We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect city location great value for money!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #104 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect city location great value for money!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with two of my friends and we were not disappointed. Great location, great staff and a great breakfast buffet! The quality is fantastic room was rather spacious with large bathroom and great views over the city streets. Perfect for business or pleasure travellers alike. Very highly recommended!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    717
    334
    128
    94
See reviews for
210
850
75
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Die Port van Cleve is located in a great part of town. We were able to walk to and from the train station, as well as Dam Square, and the Red Light District. The front of house staff were helpful, but my friend and I were a bit confused about the cleaning services. The first day we didn't want our room cleaned and put the "do not disturb" sign up, but it was cleaned anyways. Then, our trash was never emptied and was overflowing by the end of our four day trip.

Besides that, the hotel is also near two popular landmarks and off the tram, which makes it easy to locate on the map. A great area to wander is behind the hotel where you can a liquor store, cafe/bar, cheese and chocolate stores. It's also located close to the Anne Frank House and Royal Church which are two very popular destinations.

Overall my friend and I (two women) agreed it was a great stay for the cost and we both felt safe staying in the area and had a wonderful time in the city. The location was the best part, and of course the history of the hotel is impressive (even mentioned in the Heineken Experience).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjvajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great hotel, brilliant location. Staff very friendly and helpful. When they realised it was a birthday group they brought champagne to my room, and also gave all 8 of us a drink on the house. Rooms cleaned every day. Would definately stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small, rooms with a few steps down are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soniad611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times as it's in a great central location. The staff are always very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are noisy on street side so best to get one at the back of the hotel. The restaurant is very good and offer up some interesting Dutch options I have never seen elsewhere. The rooms at the back are quiet and very clean. This hotel is easily reached from the Central Station (about 15 minutes) and across the street from the Royal Palace and many other attractions. Not the cheapest in Amsterdam but excellent location makes up for it.

Room Tip: Good business centre in the hotel for emails, photocopying services, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this very good hotel. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The room was one of their excellent business suites and it gave us all we needed (their website claimed 'has wonderful views over the city' but if you wish to book one of these just make sure it does because ours was only on 1st floor and didn't). Excellent location opposite the palace and the New Church, just over the road from Dam Square. Frequent trams right outside, but easy walking distance to many of the major attractions of Amsterdam. Breakfast was good quality and as much as anyone could want. We didn't try the restaurant as there were many charming pavement cafe's on the canals nearby. If revisiting Amsterdam we would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

the location could not be better. Within 15-20 min walk is the Anne Frank House, the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, the Central Station, any number of canal tours, and scores of other things to do and see. The staff was friendly. The rooms have elevator access and private baths (not to be taken for granted in Amsterdam). It is clean with friendly service and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Agree with Linda C - we had considered switching to room with a double bed instead of two twins side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights. The room was very clean, very quiet, the service was excelent and the breakfast had almost everything! The location of the hotel is just perfect. Only 30meters from Dam square, 100m away from the famous "Red District".. We recommend it whith no second thougts...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing