We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in the heart of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent service in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at the CP for business and also had a three-day meeting in their rooftop meeting space. I cannot thank the hotel staff enough for their hospitality, attention to detail and responsiveness. My hotel room was comfortable, quiet and extremely clean. I was upgraded and enjoyed an in-room espresso machine, a welcome sight to cure early morning jet lag. The lavender aromatherapy amenity items were also a welcome touch --- one of those little things that are fun to try when on the road. The rooftop meeting space was terrific ---- windows let in lots of light and views of the city skyline. We enjoyed excellent snacks during breaks, from fresh juice smoothies to small bites of Dutch pastries, all brought in by a friendly and accommodating hotel staff. The lunches we enjoyed during meeting breaks in the hotel restaurant were also very good. Dishes were light, fresh and served tapas style, which was ideal for ur group. Be sure to check out their Ideation Room ---- a great offering to complement their more traditional meeting space. If you stay here, I also recommend a juice/smoothie bar a few blocks away (go left as you leave the hotel, small green sign just past the cookie shop) for a carrot ginger juice and a homemade waffle. The CP was an excellent hotel choice for this trip and would be the place I would return to on personal travel as well.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor, which is far up enough to not hear the train noise ... I would guess it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmum415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experiences here at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We always enjoy to read guest stories shared with the travelcommunity.

We are pleased to read your raving comments about our staff. These have in the meantime already been shared with them. We are happy to see you enjoyed the extra indulgence a clubroom offers you. The nespresso machine and upgraded Rituals amenities are part of the extras of a Clubroom.

The aromatherapy kit is located in every room to give our guests that little extra relaxation to have a good nights rest.

Thank you for mentioning the Millennium Star which is our meeting room located on top of the 6th floor and gives you geourgious views of the city. With the outside terrace it is the perfect location for a small meeting but also to have a little relaxation during your breaks. It is als very suitable for a reception or private party.

Our Ideation room is located on the minus 1 level of the hotel and is multi usable space as well. great for creative meetings, training sessions or assessments. The different colors of lighting multi usable walls and tables that can be writen on, nothing is too much for this room.

We hope we can welcome you back soon to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,817
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,367
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here three nights over Easter. My lasting impression is how incredibly friendly the employees were. We had a room in the quiet zone, on the first floor. The view was non-existent, but that was no problem. We did have some noise coming from the hallway and from the room above (even with ear plugs). They do provide an herbal sleep spray. There was a nice tea/coffee service. Iron and ironing board were provided. Great location. Loads of bars and restaurants nearby. Parking was expensive, 50 euros per day. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellyMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for taking the time and write your review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear feedback fro our guests.

We are pleases to read that you enjoyed our staff so much. The door their utmost best to assist our guests. We have passed on your comments to the entire team.

The views in the hotel are unfortunately limited. The hotel is located in the city of the centre near Amsterdam Central Station. Allthough the central location is a advantage for the hotel as everything is in a stonesthrow from the hotel the small streets make limited availability for views.

I am sorry to read you heard some noise from the adjoining rooms. Please contact the Manager on Duty, should this occur again in order to assist you and minimize the noise.

We look forward welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is recommended for American travellers that don't want to gamble on European boutique hotels. How do I know? Because I am that American traveller that doesn't like to gamble on European boutique hotels.

The Crowne Plaza City Centre is in a great location. Do NOT make the mistake my wife and I made of taking the bus from the airport (This is especially for those that purchase the Holland pass). PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE take the train to the Central Station. The tickets are quite reasonable and the ride is about 15mins. Once you arrive at the Central Station, you have a pleasant 10min walk to the hotel. If you're feeling tired- you can always hop on the tram.

The hotel is modern; the staff is quite hospitable; and last but not least- the hotel is clean! Cleanliness means a great deal to my wife and I. We were both very pleased.

Note to fellow American travellers: unlike many European hotels, the Crowne Plaza City Centre has face towels. Face towels (aka as wash cloths) and European hotels don't always go hand and hand. When we visited Prague, they offered hand towels rather than face towels. It's the little things, you know?

As for ammenities, the fitness room they have is quite adequate. If memory serves me correctly, there are five cardio machines; a dumbbell rack; a bench; one palates ball; and a three station machine weight centre. The fitness room is of descent size- I didn't feel smothered at all (and I worked out twice in a 3-day stay). The room also has a water cooler w/ cups; and a mens and women's changing room (w/ additional towels available). The fitness room also has a good size flat screen mounted on the wall.

The office centre has 3 desktops and a printer for those that need to print directions, passes or plane tickets. Your lodging fee also includes one bottle of Spa sparkling water that housekeeping replaces after each visit. Note: My wife and I don't believe anything is complimentary- YOU PAID FOR IT! The rooms also have easy to use safes. We didn’t have any worries about locking up our passports; jewellery; gadgets; etc.

We didn’t eat at the onsite restaurant, or make use of the snack refrigerator in our room. Ice machines are not on every floor. We stayed on the 5th floor, and I had to go to the 6th floor for ice. That was not a big deal at all.

Last but not least, the hotel is surrounded by plenty of shops; eateries; cafes, and coffee shops. If you're not one for walking, the closest tram stop is no more than a 3min walk from the hotel.

The only gripe I have is the fee associated w/ wifi. There is no reason anyone should have to pay for Internet or wifi. I didn’t allow this one hiccup to jade my overall experience.

My wife and I have already made this our hotel of choice if we're ever in Amsterdam.
Bottom line: Great location; clean; secure, convenient and a descent rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Am_The_Great_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Many thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel with the travelcommunity. It is wonderful to see you enjoyed your stay with us soo much.

Indeed the train from Amsterdam Schiphol airport to Amsterdam centraal station is much more convenient then taking the bus.

You describe the hotel very detailed for which I would like to thank you. Our hotel also has a very nice restaurant called New Dorrius. It opens at 6:30 AM to serve breakfast and continues into lunch and dinner. The bar area goes double dutch during several times of the day meaning you can get 2 drinks for the price of 1. Maybe on your next visit to Amsterdam you might want to indulge even a little more and book a clubroom. This enables you access to our clublounge and adds internet and breakfast into your package.

We are pleased to read we are your preferred location for lodging when in Amsterdam. We look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in a club room over Easter and have to say it is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Check in was efficient and friendly and we were told that if we wanted to use the wi-fi it would be complimentary - not sure if this was because of the room type booked. The room was great with huge king-size bed, Nespresso coffee machine and lovely Rituals toiletries in the bathroom. We used the club lounge most days as it was a quiet retreat where you could enjoy a coffee or glass of wine and have a chat or watch TV. Continental breakfast was available in the club lounge but we took breakfast in the restaurant - a good range of food was on offer. Used the gym a few times and although not huge was adequate to keep up the routine!! The sauna in the changing rooms was a good place to relax for a while.
All the staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. We will definitely visit again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Had a room at the back of the hotel and there were no problems with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Mark_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It is great to read you find us the best hotel you ever stayed at! The Clubroom you booked gives you all kind of extra's. The Nespresso machine and upgraded Rituals bathamenities are part of these extra's. The clubroom also gives you access to our Club lounge located on the ground floor. A space where you get off to a good start of the day with breakfast and can unwind after a busy day with a glass of wine or beer. Internet is indeed included in the Club room rate.

Many thanks for commenting on the staff and facilities. It is always wonderful to read these comments from our guests. We look forward welcoming you back to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Warm regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukfamily
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed 3 night at this centrally located hotel 5 minutes walk from train station which is about 15 mins train ride from Schipol Airport. The staff were very helpful , friendly and after a mobile phone was washed mistakenly the maintenance staff couldn't do enought to try and get it back to life.Concierge was also very attuned to needs and provided useful advice on sights , restaurants etc
Rooms are clean , modern and quiet with large and very comfortable queen bed
Weare quick to complain about hotels and service but this hotel gave no such grounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to read your comments on our staff. It is great to find that the maintenance staff, concierges and housekeeping staff lived up to your expectations.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the near future.

Best regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in the beginning of April 2012. Upon arrival our prepaid "standard" room was upgraded to a club room. When requesting a quiet room, we were placed on the fifth floor in the part of the building with a "quiet zone". And yes, quiet it was. The only sound was the slight noise from the trams outside, which did not bother us much. Giant king bed and nespresso coffee maker.

Breakfast was not included in our rate of 170-190 euros for the various nights - but hey, 25 euros per person for breakfast, who would think it is worth it? Tons of restaurants within one or two minutes walking.

Short walk to all central places, location could not be better. Easy train ride from the airport and 5 minute walk to the hotel. We rented a car from the Avis place close to Leidseplein for a drive to the Keukenhof flower park. Nice outing.

All in all, a very good stay at the Crowne Plaza City Centre. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napoleon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay in Amsterdam. We are delighted you stayed with us at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

The hotel is indeed centrally located. Just steps away from the canals and Canal houses Amsterdam is known for. Shopping, musea and Amsterdam nightlife is at your doorstep.

I am pleased to read we were able to upgrade you to a room on the quiet zone and you enjoyed the peacefulness of such room. The coffee maker and upgraded luxury amenities in the bathroom are an added bonus to our Club rooms.

I am sorry to find you did not indulge and have breakfast in our restaurant. Our full American breakfast is served from 6:30 AM onwards and serves a wide spread of breads, cold cuts, Dutch breakfast toppings such as chocolate sprinkles, eggs to order, sausages en bacon, juices and other hot and cold drinks en a variety of cereals and yoghurts.

Maybe on your trip to Amsterdam you will try our New Dorrius restaurant and bar and find out what great food is served either for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.

Looking forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Warmest regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed one night only at Crown Plaza City Centre Amsterdam. It's location is superb! Everything seems to be within walking distance. The receptionist is very friendly. The room is big and new. It's a good value hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zhilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted you choose us as your preferred adress for lodging in Amsterdam.

As your title indicates, the location of the hotel is very central. Just steps away from Amsterdam Central Station and all the touristic sights Amsterdam has to offer such as the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan, The 9 streets and many many more.

We hope on your next visit to Amsterdam you will stay again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We already look forward to be at your service.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#89 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing