We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location - not luxurious though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #71 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
derry
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great location - not luxurious though”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

we stayed here over new year - the exterior of the hotel is lovely - inside you will be a bit disappointed - the reception area is a let down and the lifts are very old in need of updating
bar is good - pricy though
the best bit of the hotel is the location - easy walking distance of restaurants/bars and the trams
rooms are bordering on the basic - ask for a canal view room - these have the nicest views
i would recommend this hotel if you get it for a bargain price - we didnt and i felt it was expensive without having any semblance of luxury

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    1,248
    413
    145
    72
See reviews for
361
1,514
188
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

First, this hotel is in a perfect location. Its on the edge of Leidseplein so you're right near the action and the trams and taxis are within two blocks as well. There are plenty of restaurants nearby Jimmy Woo's and Mansion are a short walk away and you're a short walk from Museumsplein and Vondel Park as well as other sites.

The staff was very helpful in providing directions to nightlife and other information.

The rooms are on the small side compared to what we're used to in the States, but they're quite comfortable and cozy. The cleaning staff did a good job. However, I was extremely disappointed that the hotel ran out of the small towels you use to clean your face. I had to ask twice for one and only once did I get one. And when they weren't in my room the next day I asked again and the gentleman said that they were all out. Really? Not what you want to hear when you're paying 130 euro a night.

Heating - Underwhelming. Amsterdam was very cold so I expected to be able to relax in a warm room after a day of sightseeing. Well, the heating system is very limited. There is a notice on the wall that informs you that heating through the use of the central air system is very limited. On the same notice it gives you instructions for using the radiator system. Well, it worked to an extent but it didn't get as warm as I would have preferred.

Noise - My room faced Leidseplein to an extent and I was really surprised that I didn't hear any loud noises. The room was quite enough to sleep. However, I kept hearing this loud dripping sound as if water was hitting the window outside. It was really annoying to the point that I didn't get much sleep on my last night in the hotel. I think it may have been the radiator system.

Overall, I would stay at the hotel again but I wouldn't put up with the dripping noise.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helovesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Check-in at this hotel is 3pm but luckily they had our room ready and cleaned for us about half past 1 in the afternoon - A nice bonus after being awake since 4am, a flight, a train journey & a tram ride, plus endless amounts of walking to pass the time.
We have been to Amsterdam many times before so we already know whats about & where, that is why we chose the Eden American Hotel on Leidesplein. Perfect positioning if you want to be close to the nightlife, museums & shopping areas of Amsterdam - Leidesplein is definitley one of the less 'seedier' places you can stay in Amsterdam & I definitley feel safe!
One thing I should point out which was a bit naughty of the hotel was that they asked for 90 euros a day for 'incidentals' on a credit card. Well firstly, we don't own a credit card & secondly this was never stated when booking the hotel directly on it's own website. Luckily they reduced this to 90 euros during the hotel stay & accepted a debit card. They did give us the option of paying it in cash, however we felt this was a little unfair as we had brought the money to spend outside of the hotel. This was the only critism that I had of the hotel.
We were placed on a 'vip' list as we were celebrating my birthday (albiet a month later!) but we were placed in the most fantastic room! Room 109 was perfect for a view over the canal & watching the hustle and bustle down below. We were also given a voucher that entitled us to a free drink in the main bar. We were going to use this, however we lost it on the day we were going to use it. Typical! There was a little sitting area and a huge window that was fab for relaxing on. The usuals of a working desk & internet connections, those you would of a four star hotel. I must move on to something, that was quite spectacular, and this object was the king sized bed! Although Im sure it was MUCH bigger?! It was the comfiest bed known to man - so please be warned if you stay here you may outsleep your alarm or wake up call! The bathroom was nice and equipped with a bath/shower, toilet and sink, of a small size but did its job & plenty of towels were provided. There were nice toiletries made by a company called 'rituals', you will find this shop walking around leidestraat area & upto the flower market. There was also a safe, tea/coffe facilities, mini bar, LCD tv which catered for all languages, Animal Planet being on frequently!
The hotel does have its own restaraunt, bar & cafe, however we did not have the pleasure in going in them as the menu was a little pricey, however this is what you would expect of a 4 star hotel, but apparently the food is devine! They also had a gym/fitness room which clients could use.
Overall this hotel is in a perfect location, has fab staff & the hosptiality is second to none. We will DEFINTLEY be returning to this hotel hopefully on our next trip to Amsterdam - which is once a year! We just love the place & this wonderful hotel. I would recomment this hotel to anyone, we paid 100 euros a night and it was well worth it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccaeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We are a family of three, two parents and a nine year old daughter. This is a great city - dutch people are very relaxed and helpful. It's easy to get around. After lunch one day, the cafe owner sat and just chatted to us!
We stayed in the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in Leidesplein.
This is a lovely down to earth comfortable hotel. There was a photoexhibition and authograph book of previous musicans, popstars who'd stayed there! All members of the staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in Room 130, it wasa good size, an internal room, with one window overlooking a rooftop - we slept well! My daughter shared the room, but essentially had her own annex. We booked 21 days in advance on the dutch website Hotels.nl and got a really good deal. The two nights for the three of us cost about 250 euro incl. taxes.
In Leidesplein, there are two streets with lots of restaurants and pubs, We went to a dutch restaurant "Stoop Stoop" excellent food! It is possible to sit outside in the square. Also there was a pan cake house across the street - which was wonderful for breakfast!

The trams stop right outside the hotel. We bought a "strippenkart" in the newagents -there is a little machine in the tram to stick the ticket into!

The Hotel is near Vondel Park, the Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum - a ten minute walk.

Also, outside the door of the hotel is the Canal Cruise boats. You can hop on and off at various attractions!

We went to see the Anne Frank house. This was a high priority for us and my daughter as she's reade various editions of Ann's diary. The queque moved quickly. It was at times a bit overwhelming for my daughter but she found it inspiring.

It is easy to travel on the train from the airport to Central Station and get Tram No 5 outside the station. The airport bus also stops outside the hotel.

Schipol is an easy airport to get around. However give yourself time at the boarding gates because full sceening and xraying of bags take place as you queque to get on your plane.
Also, buy souvenirs in Amsterdam, everthing seems at least a third more expensive.

Helpful?
Thank DublinRoseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirlingshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Stayed here as birthday present for my boyfriend and could not have been more pleased! Its a beautiful hotel with lots of history, but better than that the price was fantastic. Shop around as we got a great deal compared to many other sites (soz I can't remember what one) and I also booked months in advance. The staff are lovely and the rooms are great, just a god size for city trip of a few days.....plus its all true ..... these beds are amazing!!!!! If we'd fallen out we'd have thought we were sleeping in different rooms !!! Had a great time over there and although its a "once done can't say we'd be back in a huge rush" place to visit, I'd stay at this brand of hotel again based on this experience. Best location as its in the middle of every major sight seeing landmark and a good distance from all the best bars, restaurants and cafes. Can't recommend more :-) !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Great location, great room, great hotel, great service, great staff. Superb!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Stayed here for a conference, so was not a personal choice. The hotel was quite small in arrangement and the room was comfortable, however, compact. The bath room could just about contain one person, but it would be difficult to contain two unless one was in the tub!! The main problem with the room was that you could hear water running every time people flushed toilets, had a shower and ran taps, which for the age of the hotel was surprising. The bonus was the size and comfort of the bed, which was excellent.

The staff were really well presented and helpful and the dining room is awesome, with some great architecture and windows. There is a small gym with 3 CV machines and some weight machines. There is also a sauna and massage.

The price of the hotel was expensive for what you got and the breakfast at 19 Euro was a rip off as was the internet at 22 euro per day.

Overall, I think for the money, which was around 700 euro for three night’s bed and breakfast without any alcohol; you could get better within Amsterdam. As such I would not recommend this hotel and feel it sells itself on the location and proximity to the bars, restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 368 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#76 of 368 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing