We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always delivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #71 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 June 2012

3rd stay there in recent times this time with my wife. location is fantastic, staff are always great and we also had a lovely room with a canal view and balcony which we paid a litlte extra for to secure. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable, clean and the beds are always very comfortable. Will be back again. Also great bar with terrace overlooking a fountain. good place to start your night.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a canal view. worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen67London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 3,251 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

best location in town 3 trams stop almost at your door canal boats at your door airport bus right outside now the room we stayed in was 540 was a long narrow room with windows that did not open 3 feet above my head it did have a/c the standard bed was against the wall very crowded for 2 people the place was clean and the water was hot would stay there again but in a different room

Room Tip: check the room when you book call them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tobytwoNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Me and my friend stayed at Amsterdam American Hotel last month and we enjoyed the stay. Our room was facing the canal with a balcony to sit. The hotel staff was friendly and was willing to help us whenever we approached them. This historic hotel was blended to the new age and it was located right at the center of Leidseplein.

My special thanks to Samantha from the Banquet / reservation team who took note of all our request and ensured they met all those requests.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 5th floor facing the canal are real nice place to stay !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chennaijohnbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The rooms were exactly as advertised in the brochure, the beds very comfortable, hotel & rooms very clean. Ok, we had a view of other rooms, but we only went there to shower & sleep so what the heck!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsdallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I rather suspect as a single female of a certain age I was given the worst room in the hotel on the first night looking into an inner courtyard onto a blank wall. It was dark even with all the inadequate lights on. Then I found the wifi service would not work so all in all it was not a good start. However when I complained the following morning the charming concierge moved me to a suite with its own balcony overlooking two canals for which I paid 20 euros less than the first night. I suspect I was overcompensated for the disaster of the first night because on the third occasion I stayed ther ( a month later) I had an adequate but unexciting room overlooking the tramline.

I found all the hotel staff very helpful but felt the staff in the wonderful art nouveau dining room could lift their game. So all in all I would say if you get the right room, some help from the concierge, and manage to attract a waiter in the dining room you will have a lovely stay in this heritage listed hotel. However, the standard of rooms varies incredibly so make sure you ask for one overlooking the canal and if you aren't happy then complain.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location near to Leidseplein with its bars and on a beautiful canal. Try to Avoid getting a room on the Leidseplein side unless you plan to drink and party into the early hours of the morning.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Amsterdam hotels always seem to be expensive, although the Eden Amsterdam American is good value some of the rooms and certainly the one I stayed in was small and a little aged.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

As a young professional couple travelling around europe you want to spend a bit more money but not pay ridiculous amounts of money. The American Hotel was a great example of value for money. Amazing building, really helpful and friendly service, and we were speechless at how great the breakfast/restaurant room is with the art deco bar and decorations making it a real experience. The breakfast had variety and the food was fresh. Not the cheapest breakfast at 15 euros a head but it's worth trying it at least once. I'd recommend this hotel for couples who want to know the city and party out but want a nice place to go back to.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view. or try to get a room with no view for as cheap as possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crom86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#74 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,015 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#116 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,120 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 373 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing