We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #75 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location & staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel is in a brilliant location - transport links to all over town & the airport from right outside the hotel. Restaurants are just across the street and its within easy walking distance to vondelpark, canal cruises & the museums. Dam square is a short tram ride away and to be honest I'm glad I didn't stay down that end of town as it was heaving with toursits . Staff at the eden are lovely , very welcoming & non-intrusive . The room they gave us was huge, beautiful and very clean

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAABAAchops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The team is very proud that they were able to provide the service and attention that resulted in such a satisfactory stay. We hope to see you back. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    1,192
    405
    144
    70
See reviews for
345
1,439
185
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is a classic hotel right on one of the canals. Nice rooms. Ours overlooked the canal and was quite quiet. Breakfast buffet was rather expensive, but excellent quality. The hotel is near a wide variety of restaurants, and walking distance from Anne Frank House and several museums.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ace091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Good to read that you regard our hotel as very suitable and convenient. Regarding your opinion on breakfast, we are interested to hear what you compare it with, in order for us to analyse that. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

After much research we found this hotel and were glad we did. The location was easy to get to via the tram and was close to many restaurants. We were nervous about the noise from the street since there is a bar/restaurant with outside seating right in front of the hotel, but we never heard anything once we were in our room.
We had requested with our reservation, a room on a higher level floor and King bed if possible and both were accomodated. The room and bathroom were both spacious.
The front desk staff was very helpful in showing us points of interest on the map and recommending a dinner location.
The hotel bar was nice as well.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review posting and your recent stay. Good to notice that you had such a pleasant stay. We hope to be able to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

After a pleasant 2 night stay on the 11th and 12th of July at this iconic hotel and an enjoyable dinner in the lovely Art Deco restaurant, we were very disappointed to discover on the 26th July upon receipt of my friend's credit card statement that he had been charged twice for sundry meals and drinks amounting to a not unsubstantial sum.
After several Emails, and an admission by the hotel that they had indeed made a mistake, 6 weeks down the line he has still not received a refund. Very surprising behaviour from a top ranking hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We have informed you per e-mail the details of the cause and the solution of this ommission. We apologise for the combination of human error and IT malfunctioning. We regret that it has impacted so much your appraisal score of what seemed, beside the unfortuante mishap, an enjoyable stay, With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for close to ten years whenever in Amsterdam. We stayed at the hotel this past weekend, he has been there on three different occasions within this past twelve months. We need to write this review because we encountered a situation whereby there appears to be no system in place to reward frequent or return customers.

We have two major complaints, these were the pointed and unfriendly attitude of some of the reception staff; and concerning the room we were given initially, and then, the supposed better room after we commented our dissatisfaction to the reception staff.

It is important to note that I had booked directly with the hotel through their website and requested for a room on the Fountain side. When we indicated this to the staff member, she curtly said there was nothing in their system that indicated this request, and that they were going to give us an indoor court room. We politely asked whether we could be notified by a telephone call when the room would be ready since we had arrived early. The receptionist who we were dealing with said that she could do this which she did, but her colleague standing next to her disrespectfully entered into our conversation saying that "they normally do not do that because where would they be if they did that for everybody". We are a mature couple, who do not like to be talked down to in an offensive manner, yet we managed to be patient and let this pass. My husband informed me later that this was same young receptionist who had questioned his American nationality when she had noted that his birthplace was Ecuador in his passport while checking him in during his previous stay. My husband had at the time chalked up her bad tone and unmannerly demeanor to inexperience and lack of worldly knowledge.....bad manners once OK, bad manners twice, this has to be brought up and she needs to be trained in customer service.

The room we were given (127)was on the 1st floor non canal side of the hotel, trams clanged continuously, adjoining room 128 door right next to the bed, for me to get out of the bed, I had to slip by the closet with about six inches to spare. If this was a better room that we were going to be given originally, we would have been hard pressed to see how.

Upon check out, we informed the same receptionist who handled our check in that we were not at all happy about the room, she again said unfortunately, it was the best they could do and that there had been nothing in their records of the room request, and that it is always good to call to make sure.....then why book through the hotel and make the request, if this information then is not in the database. Either there was a breakdown somewhere, or the staff missed the information.

Our mistake was not asking to discuss this with management on the day of checking in, but do feel that we should not have had to, especially as frequent customers.

To top it all off, there were no international news channels working throughout the entire weekend, as the receptionists informed us there was a general problem with the cable connectivity.

Bottom line, although we have had some good rooms through the ten years, we have also had our share of bad rooms, we love the Cafe and Bar, love the concierges and their helpfulness, but can do without the rudeness and attitude of some of the reception staff.

We will not be coming back, except for the Cafe and Bar, and will be taking our business to the Marriott and to the NH, one block away.

Room Tip: Call them email them but don't just make an entry on their site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your frequent visits and your review posting. Your report is important to us and leaves some questions open. Would you be able to contact us to discuss? Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I would like to point out that my husband stays here for business every week and I went for a long weekend. He has been in several different rooms and said the ones on the front and overlooking the canal are noisy. He was kept awake most of the night by trams and ambulances, so that's something to think about if you are a light sleeper. As I am a light sleeper, he asked for a room on the top floor, floor 6, and around the side of the building away from traffic. This was a very good decision!

Great central location, direct bus 197 from the airport, 5 euros, and the 1, 2 and 5 trams go to Central Station. It's near shops, Vondel Park and 15 mins walk from the main museums. Buy a museum card for 60 euros if you are going to more than 3 or 4 places. Great for eating out, there are lots and lots of restaurants nearby.

The building is wonderful, the breakfast selection is great, the room was a good size, although my husband said other rooms on floor 5 were bigger and had balconies, I still prefer to be in a quieter room. Staff spoke superb English so no problem there. I didn't need to have any contact with them as everything was fine.

Rooms have hairdryers and bath products, air conditioning, a kettle with tea and coffee selection, a safe and fridge with drinks and snacks. Be careful because if you remove anything it will automatically be added to your bill!

Free wifi and also paid wifi for business. Computers and a printer on the mezzanine level.

A really lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisier, try to get an inside room if you are a light sleeper or one on the s...
See more room tips
Green Features: We seemed to get new towels every day, despite leaving them on the towel rail, so not sure why they tell you to hang them up if you want to keep them and then give you new ones anyway. A good idea, if it works.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexinargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Your detailed summary of the hotel and its services sums it up very well, including transportation and sightseeing tips! We hope that we may accomodate you again at future trips to the city. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say the place is amazing ! This was booked less than 24 hours after our wedding and we left less than 24 hours after that so it's was full on busy ! I emailed the hotel the evening before our stay and asked if there was any way our room would be able to look over the canal as I have never been to Amsterdam before but my husband has. I was promptly emailed back congratulating me and advised they would try their best . Well when we arrived the staff were so friendly and genuinely happy for us that we had just got married ! When we went to our room I was blown away by how beautiful/superior it was. Truly touched that this hotel had gone out of its way to give us this room. And on the booking I still had my maiden name listed, but when we were in the room we had a personalised letter addressed to "Mr & Mrs" from the general manager ! Talk about personal touch ! We ate in the hotel restaurant and was served by Sharriff he was so friendly and made great conversation. The food was so good ! The hotel maid service immaculate the room service excellent every team member we came into contact with was so friendly and have such a sincere attitude a greasy professionalism with everything, i even got to keep my room key when checking out as souvenir ! Honestly so grateful for everything they did for us. We only could go for a few days but wish it was longer. On the 15 minute tram journey back to central station I made sure my husband knows exactly where I want to come back on our anniversary ! Thank you so much to all of your team for a wonderful stay :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and review posting. Once more many congratulations with your marriage. We are proud that we could contribute to a wonderful honeymoon. We look forward to welcoming you in may years to come on your anniversary. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#60 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing