We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right on rembrandt plein”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #122 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Keene, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“right on rembrandt plein”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel, very quiet for its location. Right on the bus stop in Rembrandt plaza, three stops down from the main train station. there are many restaurants within feet of the hotel, many outside cafes to people watch and have a leisurely drink or meal. we stayed 2 nights in May.

Room Tip: 5th floor toward the back was good, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    414
    157
    53
    22
See reviews for
106
447
35
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel to find our room wasn't ready and we had to wait with our luggage till 15:00. On requesting the we need a room to rest and use the facilities immediately, the receptionist called room service and gave us the keys. When we arrived in the room, it smelled as though either someone had been smoking here or a smoker had recently stayed in the room. When we complained to the cleaning lady, she sprayed the room with horrible air freshener! The bathroom smelled musty, the receptionists were unhelpful and we couldn't wait to get out everyday! I guess that might be a good thing from a tourist POV.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahamUzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Ms,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are aiming for a 100% smoke free hotel. We do not allow smoking in any public area or room. Unfortunatly we did not succeed to offer you this for which we apologize.
Our check in time is from 3 pm before this time we can not garantee a check in.

The hotel is indeed located in one of Amsterdam's nicest area's.
During a next visit to our city we hope to welcome you again. Hopefully you can then experience that this has been an isolated incident.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Leticia Muro
Hotel Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very comfortable and welcoming hotel, based in a very busy corner of Amsterdam. If you like nightlife, this is the one for you. For those of us preferring a quieter time, it is probably advisable to pick somewhere away from Rembrandt Square.
I cannot fault the hotel which was comfortable and clean. The staff very helpful. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food within. If you do not opt for the hotel's breakfast there are numerous places around about that do varying styles of breakfast from about 9am.
Trams for all destinations stop right outside.
All in all a good, centrally placed hotel. Be advised, however, that the square gets very busy and very loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you do not want to hear the mayhem from the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Lucy,

First of all thank you for choosing NH Caransa for your stay in Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotelstaff helpful and the hotel comfortable and clean. The hotel is indeed located in the city center near many museums, bars and restaurants. A more quiet room away from the square is indeed an option.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I reserved the junior suite with king size bed and got two personal on wheels, it was very dissapointing since i paid a lot. The stuff didnt come up with any relevant solution. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank nirwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here when a rare chance to combine a business trip with some sight-seeing presented itself.

I found the hotel itself to be perfectly adequate, but nothing more. However, both the Rijksmuseum and the Anne Frank house are within easy walking distance,and for this reason I chose the Caransa.

I attended a meeting here in 2012, and although I didn't stay, I was left with the same impression i.e. reasonable value but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJMLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuross Head, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location at Rembrandtplein with trams running past the front door and a relatively easy walk, about 10-15 mins to Amsterdam Central station. Good tourist shopping and some very good restaurants close by. The location was easily the best part of the hotel experience. The staff were great, friendly and helpful but the rooms were quite small but pretty much what you would expect in the central' old town' area of any European city. The bathroom was small and not good for 2 people. The only real complaint was the hotel at the rear was being renovated and worker scaffolding went right past our windows and the noise started early. We were told when we booked in that we would be given a room at the rear of the hotel away from the street noise but I think this was a bit of a nonsense in that we were given a room with its own builders scaffold. We enjoyed the stay but it was a bit cramped, a bit noisy however the cost was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Used this hotel for business trip. The staff was great and very friendly and helpful, the room was light, bright and quiet (staff actually asked what I prefer after I told I was on work trip). Great breakfast selection, good work facilities and room equipment. Food and mini bar also had a great variety but the location is also perfect to eat out. The corridors could do with some updating, but the price compensates for it:)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet side, 307 was great:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Emilija,

First of all, thank you very much for the trust given to our chain and for having spent the time on filling
your impressions on our hotel.

Thank you very much for your nice words relating our staff. It is great to hear you found them very friendly and helpful.

Indeed nh Caransa has a lot of light with very big windows. You can have rooms in the quiet area or in the busy one, overlooking the square.

The AntiOX breakfast is one of our strongest points, all around nh we have the same selection.
We will be looking to do an update of corridors, replacing carpet where necessary and painting doors.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments.

Hoping to have the chance of greeting you again in our hotel

Best regards

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#66 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#241 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing