We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #122 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 January 2009

A modern hotel with nice interior, we stayed Monday to Friday and had no problems at all.

The room was spacious, clean and with everything you would expect. It was cleaned daily.

We had no problems with noise from the square, we were however on the top floor so this may have helped (along with the time of year)

The hotel is really well situated in the city with a very central location, and a tram stop right outside. It is within a 15 - 20 mins walk of all the main attractions.

The only thing that was a slight negative was that you had to take a walk across the square to the sister hotel for breakfast. However this was literally a minute or so and a bit of fresh air in the morning is always good!

The staff were helpful and polite and allowed us to check in early due to the cold weather and held our bags until late on the day of our departure.

Overall we were really pleased that we had chosen this hotel and would definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2008

NH Caransa is a modern looking hotel with stylish interior and friendly service. We stayed there at a Saturday night which wasn't a good idea because we could hear the beats from the nearby club so hard that we even could recognize which songs they played. So unless you go partying yourself during the night, don't stay at this hotel at a Saturday or Friday evening.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bartoncls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We got to the hotel was told we could not use our debit card and had to leave a cah deposit of 50 euros which wasnt a problem, then when we came to book out (after a terrible night of riot police and noise) we were given back 57 euros, which we assumed was the room rate had gone down. We got back home the next day to a telephone call telling us they had made a mistake and they had given us 8 euros too much which was fair enough and agreed for them to use the debit card that was refused and couldn't be used in the hotel the day before they could now use. when we booked the hotel we booked it for £73 when we looked at our account they had taken £103. we will never use this chain of hotels again, we had booked on a non-refundable price so we can not understand how they can change the price now and 8 euros does not account for this discrepency.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Just a short weekend stay, turned up early and although the room wasn't ready they stored our luggage for us and when we returned had moved us down a couple of floors, not sure if it was an upgrade but it was a nice room, very clean. Comfortable beds with four choices of pillow, large bathroom. Staff were very polite and helpful. Would have scored excellent had it not been for the noise. Something I was aware of because of the proximity of nightclubs in Rembrant Square. Great location though in the heart of Amsterdam, within 10-20 minutes walking distance of virtually all attractions. So if you are a heavy sleeper or just out partying all night then this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lillibrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We have stayed at NH Hotels in the past and have never been disappointed. The NH Caransa was nice as well and they were offering a special to upgrade to a room that overlooked the square for 30 euro a night. Our room was very spacious with a king size bed (two twins together). We had no complaints about the hotel at all but per previous reviews, please be aware that it is very noisy in Rembrandtsplein. There are two clubs next door that close around 3AM and then folks are out and about in the streets until around 5AM. If you are a light sleeper as I am bring really good earplugs, otherwise you'll be up all night.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a week and left having a positive opinion for the hotel and its stuff. It's true everybody was friendly, eager to help with every small or big problem that appeared always smiling. But when my 13 months daughter started bearing marks on her body, I couldn't believe that the diagnose would be: flea's bites, from the mattres or the carpet.
If you can't be sure for your children's health in a 3 star hotel in one of the most popular cities in Europe today, where can you be? There is no excuse for that, as items that are destined to be used by babes should be sterlized.
Shame on everybody responsible for that.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tsatsuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

It was a very well located hotel and the room was nice as well..

We were debating between Park and NH. I am glad we chose NH. Though Park is located just opposite the train station, but the area was extremely noisy and unpleasant.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank shiulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,603 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#245 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#138 of 372 in Amsterdam
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £106 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing