We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mooi”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #92 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a neat place this was!
Loved our room. We could sit every morning and look out of the window and have our breakfast.
Loved the Delft theme of the room.
Was delightful to relax in the deep bath every night too.
Very central to everything.
Staff were fabulous, always helpful, and I had the Rookwurst and Sauerkraut meal there too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel so welcome, and went that extra mile to ensure our stay was terrific. Jose (receptionist) and Karim (concierge) should be mentioned as they satisfied every question we had. The cleanliness the hotel was excellent and our room was completed each day to a high standard, and there was not an area I felt could be bettered.
The Royal Palace and Dam Square are within 100 yards of the hotel, and with the holiday celebrations in full swing we had a ball, so much so, that it definitely is one that I will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: The trip was to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we made sure that the hotel knew it was, so p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My fiancé and I decided to book this last minute and we couldn't have asked for a better location! Just a few moments from Dam Square/Shops/Anne Frank. The staff were really helpful and the free Wifi was a lifesaver when our phones couldn't get a signal. The only downside was that the water was off for a little bit of our day but by the time we got back to our room it was fixed! The room was really clean and the shower was good. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darahgna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is excellently placed for many attractions, Anne Frank House is less than 10 minutes away, Dam Square is on the doorstep. The hotel has a tram stop right outside that servers a main route directly to the Museum Quarter, fast and regular service.
The breakfasts were quite good, we went with it included , and it set us up for the day. The rooms were a little quirky, but clean and adequate for our needs. It was a little noisy at night, we were on the side, so I'm not sure how it would have been at the front.
The staff are excellent. The batman in the hotel bar was excellent and really helped us with useful tips for restaurants, travel etc. and the Concierge was wonderful too.
I would stay at the hotel again as it is so well placed for Central Station ( 8 minutes away towing a case) and is surrounded by so much to see. It is away from the red light district too, is great for families.

Room Tip: Go for a side room or one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My daughter and I got rooms here at the last minute and could not believe our luck in getting a wonderful, quite room. Everything about this hotel fits our needs. Clean, safe, updated, good size rooms and a good price. I have paid more for less. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is perfect nothing is more than a 10 min walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMH923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of the is excellent, as it is located right behind the Dam Square and conveniently with easy access to public transport, with the tram and bus stop being just in front of hotel. We stayed here from 3rd-6th April and were given room 605 which is actually a suite therefore the room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. During our stay here we experienced wonderful Dutch hospitality; the staffs are ever friendly and really very helpful which made our stay totally pleasant. Places to eat around the hotel is plentiful, with choices ranging from traditional Dutch to fast food to choose from, which is also the reason why we didn't try out the hotel restaurant but we did try 'Jenever' at the hotel bar, Bar-Bodega-Blauwe-Parade. The bar is decorated with delft blue tile fresco which adds a classy touch to the hotel environment, and we had the ever friendly bartender explaining to us the variety of 'Jenever' available. Overall, this hotel is highly recommended and this would definitely be the hotel of my choice in Amsterdam the next time around.

Room Tip: If possible try to request for rooms in Level 6 but it is subject to availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed long weekend 4th-7th April - Room 324 - very clean, comfortable bed - only fault with room is that it was a bit dark due to small, low window but this was probably due to design of older building - clean hotel and nice welcome at reception and always greeted when you arrived back into hotel or came from your room. Didn't eat in hotel as there are lots of places to eat in Amsterdam but the bar was nice and barman was friendly. Overall lovely hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 324 looked out onto main street at front of hotel and was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakwood-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
678 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £121 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing