We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #96 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hampstead, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Very close to everything, next to Magna Mall and just one building across the street is the Dam Square. The restaurants, shops and bars are so close. There is a bar downstairs in the hotel. Since we were here for a layover, we just wanted a place to shower, get something to eat and take a bit of site-seeing. Due to the closeness of the hotel we were able to do all that in a very little time. The shuttle is not free, and you have to wait if you decide to take the hotel shuttle and it's a long wait to get here. We decided to take a taxi since we did not have a lot of time. It cost us about 50 euros. If you want to take the train from the airport, you can also do, since there is a stop right at the front of this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Merlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    739
    341
    130
    97
See reviews for
220
891
76
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The location is neer Dam square, the reception are very nice and willing to recommend on attractions.I didn't try the hotel's restorant or pub. The room was very small and dark even if you turn on all of the lights. The bathroom had a bad smell of moss.the wifi is slow even at the small hours of the night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Riki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and thought it was amazing. We were given a room at the back of the hotel on the first floor. Although it was down a very narrow staircase I'm sure they would move you if this was going to be a problem - it wasn't for us. The hotel was spotlessly clean including the room and bathroom and the housekeeping every the morning was efficient.
We really enjoyed the breakfast each morning - there was a great supply of juices, cooked breakfast, continental and fruit whatever time of the morning you arrived.

There is only 2 tiny things we would improve and that's the speed of the WiFi (Very slow at certain times of day, even mid morning strangely although speed was much better in reception) and the hairdryer! Its a fixed thing in the bathroom with one speed - leading me to have some interesting hair days!

All in all a lovely stay and we would definitely come back if we were to come to Amsterdam again. Thanks to the staff as well who were very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank beanstalkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel advertised free Wifi but it only worked sometimes in my room. I complained to the desk several times but was told that IT said it was working despite my not being able to connect in my room. Staff at the front desk suggested I should use the internet in the lobby as the signal was stronger there. Not an acceptable solution given I have to respond to 50+ emails per day!

If you need to be connected, I would give this hotel a miss! I spent more than 2 hours per day trying to get connected on the internet without success.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here recently and i can't fault it. Our room was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfy. The best selling point is the location - it's so central.

Recommendations: the awesome juice bar on the street opposite, and the black bike hire place on the same street as the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneYearAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location for all of Amsterdams sights and attractions. The room we stayed in 426 was really nice, very clean and comfortable. Safe, fridge, hairdryer all included no hidden extras.
We didnt eat or drink at this hotel as there are too many restaurants and bars very close so I cant comment on this. We would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinnkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Good quality hotel in easy walking distance of Amsterdam Centraal station and all main sights within the canal rings

Rooms are small but this is fairly typical of most hotels in the big cities, good use is made of the space available and the rooms are clean and have most amenities you could want (tea/coffee, safe, free wi-fi and small refrigerator).

Only challenges I found were the odd siting of the toilet roll holder which made for a bit of a stretch!

Also the breakfast which I thought expensive at 19.50 Euro per person for what it is but then this pricing may well be in line with what other hotels charge in Amsterdam.

Overall the staff speak a variety of languages and is very helpful and friendly and therefore would have no issue recommending this hotel for all other couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 369 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing