We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
American Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #77 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Nice centrally located in Amsterdam , historical building with some nice nostalgic touches . Rooms are pretty standard and where supprized with the size of the room considering an old City hotel. recommend this place for a nice weekend getaway

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank michaelstoesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy to hear that you had such a satisfactory experience. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 3,360 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here along with colleagues from 25th March for three nights. The hotel is in a good convenient location and its not a high class hotel but I consider it as a business hotel to be of quite good standard. My only real criticism is that since the last time I stayed the self service breakfast has now gone totally self service in that there is no longer even a tea/coffee service.
Although the breakfast is good and not very expensive I personally felt it a nuisance to go back and forth for drinks as well as food through a mix of tables where there is no easy route.
Other than that I consider it a very acceptable hotel and with generally good friendly staff.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in on the 5th floor is much larger than any I have stayed in on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bten124022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay, your review posting and constructive comment. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for three nights on our 10th anniversary. Never been to Amsterdam before and was made very welcome by the staff on arrival and during our stay. We enjoyed a complimentary drink in the palatial restaurant bar.
Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the canal.We would highly recommend staying here as it's very easy to get around due to the hotels location, and we will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your visit for your special occassion and your review posting. Good to hear that you will be returning, hopefully before your 20th anniversary. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

What a lovely hotel, the staff could not be nicer. There are parts of the hotel that does need a good lick of paint, however this would not put me off. The rooms were plenty big enough and we had a good view. Both in the bar and the restaurant the service was great. Hotel staff we also very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that you had such an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and the hotel. Hope to see you again soon. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam and would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel itself, especially the restaurant, is gorgeous, rooms very comfortable and staff so helpful. We found the location was also good, only about 5 mins from central station on the tram and close to shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting. Great to notice that you enjoyed your very first visit to Amsterdam. Your enthousiasm indicates that many visits will follow. We hope that we can be your hosts again upon future visits. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very good hotel located in a good spot. It's a 20minute walk from the station or you can get a cab. Very helpful staff, very clean hotel.
Never ate at hotel so can't comment on that. Would stay aga in

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. It is very rewarding to read that you would stay again and hope to see you doing that soon! With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Fascinating, art-deco structure, tastefully restored and extended. Location could not be better, for museums, theatres, royal palace, restaurants, posh and bargain shopping and public transport, including canal boat stops. Excellent room, breakfast and dinner, but dinner not cheap. Communications between staff could be improved, because restaurant manager was not aware we had booked B and B and, initially, asked us to pay for the breakfast. Generally, service was good, however. Well placed for a wide range of competitively priced restaurants, Dutch and of many other ethnic origins. Several tram routes stop in the square outside the hotel and, unlike in many continental cities, you can buy your ticket on the tram. Three different canal tours pick up opposite the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank John-of-Goring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit, review posting and recommendations. We hope that we may welcome you again upon your next visit to our capitol. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
The Manor Amsterdam
#59 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,935 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,160 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#108 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#81 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £117 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — American Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Hotel Amsterdam has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your American Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing