We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel at top location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #72 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel at top location”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We only slept here, we had no breakfast, but it felt like sleeping in my own bed. Need I say more? So the bed was very comfortable, the location is perfect (in the centre of Amsterdam) but without the noise. I can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mirjam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are happy to hear that our hotel was a "home-away-from-home". We hope to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    1,205
    409
    144
    70
See reviews for
348
1,459
185
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed in august and I was disappointed with the service, my flight arrived early and the receptionist did not allow me to chick in m she insisted that I wait until 3:00 p.m. , despite the fact that many rooms were available at the time (I checked that through the internet), I explained that hotels usually allow for early check in if rooms were available and that I am tired after a long flight, but the receptionist was completely uncooperative , almost rude, and uninterested in helping me. They believe that because of their central location they do not need to be nice to their customers. As to the room, the hotel is old and outdated , there are much better hotels in Amsterdam with better service and with the same price.

Room Tip: look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We regret that you perceived the service provided as unaccomodating. That certain rooms might be available, however can not be provided to the first waiting in line, has to do with the specific room type that was booked. The room type booked by you, unfortunately, was not ready before the guaranteed check-in at 15:00 hrs. The classical hotel is indeed old, 112 years old. The less contemporary rooms are scheduled for renovation this year. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had a bite to eat and cocktail at the bar here. The restaurant was closed so we went to the bar area which suited us much better. Its informal and has a nice menu to choose from even for a teen. We had satay and it was yummy and caesar salad - pretty good - and some very rich fried cheese stick! Great bar selection. Best cocktail I had in Europe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindastremmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to hear that you enjoyed our Bar Americain and its atmosphere. We hope to see you back. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, brilliant location, very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful hotel and feature water fountain outside. Rooms were very nice, clean with nice bathroom facilities. Not a bad word to say about it, highly recommend if you want to stay just outside Central Amsterdam, only a 15-20 minute walk to the centre. Amazing will definitely stay there again if we return to Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting.
It is very rewarding for the team to notice that you had such a satisfactory visit to Amsterdam and our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards to the beautiful Isle of Wight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel situated in a great location. Stayed here for my first time in Amsterdam. Room was ok, but small. Had a nice bathroom though. My room faced the Main Street, but heard very little of traffic outside. From here you can walk to many of the main attractions in Amsterdam. The hotel also have a cool bar, and serves a good breakfast. What more can you ask for...?

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thor1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Your last sentence wraps it up nicely! A great compliment for the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future.With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My first experience in a hotel located in Amsterdam. Amazing place. Amazing staff. An unforgettable place. Breakfast offers a big variety of options and the happy-hour at the bar is really good. I will certainly go back. And I can't wait for it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are happy that your visit to Amsterdam was so enjoyable. We hope to see you back. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I visited this hotel with my friends this christmas. Rooms arent that big but ok for a three day trip. Bathroom was very clean. Location was great close to many stores and everything is a walking distance it took us around 15-20 min walk to Dam Square but it was fine.

Room Tip: try choose a room with the fountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khadiga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and your review posting. We are glad to hear that you had a splendid Christmas period here in Amsterdam and in the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 367 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#57 of 367 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing