We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #103 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing hotel, not a 4 star ever, very old and run down, terrible price for breakfast, on the plus side it is in perfect location but 3 others hotels within 1 minute walk (ask me) would not return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    723
    336
    130
    94
See reviews for
212
862
75
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the city. It's about a 15 minute walk from the train station, and is situated just of Dam square. We stayed when there was a fun fair at Dam square, which was very noisy and were worried it would keep us awake at night with the hotel being so close, but we couldn't hear a thing! The room was clean, although the beds were uncomfortably soft. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom, which was also very clean. We didn't eat at the hotel, there's a grocery store about a 2 min walk away, where we bought pastries and there was a small fridge in the room which was very useful to have. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights, mid week and was not disappointed. We walked, about 15 minutes, to the Die Port from the main station. The hotel is opposite Dam Square and is ideally situated for restaurants and trams.
We arrived about 11am and the hotel staff stored our luggage whilst we picked up the tour bus outside the hotel - which is a good way to explore the city! Checking in later was efficient, we had emailed and requested two rooms next to each other as we have two teenagers, the unexpected bonus was adjoining rooms overlooking the back of the hotel. Tea making facilities and a mini fridge is always useful.We didn't eat in the hotel as we wanted to try different restaurants locally. The hotel rooms were not noisy, the beds were comfortable and our rooms cleaned to a high standard. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Email hotel directly as we found the staff responded to our request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was very disappointed with this hotel. The room was dark and dingy. Plastic glasses glasses in the bathroom and threadbare towels ( neither if which I would expect in a four star hotel). The was bed uncomfortable and sloped from one side and there was only one pillow pp with one extra in the wardrobe.
The staff were not very friendly - we were not even given a map of the city when we checked in.
The only good points were the location and free wifi. However I would not stay here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentofte
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really good location as you can walk to most sites from here. Maybe a tram ride to the museums. Staff very helpful, hotel very clean, rooms a bit small but even though you are right in the centre noise was not an issue. Bar and breakfast were good, really nice old style decorations in the hotel. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We choose this hotel for its location which was great. About a 10 minute walk from the station but also has a busy tram and bus route outside for helping to get about. Only across the road from dam square and near bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel is ideally located.

We arrived at 10am but understandably couldn't get to our room. They happily kept our bag for us and did the same on the last day so we could see the sites.

Our room was a little pokey and not much to it. However the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Is recommend bringing your own toiletries as while they are provided they as basic.

We booked breakfast at the hotel which was a huge disappointment. For 16 euro I expected more than a basic self service buffet. Food was not replaced when empty and the selection was not as good as other hotels I've stayed in on the continent. We passed bars with cheaper and more exciting breakfasts.

On the whole I wouldn't stay again but it wasn't bad. Just very average

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsclose85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 2 nights in this great hotel in Amsterdam. It is placed in the fully centre of the town: closed to the Central Station and in front of Dam Plaza. Even though its position is in the middle of Amsterdam life, the room was quite. Our room was wide, extremely cleaned and comfortable.
We warmly suggest Die Port van Cleve to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esc014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing