We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional hotel”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #88 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for three nights as part of a pre-booked package with BA. The location is perfect - just across the road from Dam Square, with the quieter Jordaan area just behind it, great for strolling around. The hotel has a traditional feel, with Delft tiling and dark wood, and has a bar, restaurant and coffee shop that serves wonderful warm Dutch apple cake. Our room was on the first floor at the front, and I was a bit concerned about the noise of the trams, but it was fully double-glazed, so no problem. The room was charming, with plenty of storage space (I asked for more coat hangers), a safe, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and air conditioning. The shower is just a 'mixer' type and the bath has no rubber mat and is quite deep, which made getting in and out a bit problematic if, like me, you're a bit unsteady. I'm sure the friendly and helpful staff would supply a mat, if asked. I advise bringing your own hairdryer, as this is a wall-mounted bathroom one, not brilliant. We had a problem with the basin plug, I filled in a card to hang on the door in the morning and it was fixed by the time we returned in the afternoon.

Try to get a deal that include breakfast, as it's excellent, with plenty of the usual choices, plus waffles, pancakes etc. Otherwise it's a bit expensive at 19.50 euros each. We didn't eat in the restaurant as there are so many places nearby, but the menu looked interesting!

The staff were particularly friendly and helpful (lots of football banter!) and we would definitely return to this little gem.

Room Tip: Rooms 121 and 122 on the first floor are a good size and overlooked the main street if you like some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshwanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location and price. Close to grocery store and all main attractions. Room small but comfortable. Use valet parking! No parking anywhere. Bar and restaurant on the main floor. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very close to everything, next to Magna Mall and just one building across the street is the Dam Square. The restaurants, shops and bars are so close. There is a bar downstairs in the hotel. Since we were here for a layover, we just wanted a place to shower, get something to eat and take a bit of site-seeing. Due to the closeness of the hotel we were able to do all that in a very little time. The shuttle is not free, and you have to wait if you decide to take the hotel shuttle and it's a long wait to get here. We decided to take a taxi since we did not have a lot of time. It cost us about 50 euros. If you want to take the train from the airport, you can also do, since there is a stop right at the front of this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Merlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The location is neer Dam square, the reception are very nice and willing to recommend on attractions.I didn't try the hotel's restorant or pub. The room was very small and dark even if you turn on all of the lights. The bathroom had a bad smell of moss.the wifi is slow even at the small hours of the night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Riki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and thought it was amazing. We were given a room at the back of the hotel on the first floor. Although it was down a very narrow staircase I'm sure they would move you if this was going to be a problem - it wasn't for us. The hotel was spotlessly clean including the room and bathroom and the housekeeping every the morning was efficient.
We really enjoyed the breakfast each morning - there was a great supply of juices, cooked breakfast, continental and fruit whatever time of the morning you arrived.

There is only 2 tiny things we would improve and that's the speed of the WiFi (Very slow at certain times of day, even mid morning strangely although speed was much better in reception) and the hairdryer! Its a fixed thing in the bathroom with one speed - leading me to have some interesting hair days!

All in all a lovely stay and we would definitely come back if we were to come to Amsterdam again. Thanks to the staff as well who were very friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank beanstalkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel advertised free Wifi but it only worked sometimes in my room. I complained to the desk several times but was told that IT said it was working despite my not being able to connect in my room. Staff at the front desk suggested I should use the internet in the lobby as the signal was stronger there. Not an acceptable solution given I have to respond to 50+ emails per day!

If you need to be connected, I would give this hotel a miss! I spent more than 2 hours per day trying to get connected on the internet without success.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here recently and i can't fault it. Our room was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfy. The best selling point is the location - it's so central.

Recommendations: the awesome juice bar on the street opposite, and the black bike hire place on the same street as the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneYearAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#54 of 376 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#90 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,217 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#20 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £116 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing