We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great business hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great business hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights having previously stayed the Renaissance and cannot state how wonderful the hotel is in terms Of room size albeit I had a corner Club room, staff friendliness and modern and clean rooms. The wifi is rock solid and available everywhere in the hotel even the -1 level. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are happy you had a positive experience in our hotel and we are delighted to read that you describe our hotel rooms as modern and clean.

We are also pleased to read that you have enjoyed the wifi that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre offers throughout the entire hotel. Guests can even use complimentary internet at our business centre on the -1 level.

We are proud to read that you would highly recommend Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are looking forward to welcome you again. If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Jansen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great location and only a short walk to central station. Very nice decor and very impressed with the upgraded room. I had a two day conference here and the facilities were very good and so was the service. Numerous restaurants and bars in walking distance, many just across the road. Compared to other hotels in and around Central Station this is the best. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Director of Sales at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is with great pleasure to read your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are honoured to read that you would definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are delighted to learn that you have had such a good experience of our service and facilities during your conference at our hotel. As Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is situated only a 5 minute walk from ‘Amsterdam Centraal’ train station, our 8 natural daylight conference rooms could be a good location for all business events.

Again thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. In the meantime, if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Yuri den Haring
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We had a two night stay here a couple of weeks ago. Actually struggling to remember the hotel as its a typical big international chain hotel. Everything as you may expect. Wifi is ridiculously expensive and should be in the rate for a business hotel, so didnt use it. Sleep quality great and rooms well soundproofed, and beds / linens very good. Id stay here again in Amsterdam as the location is excellent. 5 mins from Centraal Station, and everything in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is honouring to read that you would stay again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your next stay in Amsterdam.

We are pleased to read you have had a great night sleep, due to our soundproofed guest rooms and good quality of beds and linens. Crowne Plaza has worked with sleep doctor and founder of the British Sleep Society, Dr Chris Idzikowski, to improve the sleep experience at Crowne Plaza hotels to ensure guests get a great night’s sleep. Luxurious bedding and ‘Quiet Zones’ are part of this ‘Sleep Advantage’ program.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam's city centre over the weekend and were mightily impressed with everything. Our room was large (we were upgraded) and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable giving us 2 superbly relaxing nights' sleep. The staff were courteous throughout. The venue of this hotel could not be better and yet, despite its central location, it was safe and secure. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic review following your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted to read you had such a great stay at our hotel .

We are pleased to learn that the comfortable beds were helping to give you a relaxing nights’ sleep. We have thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones, plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers and aroma therapy on getting the best night’s sleep. Furthermore, we have sleeping tips available for you from Dr. Chris Idzikowski, former Chairman of the British Sleep Society.

We are honoured to read that you would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Please be assured that we have shared you kind comments to the entire team.

Again thank you very much for your positive feedback. We very much look forward having the pleasure to accommodate you during your next stay in Amsterdam. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I visited as a Business Traveller, and extended my stay tfor a few days check out the city.
I had been to this Crowne Plaza before and was impressed, this time im afraid it was average at best.

I was greeted politely at reception however there was already a problem with the room rate.. I had booked 199euros per night but the hotel had 219 Euros + tax on their form. After discussion, the manager told me it was an extra person supplement (The other person did not make it). He told me it can be removed at checkout. OK I thought.

As a platinum member of the rewards club, i was given a room upgrade to clubroom.
At first i was pleased with this, until i entered the room and realised the air conditioning unit was a bout to shake itself free of its fixings. I couldnt sleep with this noise and had to turn it off if i wasted some sleep. Not good for 200 Euros a night.

The last timei came to this hotel, Platinum Membership was required to enter the club room...
This time i was told that the room was only for people who had booked a club room and to get in i would have to pay 65Euros (Are you kidding me) Usually as a platinum member, i am able to access the club rooms in all IHG hotels, afterall........ i stick with IHG Hotels and spent 10,000's over the last 3 years on business trips... however in Amsterdamn, they want 65Euros off me...... TERRIBLE !


There is a new restaurant in the hotel and i thought i would try it out, even though brekfast was 25Euros ?? (25 Euros?!!)
I was told this would be discounted by 50% at check out, but this never occured on my bill, i was charged the full 25 Euros for bacon and eggs.

The hotel is in a great location, but then so are so many other hotels in ams. This hotel leavs you with the feeling of an empty wallet
Overall, if you want to be ripped off and taken for a mug, then i would recommend the crowne plaza amsterdam...If you are not.. then go somewhere else !!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ukpyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

Regretfully we took note of your comments on your recent stay with us. We appologise for not being able to meet your expectations.
In order for us to improve our services we would like the opportunity to discuss your experience.

Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience by emailing amsnl.gsc@ihg.com.

Kind Regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is my second time in this hotel located in the very center of Amesterdam, it's near the train station, with loads of shops and restaurants just around the corner. The breakfast is very good with loads of variety of hot and cold dishes, they have pancakes on requests (no extra charge) and nice french style croissants. The room is spacious (stayed in 142), with a nice king bed and a small bathroom with bathtub. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. I will advice to stay in a high level floor (or in a room in the other side of the building) because the street is very busy so a bit noisy. Definitely a very good choice if you aim for 4 start hotel in Amesterdam.

Room Tip: higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for this positive review. We are honoured to read that we left such a great impression which made you want to stay for the second time at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed the spacious rooms, the breakfast and our comfortable beds so much. Indeed our location is one of our great assets, being only a short distance away from the train station and located in the city centre.

We are proud to read that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre has been a good choice and we look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomijer
Food & Beverage Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stay regularly at this Hotel and the location is really amazing , there is no canal view but it is so close to everything, a few minutes walk to the railway station and all the public transportation, right in the city center you can walk to all the major sightseeing points. The hotel was renovated a maybe 1.5 year ago and is still looking fresh, wifi in all rooms, nespresso coffee machine , club lounge and a restaurant . Only the fitness is quite small. The breakfast offer is very good and the staff is helpful and friendly . I can only recommend it either for a short city break or as base to visit some more cities in Holland as with the train you can travel trough the country very easily.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

We are honoured to learn your great review! We are delighted to read so many positive points from a guest, staying regularly at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City.

It is with pleasure to read that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the equipment of our hotel rooms. Indeed our hotel has undergone a comprehensive renovation in 2009, of which we are very pleased with.

Again thank you very much for your positive and enthusiastic review. We very much look forward to accommodate you again during your next stay in Amsterdam. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing