We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but expected more of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #71 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the exceptionally friendly staff. Otherwise I wasn't bowled over by it. The receptionist told me that it was an art deco hotel but not much of this had been preserved, or looked after in the last renovation of the lobby area. The lobby is large and should be very impressive but the floor tiles are like in a municipal bathroom and the reception desk and decor are very uninspiring. My room, on the first floor, while perfectly clean and well appointed, was rather small, dark and musty.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 3,250 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We booked into a 4* hotel online and turned up to find something that more resembled a hostel. It was out first trip to Amsterdam and we didn’t know the area at all but after a walk around on the first day we came across this hotel and had a drink in the bar, they had a room available for the three nights we were visiting and we booked immediately. The room was lovely and excellent value for money, the staff were friendly and professional and the breakfast was exceptional. They made what could have been a terrible experience onto a brilliant break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kealy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Brilliant! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. The Amsterdam American Hotel has welcomed us on numerous occasions and never disappoints. Fantastic location, quality throughout, warm greetings. And if you're lucky enough to get a balcony (not many hotels in Amsterdam have them) you can get canal and street views. Thanks again for the great room and balcony, just perfect for Queens Day. Can't wait for our next visit.
ps. The beds are great!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business related travel and didn't want to leave. Absolutely delighted. Want to go back with my whole family. Such a European feel, beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Okay, I haven't stayed at this hotel yet. I just booked for 2 nights in May and was unable to see my reservation online due to the special package booked. I reached out to their reservations department and was helped by Samantha.

If Samantha is an example of how this hotel is operated, I cannot wait for my visit.

Helpful and courteous....

They now have alot to live up to as she's set the bar very high.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Versailles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Great Lication - Clean - Worth To Stay

Really nice & kind stuff...
Free Internet...

I will recomand this hotel and come again...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBSerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

In my opinion, this is certainly and easily one of the best hotels in the city. I have only stayed here once, but I was very impressed. The location, first of all, is the very best in the city...being right there off Leidseplein. The hotel is gorgeous, both in and out. The services and amenities are outstanding. The employees have always been almost overly helpful, very good staff. It's a bit on the pricey side by most peoples standards, but that's to be expected from a hotel of this echelon and caliber. If it's within your budget to stay here, then I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanVlerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#74 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,014 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#116 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,120 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 373 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing