We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our door was being renovated”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #92 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A few days ago I came back from Amsterdam, I stayed at the hotel Die Port van Cleve. I think that hotel is adequate 4 stars. Room 525 was standard, bathroom with tub and shower, soap, shampoo. Street off. There was a kettle, tea, coffee, sugar, creamer. LCD was new, but only one English tv channel BBC worked. There were German, Dutch TV channels.
We did not book breakfast because it is quite expensive - 19 euros, but if you pre-book breakfast it costs 15 euros.
Once we returned in the afternoon and saw that our door was being renovated. Lock was completely replaced by new because the old lock did not close automatically. The work was done quickly and efficiently.
On arriving we were asked to pay a deposit of 100 euros and city taxes, for 5 nights it was about the 27 euros. When checking out, I gave a receipt and my deposit was given me back. I asked to print my boarding passes and the receptionist helped me.

Room Tip: Ask for room street off. There are many transport near this hotel. Nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadezda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for a Hen Party in March, location fab, a 10 minute walk from Central Station and just across from Dam Square with a tram stop right outside - and renowned Supperclub literally a couple of miutes walk away!

The rooms we had were for 3 adults and were a really decent size with double fold out sofa for 3 person, hairdryers were a no go though, so definitely bring your own. And we had to be moved to an internal room as the traffic noise at the back of the hotel (we were on the 1st floor initially) was so bad it kept us awake all night on the first night.

Staff were really helpful and friendly, good to book trips through hotel concierge as proved a little cheaper and cut queues. Breakfast was fab (included in price).

All in all a decent hotel, really well located - would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We decided to pay more for a better hotel in a desirable location and we definitely made the right choice. The hotel was just behind Dam square so very close to plenty of attractions with a tram stop just outside. In the evenings we could wander around central Amsterdam and there were plenty of places to eat and drink. Our room was small but comfortable with everything we needed, we were out all day and part of every evening so it was really only to wash and sleep in. The concierge staff and receptionists couldn't have been more helpful or polite and the breakfast spread was amazing with little changes every day. We ate our breakfast overlooking the rear of the Royal Palace. Our only issue was the room was a little warm for us even when we turned the heating right down but that would not stop us going there again in a flash.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lankylass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We enjoyed our first trip to Amsterdam at de Port Van Cleve. Excellent location by the Palace & Dam Square. Old world charm about the hotel's dining rooms & bar. Staff helpful and attentive. Room 501 overlooks the university at the back. Quite quiet on 5th floor. Paid extra for a bigger room but no extra furniture to fill it. Basic small table & chairs. Foam mattresses on the beds dipped in the middle. Extra top-up mattress was badly stained & a plastic sheet made for an uncomfortably hot night. We thought 19.50E each for breakfast was expensive. Instead ate over the road @ Milleys bakers. Yum. Martin looked after us very well indeed when we ate in the bar one evening. Would choose another hotel on next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location,close to Central Station,a four euro single trip,buy from the ticket machines it's cheaper. Breakfast spread excellant,something for everyone. The coffee machines were a bit tempremental though. Nice room,121, with a super view. On two levels,small fridge. Bed was a wee bit on the hard side. No traffic noise even though we were at the front. Well glazed.

Room Tip: Room 121,great view,quiet,on two levels,nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topcattcracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and it was fantastic. Hotel was in excellent location of being close to the main attractions and being a short walk away from dam square was brilliant. Staff we're lovely and couldn't help you enough very attentive. When we plan a trip back to Amsterdam Die Port Van Cleve is the place we will stay :) loved every minute

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with friendly staff and kind service, good rooms with a nice bathroom and very clean, and the ideal place to tour Amsterdam
It also has a nice bar! The breakfast is very nice and plenty.
Super hotel.centraal gelegen en ideaal o Amsterdam te verkennen

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philippe_the_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
679 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £120 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing