walking distance to Leidsplein, Waterlooplein, Central Station and of course the red light district.

For the price we paid the hotel was very nice. The hotel shuttle from the airport will drop you in front of the hote for about 13 Euros one way. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from Central station, so I would not advise taking the train from the airport to the hotel if you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sailorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

This hotel is very modern and very clean - a must for any hotels i stay at. It is also in a great location with tram stop right outside the hotel. It is surrounded by restaurants which makes it really convenient if you are looking for places to eat. From the Central train station, just take tram 9 or 14 and get off at the Rembrandtplein stop. The hotel is just across the road from the tram stop. For those who prefer to walk, Dam Square is about a 15 min walk from the hotel - still quite accessible. The reception was very helpful, looking up information for us when requested. The only down side is that there seems to be a pub or night club next door, so at night time, you will have to put up with muffled music pounding through the walls. However, overall, the hotel is great and situated in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews