We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #123 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great view”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

i was only at this spot for one night but still loved it. beautiful view from the 6th floor over looking the roof tops and canals. rooms were clean, beds were good, but the shower was smaller then i'd like use. front desk was friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations.
walking distance to Anne Frank's house, Van Gouge Museum, and Red Light District.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time for leaving a comment on tripadvisor.

Hopefully your next stay in Amsterdam will be a bit longer so you can enjoy our service and the hotel some more.

Kind Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    431
    168
    58
    23
See reviews for
107
472
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner, and we were not disappointed!

We did the typical thing before staying here by checking the TripAdvisor reviews and we were slightly put off by some comments but we went ahead with our stay anyway, great choice.

The hotel is located right on Rembrandt Square and close to everything you'd ever want to be close to. Food, drink and nightlife is only a stones throw away.

The rooms were clean and modern and we were even upgraded to the suite with the balcony which was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank you for sharing your comment on tripadvisor.
And thank you for taking the change to creating your own experience.

Glad to here you enjoyed.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights with friends. Clean hotel with everything we needed for a couple of nights. The hotel reception staff were friendly and even checked us in for our return flight home and printed out the boarding pass.

The hotel is in a really good location right on Rembrandt Square. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the square and it is lovely to sit out for a drink in the sun.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on it. We opted for the cheaper option of one of the bars in the square which opened for breakfast. It was a warm weekend so was nice to be sitting outside.

We took the hotel shuttle from the airport and as there were 8 of us only cost about €16 each (return). The shuttle dropped off just opposite the hotel the other side of the square. You can buy the shuttle ticket at the info office in the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasongci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was located right on Rembrandt Square with many pubs, restaurants and clubs right outside the hotel. There is also a tram stop right outside the hotel. The room was clean, modern and generous in size. We would stay here again for sure. Location is a big plus for staying here. The front facade was being enhanced but we were not inconvenienced and no noise from within the hotel could be heard.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed there when I was up for PLMA exhibiton. Location was the best If i compare it to my previous stayals in Amsterdam, Rembrandtplein is the best avenue you can hang out and relax. Rooms are comfortable and silence, although it`s just in Rembrandtplein there was no voice at all.
They provided taxi service both for our departure and arrival.. Only problem were receptioners whom forgot our taxi reservation. But they handled the situation good. Room Wifi was free but so slow, you should pay money to speed it up.

Room Tip: choose a room which looks to rembrandplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerim Ufuk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Mr Kerim Ufuk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
It is great to hear that the location of the hotel was perfect for your business trip.

Recently we have upgraded the wifi acces in the hotel which should make the connection faster and easier to logg in.

Once again thank you for your time!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a great time at the NH Caransa. Although we were a bit concerned about the possible noise, our room which was on the 6th flour was very quite (as long as the windows were closed!). The hotel is very clean, the staff friendly, and the location is fabulous. We would be very happy to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ilan_Irit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.
We understand your concern but indeed the noise is also acceptable at many times.
Hopefully you will choose our hotel once more in the future and we will be able to again make sure you have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at the Caransa for two nights with my boyfriend.
LOCATION:
The hotel is situated in Rembrandt Sq, nice location surrounded by lots of pubs, restaurants and shops. It's about 15-20mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station and about 10-15mins from the main attractions i.e. sex museum, red light district, madame tussauds. I do recommend bringing comfortable shoes as we walked everywhere we went as it's all fairly local, however it can be very tiring.

FOOD:
We just ate breakfast here. The food is quite limited. They do not provide a full English breakfast, it missed baked beans, sausages, hash browns. There was no toaster for the bread. It was a basic breakfast selection and the dining room is quite small but has a nice balcony which overlooks the square if you wish to sit outside.
There is a free hot drinks machine on the same floor as the dining room (1st floor) which i presume is free to use for guests at any time, with some light snacks.

RECEPTION:
We were greeted by a friendly man at the desk. The free wifi at the hotel works very well however does expire every 24hours so you'd need to get a sheet with a code when it expires, this is available at the desk. There are plenty of brochures at the front of the hotel also which details excursions. We didn't come across much of the hotel staff.

ROOM:
Our room was nice and cosy, decent sized, very clean and well maintained. The bathroom provides the standard amenities (hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, soap, etc.)
Our room was situated to the side of the hotel facing another building so we didn't experience much of the street noise, however our window was closed all the time and we slept with the air con on.
The room provides two pillows and one spare in the cupboard, however 2 out of 3 of the pillows were lumpy. The beds are nice and firm, but i wasn't too best pleased with the lumpy pillows. The TV in the room has plenty of channels but most of them are not in English.
There's a minibar to use at an extra cost and you can store drinks in the fridge to keep cool. The room does offer complimentary tea and coffee.

We were pleased with this hotel, however would probably stay just a little closer to the station if we were to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback on your stay.
For any future visits to our hotels we are happy to inform our guests that FREE WIFI will change to one log in code instead of different ones every 24 hours. As we do understand it can be annoying having to log in each time.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to welcome you soon in one of our hotels.

Kind regards
Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,553 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#176 of 368 in Amsterdam
65 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#237 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 368 in Amsterdam
936 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing