We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff and Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just came back from a week in Amsterdam. We stayed 5 nights at the Crowne Plaza. We found the staff at the hotel extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The location couldn't be better if you want to be close to the city center and rail station. A fantastic stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear guests feedback.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, the location of the hotel and the helpfullness and friendliness of the staff.

We hope Amsterdam has intrigued you so much you will decide to return to this vibrant city. We will be ready to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Warm regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PARIS
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hotel is very well located, only 5 minutes walk from the train station which is very convenient when you are arriving with the Thalys. As it is in the city center, closed to the red quarter, you can then visit many places only by walking.
Lobby is beautiful, decorated in quite a modern style. Staff is very nice and welcoming.
Rooms are very comfortable : good litery and nice bathrooms.
This was overall a very good experience and we will definitely go back there next time we will visit Amsterdam for a weekend !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDYMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It is great to read you decided to stay with us during your december get away from Paris. Indeed when taking the Thalys into Amsterdam Central Station the hotel is only a couple minutes walk.

It is wonderful to note that you enjoyed our modern lobby and comfort of the room as well as the service provided by the staff.

We look forward to your return trip to Amsterdam, maybe a quick summerbreak in the upcoming months.

Beste wishes,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a very good stay here this week and would recommend it to others. Amsterdam is not cheap and neither is the hotel, but it was spotlessly clean, staff were helpful, facilities as described and location just a few minutes form the very heart of the City. Room very spacious for a city centre venue.

Room Tip: We were offered a quiet room away from the main street: ask for it if you don't get an offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre experience on Tripadvisor.

It is great to read you appreciated the service provided by the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the central location of the hotel near Amsterdam Centraal station and the many sights Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza soon again.

Warm regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful upon arrival to departure. Right in the middle of everything, loads of pubs and restaurants nearby, though the location was a bit of a busy untidy street, the hotel itself didn't reflect the outside environment. had a great time watching people coming in at the end of the night in various stages of drunkeness, very funny. Though generally gave the view of a business hotel, it had plenty of tourists in it. love amsterdam, will come again, but found the hotel slightly above my price range, so will have to go more compact and bijoux next time! thank you staff at crowne plaza, you are great!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theycallitmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with the travelcommunity. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel. The hotel is indeed located in the centre of Amsterdam. The canals and canal houses, various museums, Madame Tussauds, the Amsterdam Dungeon and many more sights are within walking distance.

We are happy to read you enjoyed Amsterdam so much you have decided to return. Please dont hesitate to contact us as rates vary depending on seasons.

We look forward welcoming you back to Amstedam and hope you will decide to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre again.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is the best Crowne Plaza i have stayed in. Stayed there for 3 nights. Rooms is excellent, spacious and comfortable.

Location is very central, easy for us tourist to get in and out.

There is also a long stretch of shops behind the hotel.

Excellent choice for holiday makers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChooMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Many thanks for mentioning us as the Best Crowne Plaza you stayed at. It is wonderful to read such comments on Tripadvisor for which I would like to thank you for posting your experience.

Glad you also enjoyed the location of the hotel. behind the hotel is the Nieuwendijk which continues into the Kalverstraat which makes shopping indeed easy.

Also, all the major touristic sights such as the canals, the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan, dam Square and Royal Palace are all in very close proximity of the hotel.

We look forward welcoming you back to Amsterdam on your next holiday.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay here immensely - were able to check in when we arrived at noon. Room was spacious and immaculate, and quiet despite being on a busy street close to the Centraal Station. Staff always helpful and friendly. Our choice for our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent trip to Amsterdam.

We are delighted we were able to check you in at time of arrival. We always do our best to provide early check-in when possible.

The hotel is indeed located very centrally near Amsterdam Central Station and in the vicinity of all the touristic attractions of Amsterdam.

We look forward welcoming you back to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
268 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The best Crowne Plaza I have stayed in! Location is fantastic, 5 mins walk to the train station and easy flat walking or quick tram ride pretty much anywhere in Amsterdam. The hotel itself is very well presented, feels very secure despite the proximity to the station, and is staffed by very professional, service-minded employees.
I stayed in a club room and was also given a room with original wooden beams - very cozy and a nice touch in a chain hotel. The room was very large by urban European hotel standards, with plenty of room for a couch, desk, wardrobe, double bed, etc. Everything was spotless and in excellent condition. TV included two BBC channels and a few other English stations. Room was very quiet although the rumble of the trams going past was audible. Bathroom was a tad on the small size, but I attribute that to being under the eaves. My only quibble was that the shower water temperature fluctuated from cold to scalding hot no matter which setting I put it on, making showers a less than relaxing experience in the morning!
The Club included free internet and printing as well as the usual comfortable lounge area with international magazines, two TVs, boardgames as well as snacks and drinks all day. The snacks at night were just that, rather than the hot dishes provided at other Clubs I have visited, but were perfectly fine for a drink and a nibble after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast in the Club was more than enough to fill up for the day - breads, pastries, meats, cheese, yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc. Staff were very prompt in refilling the stations and cleaning up, even during the morning rush.
I had one issue with a neighbor banging on his room door at 2am after being locked out, but this was dealt with swiftly and discreetly by the hotel staff and the next day I received a much-appreciated apology note from the manager on duty along with a dessert plate and bottle of wine. This is just one example, but I saw many instances of such attention to service throughout my time at the Crowne Plaza and was very impressed.
Overall, this was a hotel I would definitely recommend to fellow travelers and I will stay here again next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for your review with as title "Top Marks all around". It is wonderful to read your positive comments about the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are pleased to find you staff to be so accomodating and that you enjoyed staying in one of our traditional rooms. These rooms are located in the typical Canal Houses you see from the outside of the building. However no longer there the houses together with a whole series of other traditional amsterdam houses would flank a canal which in later years where landfilled and became what is nowadays the Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal.

I am sorry to read about your shower experience at the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for this inconvenience. Through the pictures you posted we were able to determine the room you occupied and have since adjusted the shower preventing our future guests experiencing similar.

I am glad to see you enjoyed the complimentary amenity. Fortunately it is not daily that a guest locks himself out of the room at 2 AM and awakes other guests.

Thank you for recommending us to fellow travellers. We would be very delighted to also welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing