We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location but very impolite staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #121 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were offered an upgrade when we checked in, 20€ after a discount, so we took it (we where also promised a late checkout on Sunday, no extra cost cause they weren't very busy at the moment) When we checked out the cost was suddenly 80€ plus fee for late checkout. (A total of over 100€)

We're never staying here again. The man at the front desk (when we checked out) was so rude that our driver, who had came I. Yo the Lobby to help with our luggage, commented on the mans behaviour when we walked to the car.

There are lots of other hotels in the city centre of Amsterdam, we highly recommend that you choose one of them instead of this one. Or, make sure to pay up front when the offer you a deal cause they will most certainly Not keep their promise when it's time for you to leave.
C and K from Sweden

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Catrin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Catrin,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We would like to express our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

We always aim to provide excellent service at any time and regret that we failed you on this occasion.
We find that the experience your were put through at your departure was unacceptable.
Please rest assured that we will be addressing this with the utmost seriousness.

Unfortunatly we do not have all you details here, therefore we can not contact you personally .

Please be so kind to contact the hotel for my details, so we can contact you back for a suitable solution.

Once again thank you for your comment.

Kind Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for six nights for a conference. It's not the fanciest or most luxurious, but the staff was very hospitable, and it was clean and comfortable. The room was decent room/bathroom for Europe, and it was an easy hotel to get to thanks to the tram stop right in front of it. The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but fine for my needs. LOTS of restaurants, cafes, small eateries, tourist shops, and quick marts/drug stores near by. However, being right on Rembrandtplein is an issue if you prefer quiet! During week nights it's busy and loud until late...on weekends no one goes to bed and it's complete mayhem (at least during the summer time). Be advised that events like concerts, etc. also take place there...there is a jumbotron (luckily on the same side of the street as the hotel) that will also add to the fray. This is definitely something you should check into before booking.
(To give you an idea, this weekend is Gay Pride Weekend, and the Rembrandplein is tented and there is a massive concert going on there. I am writing this 4 blocks away and can hear it!) But if you're going to be out most of the night anyway, this won't be an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the square if you are a light sleeper. It won't be super quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank craftyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment on tripadvisor.

Being located on the rembrandsquare, one of the entertainment area's here in amsterdam, it is true that there is always something going on at night.
Events and festivities like this weekend (gay pride) are always anounced and are indeed louder than the clubs and bars on the square, we are sorry for this inconvenience.

Hopefully you have enjoyed your stay

Once again, thank you for your comment.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

i was only at this spot for one night but still loved it. beautiful view from the 6th floor over looking the roof tops and canals. rooms were clean, beds were good, but the shower was smaller then i'd like use. front desk was friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations.
walking distance to Anne Frank's house, Van Gouge Museum, and Red Light District.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time for leaving a comment on tripadvisor.

Hopefully your next stay in Amsterdam will be a bit longer so you can enjoy our service and the hotel some more.

Kind Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner, and we were not disappointed!

We did the typical thing before staying here by checking the TripAdvisor reviews and we were slightly put off by some comments but we went ahead with our stay anyway, great choice.

The hotel is located right on Rembrandt Square and close to everything you'd ever want to be close to. Food, drink and nightlife is only a stones throw away.

The rooms were clean and modern and we were even upgraded to the suite with the balcony which was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank you for sharing your comment on tripadvisor.
And thank you for taking the change to creating your own experience.

Glad to here you enjoyed.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights with friends. Clean hotel with everything we needed for a couple of nights. The hotel reception staff were friendly and even checked us in for our return flight home and printed out the boarding pass.

The hotel is in a really good location right on Rembrandt Square. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the square and it is lovely to sit out for a drink in the sun.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on it. We opted for the cheaper option of one of the bars in the square which opened for breakfast. It was a warm weekend so was nice to be sitting outside.

We took the hotel shuttle from the airport and as there were 8 of us only cost about €16 each (return). The shuttle dropped off just opposite the hotel the other side of the square. You can buy the shuttle ticket at the info office in the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasongci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was located right on Rembrandt Square with many pubs, restaurants and clubs right outside the hotel. There is also a tram stop right outside the hotel. The room was clean, modern and generous in size. We would stay here again for sure. Location is a big plus for staying here. The front facade was being enhanced but we were not inconvenienced and no noise from within the hotel could be heard.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed there when I was up for PLMA exhibiton. Location was the best If i compare it to my previous stayals in Amsterdam, Rembrandtplein is the best avenue you can hang out and relax. Rooms are comfortable and silence, although it`s just in Rembrandtplein there was no voice at all.
They provided taxi service both for our departure and arrival.. Only problem were receptioners whom forgot our taxi reservation. But they handled the situation good. Room Wifi was free but so slow, you should pay money to speed it up.

Room Tip: choose a room which looks to rembrandplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kerim Ufuk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Mr Kerim Ufuk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
It is great to hear that the location of the hotel was perfect for your business trip.

Recently we have upgraded the wifi acces in the hotel which should make the connection faster and easier to logg in.

Once again thank you for your time!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,624 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#252 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,536 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#115 of 374 in Amsterdam
126 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £104 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing