We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #76 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Delhi
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is great hotel in a great location. The service is very good, the rooms are well done up, the bar / restaurant is fabulous and the breakfast is amazing. The outside seating of the cafe / bar is really good. It is in the theater district and close to the Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum. There are other good restaurants and bars around. The bus and tram stops are right outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunitaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Your compact, though complete summary is very encouraging for the team and hopefully very helpful for fellow travellers. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    1,161
    396
    141
    69
See reviews for
335
1,392
182
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Amsterdam American Hotel was located in one of the best areas of Amsterdam in Leidesplein. Everything about the hotel was very high quality from the rooms, decor, and service. I cannot recall the front desk agent's name whom helped me check in but he was an absolute pleasure to deal with, he was not only helpful and resource but also extremely pleasant. The rooms are slightly small for the value but I believe that is typical for Dutch hotels and Dutch space in general. Overall my experience at Amsterdam American Hotel was a very good one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. The fact that some rooms are rather small, seems to depend on the age of the hotel (112 years old) rather than that it is typical Dutch. Please state your preference for a bigger room upon your next reservation. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

On our fourth trip to Amsterdam we thought we would give the American a try after drinking in the bar on previous trips. We weren't disappointed, check in was slick, the 2,5 and 7 trams stop right outside and the rooms were a decent size. The bathrooms were a little dates but still good quality. The grand cafe is beautiful and definitely a place to visit, although I wish they'd have not renovated the bar area. It's now a bit too contemporary whereas before it was more decadent.
Glad we tried it, will probably not stay again but only because there is so much choice and we will stay in a different area next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ninjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Of course we hope that you wil be our guest again after you have visited other colleagues upon your next visits to Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel celebrating our marriage. This is our fourth stay at this delightful hotel and it never fails to impress. The location is perfect for sightseeing and nightlife. We stayed in a lovely spacious room with balcony overlooking the canal. The buffet breakfast is served in the beautiful art deco restaurant. The choice of breakfast is amazing and well worth the money. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. We will definitely be visiting Amsterdam again in the future and this hotel will always be our first choice. We cannot fault it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAndJoAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this and your many previous visits, Congratulations on your marriage! We are happy for your that Amsterdam and our hotel were the perfect location to celebrate this joyous occassion. We look forward to your next visit. enjoy the summer. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much; the location is only a short stroll from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, and the outdoor bar and restaurant, while a bit pricey, are great places to sit and watch the amazing street scene - trams, buses, cars, and bicyclists and pedestrians dressed in every kind of clothes, all bustling around and somehow not colliding with each other. We suggest getting a room rate that includes breakfast, as the breakfast buffet was one of the largest and most varied we've seen. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jdf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The scenery in front of the hotel is indeed fascinating! It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast so much. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

very nice location; walking distance from any attraction, and next door to the bus to Schipol airport.
you have to book a room on the canal, so you can see the traffic of the boats, and it is situated at one of the boat stops.
staff is very nice, the room are old fashioned but clean, and the wifi works.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fpny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are glad to hear that you deem our product and services value for money. Of course it is our aim to not only meet your expectations upon your next stay but to exceed them. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've just come back from a week long conference in Amsterdam. There is another Hampshire Eden Hotel in town, which was on the conference list, but we didn't realize that and we booked this one, the American Hotel, by mistake. A very happy mistake. This is a beautiful, centrally located, air conditioned hotel, with a very nice restaurant right on Leidseplein (the Cafe Americain) where we had a good meal while watching life on the square. The Other Hampshire Eden was not nearly so nice. My single room was clean and lovely, with a balcony overlooking the fountain in front. Our friends were jealous.

The staff here were extremely kind and helpful--one of my colleagues had her handbag snatched in a restaurant near the University and needed lots of help replacing her passport, credit cards, everything.

The free wifi has to be renewed on a daily basis, a minor hassle compared to the many conveniences, one of which is a business center equipped with working computers and printers at no charge. (Note to hotel: not all the folks in the business center are actually staying at the hotel.)

I took a van from the airport for 17 euros, but on the way home I took the #197 bus in front of the hotel, which takes you directly to the airport for only 5 euros. You definitely do not need a taxi--I had no trouble getting my admittedly small carry on into the bus, and there were plenty of seats for the ride of less than half an hour. Of course I would have taken it from the airport as well if I realized it stops directly in front of the hotel. If you have lots of luggage, the shuttle van (it's blue) can be booked and it comes right to the door of the hotel where people will help you.

Bravo, American Hotel! You made my trip a pleasure, and you helped my stressed friend take care of the aftermath of a very disruptive loss.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view and I got it, overlooking the fountain, a single with a queen sized b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Padmapada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant stay. Your compliments are very rewarding for our team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing