We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location... charming hotel”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #86 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The location of this hotel can not be better. The staff tended to our every need. Our room was large and comfortable... very good value for the money. There is a nice restaurant and bar attached... a great option if it's rainy or cold. Breakfast, if you choose to stay, is very good. There's a computer in the lobby free for all to use.

Room Tip: Go look at the rooms before you choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Five stars for location but two for rooms. We were given a very small room with twin beds pushed together. On request we were upgraded and were happy to pay the extra. Still with twin beds but more space. Beds are uncomfortable. Breakfast is very expensive. Far better to walk around the corner for continental breakfast at less than half the cost. In a nutshell a below average hotel in an excellent location. Certainly not worth the four stars posted at the entrance.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PilgrimsRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Me and my best friend stayed here for 3 nights! We are both 26 years old and were utterly overwhelmed as to how attentive the staff were! They couldn't do enough for you and even there waiting to open the lift door when you were leaving and coming!! Location is perfect and rooms lovely-especially the shower! All in all a very enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rushworth1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel was right in the centre and very close to everything we wanted to do. The room was very nice and the staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast was very good and the hotel bar was also very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had a great weekend in this hotel. Perfect location just off Dam Square. Great breakfast and plenty to choose from. Also included a free trip to the Diamond factory which was very interesting. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: For family or group of friends Room 125 is perfect size for 4. Enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Annemarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel when in Amsterdam in January. We where first given a little poky room for 2 with a nice view but after getting myself locked in the on suite on the first night I wasn't too impressed. The chef had to get me out with some sort of chisel after the lock on the door broke when I shut it!
Thankfully the hotel staff were very apologetic and upgraded us to the honeymoon suite!
It was a lovely big room with big beams on the ceiling with a massive Jacuzzi in the on suite, fridge and a seating area. We also had a little bit of a view of the church over the road!
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as we looked at the prices and thought it was massively over priced for what it was.
Everything went smoothly after this incident and I would suggest to stay here if you are here for 1 - 5 days.
The location is amazing, with it being a stone throw away from the Dam Square and right next to a big supermarket its a great location for all.

Room Tip: Do not get locked in the on suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel is beautifully decorated, modern but with historic references throughout. The room was clean and well furnished. The restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was superb, our waiter was very friendly and spoilt us! Room service also excellent. I only marked down to 4* as reception staff member was a little curt on our arrival and did not explain how some of the hotel ran to our understanding. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank HOLLYOHSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#60 of 373 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £100 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing