We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #69 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
East Anglia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

The best hotel I have ever stayed at in Amsterdam. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent room overlooking a canal with decent bed . Despite the location suprisingly quiet. Breakfast exceptional including bucks fizz and a cooked breakfast with all the trimmings. Would not stay anywhere else. Convenient for Schipol - the bus stops almost outside the front door.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capri54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    1,228
    409
    145
    71
See reviews for
355
1,489
186
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This is a true gem and I rank it better than the 5 star we stayed at in the Amsterdam City Center.
We stayed in Amsterdam for four nights. Our last night we decided to stay in the Leidseplein area which was amazing. Room 411 was amazing with a balcony facing the canal, the room was big and the bathroom was also big. The staff were very friendly and you can also rent scooters right from the hotel. Tram 1,2,5 take you right downtown if you want to do the tourist thing around the city center ie. Red Light District. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk if that to the Van Gogh museum

This hotel is only 1 block away from the main Leidseplein square. We wish we would have spend our entire four nights here but unfortunately we spend our first three nights at the 5 star "Kras..." right in the city center, that one was more like a 3 star.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwood_studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We booked this hotel through booking.com at the amazing rate of 110E per night. Probably the least expensive room on our three week honeymoon. Other than the honeymoon suite, this was the best room we had and the best bathroom of the trip. As mentioned by other reviewers, the location on Leidsplein Square is great. The trams, nos. 1, 2 or 5, are seven stops from Central Station. Lots of great bars and restaurants on the square. Canal boat tours are right outside the hotel entrance. Casino next door. Due to some of the negative reviews on the rooms, there must be a number of different room sizes available. If you're able, maybe view the room before taking it. But on check in, the clerk asked if we wanted a view or a more quiet room. We chose more quiet and the room was huge by European standards. Bedroom with desk/office area. There was construction going on outside, but we didn't know it because of the double paned windows. Flat screen tv with English channels. Big modern bathroom. Comfy bed with great sheets. No complaints. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Only downside, I don't think that there is wi-fi in the rooms, just in the lobby.

Also, if you want typical Dutch cuisine, try De Blauwe Hollander a few blocks away. Great staff and food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights (24-28/5/2009). The biggest asset of this hotel it is it's location. The rooms are ok and in my case the bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. The staff is very helpfull and polite in the whole hotel, the food is good and restaurant is a landmark from the 20's. Internet connection is very expensive and in my opinion a 5* hotel should have wi-fi for it's guests. An good overall experience, mainly based on the location and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonicaCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This is a great location hotel, away from the noise of the Grand Central Station, and next to all the spots you want to visit. It is just a tram away from the Central Train Station.

But, the best part of this hotel is their friendliness, a genuine presence that the Dutch folks want to really invite you to this fine city. They manifest it in their bellhop service, I called in five seconds, they were in our room. No, I am not exaggerating, as I hanged up the phone, the knock on the door is heard. It was the bellman.

When we needed referral to a good Indonesian restaurant, they gave us precise directions and they gave us a good referral.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean but, of course, since this is Amsterdam, space is a premium. Even for an American hotel, it felt so cramped, yet, I would probably be told, this is already spacious by Dutch standards. This hotel is worth every penny you pay them, they return to you in terms of four star service. Internet is easy to do, but expensive euros.., my only complaint.

And breakfast is great, a buffet that is well chosen and more generous even by French standards, it was the best breakfast I have had in Europe. Quite satisfying for an American used to hefty portions! But perhaps overwhelming for a French appetite

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prosyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I stayed at the Edan American on the 15th May 09. We were in Amsterdam for my friends Hen Do there were 10 of us in total. The hotel was perfectly located just off Leidsplein Square where there are lots of bars. The hotel is just near a tram stop which makes anywhere in the city easy to get to. The Hotel itself we found to be excellent the staff could not do enough to help!! We stayed in a lovely refurbed room on the 3rd floor with a balcony - it was lovely. The rest of the party stayed in the rooms still waiting to be updated but they found them to be of a good standard with plenty of room. I would recommend this hotel to others especially for the sevice and the location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn2Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Stayed at the hotel American for 3 nights.Room was very comfortable,bed was huge,as was the bathroom.The location of the hotel is excellent , we were able to walk to all the main sites.The only down point was the cost of the breakfast,19.95euros,we did not have it and went every day to The Sports bar in the square.
If we come to Amsterdam again I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 367 in Amsterdam
850 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#68 of 367 in Amsterdam
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,658 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#60 of 367 in Amsterdam
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing