We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Style Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #77 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Style Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

A stay in this unique hotel is like a trip back in time. It is an Amersterdam landmark and perfectly located for all your sightseeing needs. The front desk was extremely helpful, service in the elegant bar/restaurant was attentive and friendly, and consequently I hated to leave. My room was huge and the single air conditioner vent barely cooled the room, but I got it as an accomodation. After a long flight arriving early in the morning, I begged for an early room check-in and was switched to the only one available. I needed a shower and rest so bad I can hardly hold that against the hotel for their kindness! I can't wait to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outbound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    1,174
    402
    141
    69
See reviews for
343
1,409
185
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Service was great, hotel and room were very clean and staff helpful. Centrally located and in the thick of the nightlife of the Leideseplein. Our room was a nice size and overlooked the canal. Even though there was always so much going on in the street below, the windows blocked out most, if not all, of the sound. We were welcomed to our room with a letter from the hotel manager which included a voucher for a complimentary drink at the hotel bar and/or restaurant to be used at any time during the time of our stay. We are definitely going back to Amsterdam and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three days while on a trip from Paris to Amsterdam to Prague to Amsterdam, to Paris. Between the two hotels we stayed at in Amsterdam we enjoyed this one more and found the location to be excellent. The Leidsplein (sp??) District's main square is just two short blocks away and dozens and dozens of restaurants are within walking distance. Several tram lines cross nearby making it a quick ride to most destinations in Amsterdam.
Like most hotel rooms in Europe, it was small but not overly so and was in good shape and clean. We found the staff friendly. We had asked for a quiet room so ended up high up on the back side so we didn't have a view at all but the room was dead quiet at night. I would imagine that the views on the canal side or on the front would probably be very nice. We interacted very little with the staff, however, the seemed quite friendly and helpful at checkin. Unlike many hotel rooms in Europe, there was an iron and ironing board in the room!! Thank you!
I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family. It compared very favorably with the Hotel Victoria that we stayed in on the way back and was less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Their beds are THE most comfortable beds we've ever slept in.
Location is excellent...close to everything without being noisy. Service was good. Nice rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djvmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stayed at the American for 4 nights and was very happy. Good location, nice rooms, great dinning options and attentive staff. The hotel is very cool from an architectural standpoint and sits on the southern edge of the Liedesplien- with a nice fountain in front. It is definitely the more upscale side of the square and is very pretty while offering great people watching from the outdoor cafe. And it is close to everything- Melkweg and theaters, restaurants, Bulldog, canal boat dock steps away, Museums, trolley stop,etc.
I think I paid for the deluxe vs the standard room- and it was great- on the 5th floor with a little balcony overlooking the square.
The breakfast was in the amazing dinning room but in good weather all other meals are outside at cafe American. Breakfast was a big spread of self serve which I frankly prefer to ala cart, coffee and tea brought by a waiter.
But the cafe has waiters and such. And as an American you do have to remember to slow down a bit when at the cafe- the point is to milk it. So if it takes a while for the guy to come take your order, don't fret. If you want quick- go across the square to McD's.
Found the staff helpful, courteous and attractive. Very used to storing bags and helping out.
A few hints for travelers:
1. You enter the trams on the second to last car- there is a conductor sitting in a little booth there- you buy and validate your tickets there.
2. Bikes rule here. They are the top of the food chain. They will run you down- always be aware of your place on the street- do not stand in the bike lane. You might think it is a sidewalk- it isn't. But cars and trams will go out of their way to brake for you and expect you to take the initiative and right of way.
3. If you have done some urban biking- rent a bike. If not- stick to canal boats and walking - maybe ease into it with a guided tour. Biking is a fantastic way to see the city- especially the edges- zoo, museums, Pijps, Jordann, etc. Would avoid the Centre.
Hope that helps.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidhartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caonima1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Eden American Hotel is the best hotel we stayed in Europ so far. The room is huge (twice or maybe thrice the size of the Grange Hotel room we had in London), the king size bed is very confortable. Everything is large even by American standard.

All staff are really friendly and helpful. Especially Danny, he's the best staff we encountered so far. Well, all Amsterdam residents we met are very nice, so maybe he's not that exception. We 1000% recommend this hotel and thank Danny very much.

Walking back from red light district to the hotel at midnight is extremely safe. Tons of people still hangout in the plein, the atmosphere is wonderful. Our best European experience ever.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caonima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

I selected this hotel thanks to Trip Advisor reviews and am pleased to say we weren't disappointed. That I also got a deal on the rooms at the height of the tourist season didn't hurt either!

The hotel is elegant, situated on the banks of a canal (of course!) and right in the heart of the city. Rooms (and bathroom) were beautifully and modernly decorated, clean as a whistle, and spacious, all things considered. We travelled with my parents, who got upgraded to a room with a balcony overlooking the fountain out front - lucky! Their room was also slightly larger than ours, but over all, the same style and amenities.

Nearby are tens of restaurants and you're within walking distance of the museum district, so handy location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing