We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #72 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is located in very good areait is near the Vang Museum , , it's has an historical and beautiful architeture.
The staff is friendly and helpful . I really recommend it !
My room was clear and spacious. At evening there is no noise, it is perfect located for family and couples.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 464Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Your recommendation is very rewarding and encouraging. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the nearby future. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,150)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 3,150 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only stayed one night in this hotel as we were in transit, but the room was very clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. Great art exhibition around the hotel walls.
We loved the decor and found the restaurant excellent. The situation was very central and one could go almost anywhere from there using either the canals, trams or ones feet.
Lovely city. Definitely worth a second trip and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: State your requirements, especially for a good view and sunny room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Great to hear that you deem Amsterdam exciting enough to pay another visit. We are proud that you have already decided to use our hotel again for that purpose. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to stay here at the end of July 2014 in a deluxe room with balcony and canal view and Im so glad we did! It is a beautiful hotel in a great location. Staff are friendly and helpful and our room was big. Never had breakfast or dinner here we went elsewhere so can't comment on food. You get a voucher for 2 free welcome drinks to use during your stay which was handy on our last day :) Amsterdam itself is a beautiful city with lots to do. We will be back and will stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank laurah1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are honoured to read that you have already decided to choose our hotel as your residence during your next Amsterdam visit. We look forward to your next stay. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is a perfect location in Amsterdam. Right next to lots of places to eat and drink and within walking distance of everything. The tram line also goes right by the hotel, so great access. The only issue was our room had no heat. We were there in late May and at night it was still cold the first couple of nights. I asked them about heat and they said the radiators had been turned off already for the season, then they brought up a rolling heater and unfortunately there was only 1 place to plug it in which wasn't really the best place for it. Turns out they turned the heat back on for the next night. Our room was quite large and the bathroom was very nice and large. We also had a very quite room.
We were picking up a rental car from Avis after our Amsterdam trip and the location was literally across the street - so that was perfect.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room in the back.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatsotsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Our apologies for the unexpected heating inconvenience. We hope that the solution by our team was somewhat helpful. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the Amsterdam American Hotel for 5 nights and were completely delighted. Excellent location - near trams, museums, Vondel Park, restaurants and shops. Our room was clean, spacious and very charming. We reserved a Jr. Suite and it was very comfortable for our family of 3. Weekend evening noise level made sleeping a little difficult, but things quieted down Sunday evening into the work week. Staff was also very friendly, warm and helpful. Overall, loved our stay, would highly recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a floor on a higher floor and away from the outdoor café would improve the noise level for a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daisy1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Indeed the Leidsplein can be noisy in the summer with partying locals and tourists. We can acknowledge your advise concerning the room. We are glad to hear that you had a very pleasant time in Amsterdam and our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is great hotel in a great location. The service is very good, the rooms are well done up, the bar / restaurant is fabulous and the breakfast is amazing. The outside seating of the cafe / bar is really good. It is in the theater district and close to the Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum. There are other good restaurants and bars around. The bus and tram stops are right outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunitaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Your compact, though complete summary is very encouraging for the team and hopefully very helpful for fellow travellers. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Amsterdam American Hotel was located in one of the best areas of Amsterdam in Leidesplein. Everything about the hotel was very high quality from the rooms, decor, and service. I cannot recall the front desk agent's name whom helped me check in but he was an absolute pleasure to deal with, he was not only helpful and resource but also extremely pleasant. The rooms are slightly small for the value but I believe that is typical for Dutch hotels and Dutch space in general. Overall my experience at Amsterdam American Hotel was a very good one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. The fact that some rooms are rather small, seems to depend on the age of the hotel (112 years old) rather than that it is typical Dutch. Please state your preference for a bigger room upon your next reservation. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 371 in Amsterdam
865 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#76 of 371 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
761 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £138 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing