We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staying in Amsterdam”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #104 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely staying in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 2 nights in this great hotel in Amsterdam. It is placed in the fully centre of the town: closed to the Central Station and in front of Dam Plaza. Even though its position is in the middle of Amsterdam life, the room was quite. Our room was wide, extremely cleaned and comfortable.
We warmly suggest Die Port van Cleve to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esc014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    724
    336
    130
    94
See reviews for
212
862
75
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Located just behind Dam square so a great location! Very friendly staff . Room was clean and comfortable. Bed very comfortable! Even found English films on TV ! Will definitely visit Amsterdam again and stay at this hotel. Great city , lovely people!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott21529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Small and dated rooms but clean and comfortable. Good location close to Dam Square and tram service past the front door. Reasonable rates, friendly staff, a supermarket just up the road. We were more than happy with this hotel although the fridge didn't work.

Room Tip: Get an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a total of nine days in Amsterdam and if I was to return I'd absolutely stay here again, the staff was beyond fantastic the conceige was a true credit to the Hotel.The hotel was right bang in the middle of the famous Damn square and any city information we needed the Hotel staff went out of their way to help us out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordfocus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in this hotel and had a great stay ,you are right next too dam square and many attractions and tram service right outside we could here the trams at night but I personally loved this as it added to the ambiance the hotel is perfectly clean and has a beautiful lobby area ,I would defiantly recommend this hotel the price is great the beds are very comfortable

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaeldjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a city break from London. Unfortunately for us, it rained more in Amsterdam than it did in London that weekend, but we enjoyed the city despite the weather. The hotel was beautiful. It had new amenities without losing its classic charm. We enjoyed the jacuzzi in our room and the hand painted mugs. The service was wonderful and the front desk were really helpful in terms of sites to see and places to eat. The location is fantastic as it sits across from the central square. An absolute gem.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Let's start with due to my stupidity I ended up staying at the Die Port van Cleve because I booked another hotel for the wrong dates!!!!! :(

So I was in a bad mood about losing out on £€$ already!

All that changed when I arrived at the Die Port van Cleve.

Staff on arrival were friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Room was clean, comfortable and light. Bed was very comfortable and the best part were the super heavy, dark curtains which kept the room completely dark in the mornings!! ahh sleep in!!

Bathroom was small but adequate, shower with bathtub and plenty of towels and cloths in bathroom.

There is a gorgeous and comfortable lounge down stair if you'd like a quite space and a lounge chair and also a nice bar and Restaurant down stairs.
Room service available till 11pm

Location of this hotel is fantastic. With many sights, shopping districts, great cafés and restaurants and canals with in short walking distance.

The central train station is maybe 15-20 minutes walking (not hard walk, but can be lots if people as you get closer to the station)
Be careful of pickpockets and thieves near this area too! We were fine but station staff had warned us as we got there.

Free wifi is an absolute bonus when traveling!!

Would be more than happy to stay at this hotel, turns out stuffing up my booking wasn't that bad as I thought!!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room, which overlooked the Main Street.... Great people watching when your looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandyEldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing