We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place in the great area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #76 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great place in the great area”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed one night in Amsteradm American hotel. Hotel was very nice and beautiful. Room was spacious. And the surrounding is the one of the best in Amsterdam. Previously i have had accomodation in the other areas in Amsterdam. In the future, this is the area I would like to stay in Amsterdam. Only negative thing was the cleaning of the rooms. In this hotel is strictly forbidden to smoke hash and we don't do drugs. Anyway, we found a small amount of marijuana from our room....

But anyway, hotel and it's location was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    1,194
    405
    144
    70
See reviews for
346
1,439
185
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
travelingcats14
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the American Hotel for six nights in September. We asked for a room with a balcony and got room 408 which was really wonderful. The room had a balcony with two chairs that overlooked the canal. Aside from the great view this room was less noisy at it was not facing the street or busy square. Apparently only several floors of the hotel have been renovated and while I did not see a non renovated room, the halls on the renovated floor were so much brighter and upbeat. The staff were terrific and all requests from housekeeping came promptly and efficiently. This is a great area of area of Amsterdam but you have to like the hustle and bustle of an otherwise quaint city. The best is that the hotel is within walking distance of Melkweg, Paradiso and Boom Chicago which is great if you want to attend musicconcerts and the show at Boom Chicago. Boom Chicago is also where you sign up for the St. Nicholas canal ride which is a small boat tour of the canals. The hotel is also within walking distance of Mike's Bikes where you can take a city or countryside tour on bikes. We did the countryside tour which was fabulous. We also walked to the museums although you could take a tram which stops outside the hotel. There are also many inexpensive places to eat around the hotel which worked well for us. I wish the internet was complimentary. We paid 35 cents a minute which mounted up fast. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again but would ask for a canal facing renovated room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcats14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Incredible location in the heart of Amsterdam Centre on the canal. We were on a 2 week car trip through Europe and only stayed in Amsterdam for 24 hours. The hotel was amazing lovely, the bar incrediblely beautiful and the service top notch! The location was best of all! Our room was oversized, spotless and beautifully decorated AND the view of the canal from our window was spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

A stay in this unique hotel is like a trip back in time. It is an Amersterdam landmark and perfectly located for all your sightseeing needs. The front desk was extremely helpful, service in the elegant bar/restaurant was attentive and friendly, and consequently I hated to leave. My room was huge and the single air conditioner vent barely cooled the room, but I got it as an accomodation. After a long flight arriving early in the morning, I begged for an early room check-in and was switched to the only one available. I needed a shower and rest so bad I can hardly hold that against the hotel for their kindness! I can't wait to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outbound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Service was great, hotel and room were very clean and staff helpful. Centrally located and in the thick of the nightlife of the Leideseplein. Our room was a nice size and overlooked the canal. Even though there was always so much going on in the street below, the windows blocked out most, if not all, of the sound. We were welcomed to our room with a letter from the hotel manager which included a voucher for a complimentary drink at the hotel bar and/or restaurant to be used at any time during the time of our stay. We are definitely going back to Amsterdam and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three days while on a trip from Paris to Amsterdam to Prague to Amsterdam, to Paris. Between the two hotels we stayed at in Amsterdam we enjoyed this one more and found the location to be excellent. The Leidsplein (sp??) District's main square is just two short blocks away and dozens and dozens of restaurants are within walking distance. Several tram lines cross nearby making it a quick ride to most destinations in Amsterdam.
Like most hotel rooms in Europe, it was small but not overly so and was in good shape and clean. We found the staff friendly. We had asked for a quiet room so ended up high up on the back side so we didn't have a view at all but the room was dead quiet at night. I would imagine that the views on the canal side or on the front would probably be very nice. We interacted very little with the staff, however, the seemed quite friendly and helpful at checkin. Unlike many hotel rooms in Europe, there was an iron and ironing board in the room!! Thank you!
I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family. It compared very favorably with the Hotel Victoria that we stayed in on the way back and was less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Their beds are THE most comfortable beds we've ever slept in.
Location is excellent...close to everything without being noisy. Service was good. Nice rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djvmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#48 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing