We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #75 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This American friendly hotel is very well located for an easy walk to many restaurants, museums, and the excellent tram system. The room was quite large by European standards but comparable in decor to a Holiday Inn. It was pricy by American standards ($300) but probably quite on par in Amsterdam which is a pricy place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review posting. You will be happy to hear that the decor described by you is up for renovation during this year. We hope to welcome you again for you to see the modifications. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    1,192
    405
    144
    70
See reviews for
345
1,439
185
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tourcoing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A very nice stay. My father with a wheelchair had a special room with a balcony and a pleasant view on the place. Thanks a lot for this nice touch.
The room 119, well thought.
Just one problem, the menu for the breakfast forgotten on the door !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank vero1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. It is good to hear that our multi-functional room 119 is so befitting for disabled guests. Your comment concerning breakfast menu was not entirely clear to us. Perhaps you can elaborate on that via e-mail. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
854 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is located almost directly on the Leidseplein with all its restaurants, bars and cafes. The Leidseplein is one of the busiest centers for nightlife in the city. Historically, the square was the end of the road from Leiden, and served as a parking lot for horse-drawn traffic.

The room was nice and bright with a view towards the channel. The room was quite large with to separate beds and quite some space. The room was also quite bright because of numerous windows, white walls and light wooden furniture. The bathroom was nice sized as well, but not modern. The hotel had several restaurants and bars – especially the bars turned out nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are pleased to read that you had such a pleasant stay. We hope that we may welcome you again in the future. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had visited Amsterdam before. This hotel probably has the best location, out room overlooking canal was large, clean and quiet. One hundred feet from entrance is a bus too and from airport that runs every 15 minutes. We forgot our cell phone in the room, and the front office was very helpful in assisting us in getting it returned by fed ex. I would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't get room facing onto square, would be great view but could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. As faith will have it, it was warm and sunny the day after your departure. Hopefully you have more favorable weather conditions upon your return to Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A first-class facility, with very helpful, personable staff all around. A very comfortable experience. The attached, famous Cafe is ornate and grand. Food there only acceptable.

Accessibility notes: The streetside stairs into the hotel can be circumvented if you're willing to use the lift they have for the baggage carts. Requires assistance to do that of course. The porters and concierge were eager to help, so really not an issue, just FYI. Otherwise access to our room on the 5th floor was stairless, provided you use a particular elevator. Same goes for access to the Cafe (and that also requires an attendant for access to a special behind-the-scenes elevator).

Walking around the Leidseplein is fine if you keep your 360° radar on. Motorbikes, bikes, trams, cars, pedestrians all vie for passage -- an astounding urban ballet.

To get there from Schipol we used the Connex "hotel shuttle" bus. Tickets are beyond arrivals #4 (far right as you exit bag claim). For return to the airport, I'd suggest a taxi. Connex lost our return reservation. The 197 bus would also be fine if you only have one not overly large suitcase.

Room Tip: Our 5th floor room was on the canal side, which is also the front of the hotel, i.e. same side as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank symbiont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We value your precise descriptions of the hotel, facilites, surroundings and transportation methods. We deem it a big help for fellow travellers. We hope to see you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Friendly barman served wines @ provided a bowl of nuts -- no extra charge for the nuts -- wines at a fair price -- comfortable bar -- good music played --- suited our taste -- mainly 60's & 70's.
Had a meal at this hotel on a previous trip -- likely to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forsyth322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. We are thankful that you choose our establsihment to enjoy some down time and are happy that you had such a relaxing experience. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I love the look of this hotel, the location is perfect as Leidesplein is my favourite part of Amsterdam and its where I always choose to stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and the staff friendly.
A little disappointed with breakfast as I don't really expect a hotel to run out of bread so I had no toast with my 19.50 euro breakfast, however I still will always choose to stay here rather than the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review posting and repeat visits. To reply to the header of your review: WE TOO! Our apologies for the omission at breakfast. We are proud to be your favorite domicle in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#60 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing