We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #88 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location for all of Amsterdams sights and attractions. The room we stayed in 426 was really nice, very clean and comfortable. Safe, fridge, hairdryer all included no hidden extras.
We didnt eat or drink at this hotel as there are too many restaurants and bars very close so I cant comment on this. We would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinnkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Good quality hotel in easy walking distance of Amsterdam Centraal station and all main sights within the canal rings

Rooms are small but this is fairly typical of most hotels in the big cities, good use is made of the space available and the rooms are clean and have most amenities you could want (tea/coffee, safe, free wi-fi and small refrigerator).

Only challenges I found were the odd siting of the toilet roll holder which made for a bit of a stretch!

Also the breakfast which I thought expensive at 19.50 Euro per person for what it is but then this pricing may well be in line with what other hotels charge in Amsterdam.

Overall the staff speak a variety of languages and is very helpful and friendly and therefore would have no issue recommending this hotel for all other couples.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berkstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is opposite the Nieuwe Kirke but has trams and traffic running right past it. If you're at the front you'll get the views - and the noise.

The room I had was compact, clean and comfortable and was at the back of the hotel. For this location the price was good, except in the bar. Avoid and get great beer somewhere else.

Overall, however, I'd stay here again when I'm next in Amsterdam but would make sure I got a room away from the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a weekend stay here from Friday until Sunday. Room was superb, plenty big enough for all three of us complete with small fridge, television and a lovely large bathroom. Room was clean, tidy, roomy and the air conditioning was a saviour in the 27 degree temperature we encountered on our stay. Breakfast was 1st class with plenty of choice for all tastes, cooked breakfast, continental, nice selection of meats, cheeses and fresh fruit. Staff was more than accomodating and helpful to us throughout our stay. Location was perfect set on the main road just across from Dam Square, which made it easy to find when we came out of the station and for us to get about. Heard no noise at all from the main road in the evening,

Definately recommend this hotel for a perfect, hassle free stay in the "Dam".

Room Tip: If you want a nice sized room for family or three adults, then ask for 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babyeaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a lovely little hotel, and very centrally based. Train station about a 7 minute walk, and the trams stop directly outside. Dam square is right on your doorstep too. We did not eat in the restaurant, as there are so many little bars and restaurants along the pretty canals to choose from. The room was clean, and ample, with private bathroom. The staff are incredibly friendly and you only have to let them know your not happy. We however were very happy, with the hotel. We do not need a large room, just a base that is clean with great staff and thats what we got. Loved everything about this hotel. Breakfast has something for everyone, fruit, cooked, cereals etc. Even though this is right on top of the tourist areas, i found this reasonably quiet. Would definitely return to Amsterdam and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fowlerclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

You can walk to the hotel from centraal station with wheeled luggage. A taxi driver seemed reluctant to take us! The central location means that many tourist sights are easy to get to and trams pass the door for more distant visits. The room was small but well equipped, clean quiet.
The full restaurant menu was available in the bar midweek. Food was interesting and good quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel with two of my friends and we were not disappointed. Great location, great staff and a great breakfast buffet! The quality is fantastic room was rather spacious with large bathroom and great views over the city streets. Perfect for business or pleasure travellers alike. Very highly recommended!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 374 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#93 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,093 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £108 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing