We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,756)
Filter reviews
3,756 results
Traveller rating
1,517
1,463
500
181
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,517
1,463
500
181
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location hampshire hotel balcony overlooking the canal canal tour beautiful hotel deluxe room mini bar bars and restaurants museum quarter flower market van gogh museum tram stop central location dam square leidseplein city americain
Filter
Updating list...
813 - 818 of 3,756 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The hotel is centrally located in Leidesplein withing walking distance of the Rijks and Van Gogh museums. The rooms are decorated in art-deco style. Rooms are spacious and clean with good size bathroom, desk area, tea/coffee making facilities, minibar, iron and plenty of sockets which are needed these days. Robyn and Mandy at reception were most helpful.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petecalleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and review posting. Good to know that you appreciate the nr. of available electricity sockets in the room. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

At first we thought the hotel might be a bit too far removed from the centre of Amsterdam but once we got our bearings, the walk was very good. And the surrounding area has a lot going for it - restaurants, museums, bars, ... Our room was very spacious and very comfortable. Hotel staff were pleasant and very helpful. The building itself has an interesting history. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BlueberryGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are grateful for your summary to which we have nothing to add. Great to know that you would revisit us when back in Amsterdam. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This hotel is a great location- right on a beautiful canal on one side and a busy street with lots of restaurants and shops on another. It's walking distance to the fabulous Rijks and VanGogh museums. A Trip Advisor reviewer recommended getting a room on the Canal side, and we were so glad we did. We got a Junior American Suite. The window was casement, and we opened it and looked at the Canal many times. Our room was very large, but the bath was small, and the room smelled musty whenever we walked in. But we flung open the window, and all was well. The restaurant is old-fashioned and lovely. We would stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank letty r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay and would stay again. We hope you will. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We loved the hotel, though the breakfast was on the expensive side and the wifi rendered utterly worthless. The gym was not quite up to scratch, very small and with old equipment. Close distance from many nice places, and the airport bus 197 stops just outside.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are sorry to hear that there seemed to be a capacity overload during your stay. Most guests currently deem our wifi speed good, or at least acceptable. Needless to say that we shall monitor this. Our gym is indeed a service. We claim however that our Italian Technogym equipment is up-to-date. We shall analyse the new developments in that area. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Probably our 15th time to stay at this centrally located hotel. Excellent as always. Friendly and helpful staff. Michel, Roger and Sarah are always good fun in the bar. We have already booked to go back in 3 weeks and also in February.. Highly reccommend

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank aaron_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your many loyal visits and review posting. We look forward to receiving you back next December. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews